R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2004, 10:13 PM   #3766
Tech Adept
 
tennessee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by S710_Nut
What was the exact problem? Not sure if i am having the same type of issue with my 710.

Sn
The pores in the filter were to small for fuel to flow by.
tennessee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:24 PM   #3767
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Longview, TEXAS - USA
Posts: 51
Default

Markp27... What a great job of converting your shop. You would never know they were the same structure. I don't have any before pics of mine, but it wasn't nearly as dramatic of an enhancement as yours.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg work bench 1.jpg (56.5 KB, 158 views)
Doug Darby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:30 PM   #3768
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,184
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Doug Darby
Markp27... What a great job of converting your shop. You would never know they were the same structure. I don't have any before pics of mine, but it wasn't nearly as dramatic of an enhancement as yours.
very nice shop!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:37 PM   #3769
Tech Adept
 
sbmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 242
Default

justrace
I too have noticed similar problems of equal engagement and
movement of suspension arms when using blade sway bars on
the front of the car . You can set them up equally BUT it takes a
awhile to get it near perfect. I think the problem is that with the
blade style swaybar the engagement/action of the ball and cup
is a little different from side to side, just make sure that the ball
is touching the cup and vice versa.
sbmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:52 PM   #3770
Tech Regular
 
clmbia45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by clmbia45

"....There is no need to shim the tray. Most likely you will no longer have the benefit of the centering function of the nylon protrusions. That will lead to a decrease in stiffness an may cause tweak in the chassis during racing.

In short: "It looks a little funny but that's it" "

THE ABOVE WAS POSTED BY JULIUS

I considered your fix about trimming a little off the servo mount, but very difficult to do, and retain the nipple which provides the "centering function". I opted for placing an 0.8 mm shim on top of the middle support; it's still 0.4 mm short, but this allowed me to maintain the centering nipple. I made an @ 1 mm washer out of 5/32 OD brass tubing which fits over the screw and fills the hole in the radio tray above the nipple, to prevent the screw from working. Using the Futaba 9550 servo, I still had to remove some of the chassis below it to provide clearance.
This preserves the nylon nipple protrusions and their centering function. The side braces fit perfectly.
I have no idea whether any of this is necessary with other steering servos.
I'll try to postpics. It's my first try, so be gentle!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc_0032.jpg (12.1 KB, 156 views)
clmbia45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:53 PM   #3771
Tech Regular
 
clmbia45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 366
Default

It worked!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc_0033.jpg (6.7 KB, 143 views)
clmbia45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:54 PM   #3772
Tech Regular
 
clmbia45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 366
Default

last one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc_0034.jpg (12.3 KB, 124 views)

Last edited by clmbia45; 02-01-2004 at 12:57 AM.
clmbia45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 10:58 PM   #3773
Tech Regular
 
clmbia45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 366
Default

The dark area on the chassis of #32 is the area that I had to remove about 0.5 mm of underlying chassis. The pics are too small, but I don't know what to do to get them larger
clmbia45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 12:08 AM   #3774
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by S710_Nut
What were the problems people were having with the 705 tank?
Apparently the filter does not filter fine particles like tire dust. So an external filter was required.

I believe it was mentioned that the tank that comes with the 710 (actually the same tank design as for the 705 and 835) has been improved and that you do not need to use an external filter.

But still, I'm still using the small external fuel filter made by Tornado.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 12:21 AM   #3775
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baller360
but will it really matter if I will get a 5p engine becuase it's not like I will really race in any roar races......as yet! and btw do most people at your local tracks stay within the roar limit at there tracks? would your local track often set rules and guide lines for every race? as to wich engines that can be used .15 or .12 3ports or 5port engines? becuase I don't want to by a roar legal engine and go to the track with it and everyone is using 5port engines and they just blow me away? you understand what am saying?!!!
Baller360, I think only you can answer the questions that you pose. In any case, I think one of the baddest engine that you can buy off the shelf is the NovaMax engine. 3P or 5P.

Else, you cannot go wrong with the Novarossi NS12 engine. 3P or 5P.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 12:22 AM   #3776
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cyba888
What kind of maintenance do I need to do after one whole day of racing? Is there any specific part of the car I need to lube or check?
Like Pacman25, I clean my 2 speed gearbox. I take off my Centax clutch to make sure that they are clean and the bearings are working fine.

I also try to clean the car as much as I can. By doing this, I get to inspect all parts. I also use the Serpent cleaning gum to take as much dirt off at the wheel axle bearings. I don't blow it off with an air compressor. Not good for the bearings.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 12:49 AM   #3777
Tech Adept
 
tennessee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 241
Default

710 works real good at revelation raceway...

Last edited by tennessee; 02-01-2004 at 03:59 AM.
tennessee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 01:04 AM   #3778
Tech Regular
 
clmbia45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by clmbia45
The dark area on the chassis of #32 is the area that I had to remove about 0.5 mm of underlying chassis. The pics are too small, but I don't know what to do to get them larger
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc_0032z.jpg (4.8 KB, 132 views)
clmbia45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 03:29 AM   #3779
Tech Adept
 
S710_Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Apparently the filter does not filter fine particles like tire dust. So an external filter was required.

I believe it was mentioned that the tank that comes with the 710 (actually the same tank design as for the 705 and 835) has been improved and that you do not need to use an external filter.

But still, I'm still using the small external fuel filter made by Tornado.
Thanks InitialD... I have a tornado filter on it's way, i am going to try new fuel line, filter and tank an see if i can over come this problem. I haven't had a chance to do anything as yet as i have had the car in bits for some maintenance
S710_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 04:07 AM   #3780
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Default The pores in the filter were to small for fuel to flow by.

Well,the problem with the 705,835 fueltank was that sometimes you get a a problem with the fuel getting to the engine resulting in a blow out cosed by the The pores in the filter.Especially in a fast sweeper.The solution to solve the problem was to use the tornado external fuelfilter.I donīt know for if serpent made some changes to the tank filter.
Delange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net