R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2004, 03:04 PM   #7576
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JKA
Okay. First time Nitro guy. New 710 owner.

I've raced Electric TC for a couple years and know that I had to stock C-hub and Steering block spares.

What will I need on the 710? Any common breakage?
Hi JKA, welcome to the 710 forum - the friendliest and most helpful forum there is

To give you a head start in the world of 710, here's the 710 FAQ, which is a maintained collection of the best postings from this forum....so don't worry about having to read every forum entry

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...&postid=786381

There are a couple of things which break on the 710: the rear shock tower - this has now been improved by serpent (a thicker version is now available - ask your LHS).
The front shocks can break under certain circumstances (refer to the FAQ chapter 8.5 for a mod).
The lower rear suspension arms: the pivots balls can come out a little too easily - to prevent this, you can either use the older steel pivot balls, or screw the alu pivot balls in a bit further and then use wheel spacers to get back the desired track width.

Best advice: print out the FAQ and have a good read through. Also, ask away, even if the questions seem dumb

Cheers, Mark.
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 07:29 PM   #7577
Regional Moderator
 
kansasracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

Long time Mugen owner...just asembled my 710 and kicked the MTX3 out of the house...

Anyway,

Where are you guys mounting your switch? I searched for some pics, but couldn't find one that gave me a definitive answer.

Thanks!!

Mike
__________________
I am watching.....always watching....
kansasracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 07:32 PM   #7578
Tech Adept
 
chachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: vancouver, bc
Posts: 149
Default

Does anybody know the factory settings for the Novamega SX12 SS? High-speed? Low-speed?
Thanks.
chachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 07:34 PM   #7579
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kansasracer
Hey guys,

Long time Mugen owner...just asembled my 710 and kicked the MTX3 out of the house...



Mike
Hey,

Im curious, in what ways does the 710 kick the mtx-3 out of the house in terms of assembly?

thanks
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 07:35 PM   #7580
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

or,

do you just mean you've gotten a new car and ditched the mugen
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 07:39 PM   #7581
Tech Regular
 
fmolzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kansasracer
Hey guys,

Long time Mugen owner...just asembled my 710 and kicked the MTX3 out of the house...

Anyway,

Where are you guys mounting your switch? I searched for some pics, but couldn't find one that gave me a definitive answer.

Thanks!!

Mike
Just ditch the switch One less thing to worry about.
fmolzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 07:55 PM   #7582
Regional Moderator
 
kansasracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Ditched the mugen...sorry if I wasn't clear...

Not having a switch means I have to plug it in every time I need to power on the elec...not a option I seem to like..
__________________
I am watching.....always watching....
kansasracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 08:16 PM   #7583
Tech Master
 
mop_iko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA but now working in SHANGHAI
Posts: 1,797
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Marcos.S710
welcome aboard ,any technical question you can ask"InitialD" he is a book of knowledge when it comes to the serpent 710!!
InitialID is a book of knowledge?

naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah.....

HE IS THE GURU.

and not only 710.... try ask him 705 and impulse.

HE IS THE SNAKE. DARTH SNAKE i would say.



and not only him... i think all of you here are getting BETTER and BETTER eveyday... provided you browse in rctech EVERYDAY.


mop
mop_iko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 08:20 PM   #7584
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JKA
Okay. First time Nitro guy. New 710 owner.

I've raced Electric TC for a couple years and know that I had to stock C-hub and Steering block spares.

What will I need on the 710? Any common breakage?
Welcome aboard JKA.
Nice to hear an EP guy starting to race GP. Im still am (TB Evo III).
For me, i always spare the upper/lower bumper. rear shock tower(which i doubled mine , rear belt. Other than these...hmmmm none.
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 08:24 PM   #7585
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Marcos.S710
welcome aboard ,any technical question you can ask"InitialD" he is a book of knowledge when it comes to the serpent 710!!
ya ya ya...ask InitialD for anything, esp. on serpent. read markp27 710faq.pdf file somewhere in this thread. and ask Marcos on how to TQ and win any race

[ask me, if u have problem with pc ]
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 09:19 PM   #7586
Tech Adept
 
cox049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kansasracer
Ditched the mugen...sorry if I wasn't clear...

Not having a switch means I have to plug it in every time I need to power on the elec...not a option I seem to like..
I stuck it to the side of the radio box with servo tape
cox049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 09:26 PM   #7587
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

Markp27...the 710faq is added in my serpent tips page...thanks. Very informative.
Marcos....u picture added in the top driver page.
Pyramid S710 Black Book added.
For all info, all these, u can find in my webpage. the link, below. Please sign my guestbook. thanks.

[I would have put InitialD picture there, but still, he's hiding from all of us here ]
D, j/k
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!

Last edited by jfc_tech; 04-03-2004 at 09:35 PM.
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 11:18 PM   #7588
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South FLorida
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Profoxcg
Default

Quote:
ask me, if u have problem with pc
Or get a mac if you dont whant to bother anyone with computer problems hehe
Profoxcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 11:23 PM   #7589
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South FLorida
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Profoxcg
Thumbs up 710 related

I know that if I want more acceleration i must go to a smalled pinion and if I want more top end i need a larger 2nd speed pinion. however I noticed that you can change spurs..? so now i am a bit confused. I guess you can achieve the same effect depending on if you change spurs or pinions? or is there a difference / advantage to changind one over the other?
Profoxcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 11:40 PM   #7590
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South FLorida
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Profoxcg
Default

can someone point me to some lit. in regards to the difference between a one way and a locked axle? (front of the 710)
and their benefits and idea behind it. I want this info in efforts to decide what is best and when to use it.

so far I know that with the one way i only have rear breaks and i must be smooth breaking so i do not sping out. I also know that it lets the front wheel spin at their own speed independently... (but doesnt a diff do this also?)

thanks in advance !!!
Profoxcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net