R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road-3/)
-   -   Beginner 1/8th scale onroad engine/pipes (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road/274468-beginner-1-8th-scale-onroad-engine-pipes.html)

Zerodefect 02-10-2009 06:07 AM

Beginner 1/8th scale onroad engine/pipes

I'm new in Ohio and while I was looking for RC tracks I've found that 1/8th onroad is real popular where I'm at. (Lake county) I might do 1/12th instead.

I've raced 1/8th offroad well so I'm not a newbie but I've never ran an Onroad engine before. Any suggestions on decent engines. Not top of the line stuff, I won't be able to use that kind of speed for a while. No way I'm going to have $500+ for an engine after buying an Evolva M3 and servos.

I like Rb and Novarossi offroad motors, they were easy to tune and durable. Anything available in the $350 dollar range? I have no Idea on pipes.

Can I just run an offoad engine like a S5 or a Novarossi +4? Are the cranks different? (clutch nut or shaft length.)

Totally new to onroad, sorry. Thanks in advance for the help. I'd like to get the best car/pipe/servos I can. But maybe use an offroad motor that can be a spare for my offroad car. Similar motors to cut cost. Might be a waste to use a big money motor at this point.

quietstorm76 02-10-2009 06:58 AM

Take a look at this engine

http://www.kamikazercracing.com/prod...php?prod=51219

wmay11 02-10-2009 07:05 AM

My advice is to meet some of the local racers, they always have really good motors to sell at a reasonable price. You can pick up a top race motor (used) that will serve you really well. I have about 7 motors and picked them up for really good prices. Also see what most the people are running, helps with clutch and gear selection even tuning.

musti72 02-10-2009 07:16 AM

any murnan will do the job...
you can win races with them no matter how you drive...

just kidding:blush:

sry...

triple post...