R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2005, 06:53 AM   #21151
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ntc3freak
thanks d.but wait for somebody to buy my car 1st
Buy the car first and sell the current one later.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 06:53 AM   #21152
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg M
I'm 10 minutes from my track too.
You guys are cruel.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 08:15 AM   #21153
Tech Master
 
thamjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,193
Default Re: Re: 710 DRS mod?

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Interesting... Does the DRS arm hit the chassis when the arms drop down? I take it the rear bottom pivot pin is longer? From which car is the bottom rear pivot pin from?

I rarely need to change the DRS but I know when you have to do it, it can be a PITA. When I have to change it (when changing the lower RC mount from bottom to top or top to bottom or when the DRS arms snaps...), I usually take the entire rear portion out by unscrewing all the Phillips screws under the chassis for the rear section. Detach the side CF stiffeners and the whole rear pops off. Then from the underside, it is easier to work on the DRS arms and the spacers.
I did that not long after when I bought my car. I don find any improvement changes to the rear arm. later after that I put it back to where it was. But I think maybe we need a washer about 2mm thick with any diameter as long as it is bigger then the alluminium spacer to extent them right down to chasis. It holds the DRS firmly. You can try that. Just look at the attachment at where I insert the washer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg drs_mod.jpg (21.4 KB, 208 views)
__________________
Serpent 710
Nova MAX
3PK
thamjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 02:38 PM   #21154
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
But I think living in NZ plus living about 10 minutes away from the track is even more bliss !
I'm no longer in NZ but I'm definitely, exactly, 10 mins from the track!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 10:54 PM   #21155
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sow&Steady
I'm no longer in NZ but I'm definitely, exactly, 10 mins from the track!
When were you in NZ? if your comming back let me know!
Brett.w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 03:59 AM   #21156
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brett.w
When were you in NZ? if your comming back let me know!
Quite a while back mate .. in 1988. Had just quite playing electric at that time. Had to wait all the way to 2001 to start RC again.

Yes, I do plan to go for a visit one day ... will let you know if it happens.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 05:02 PM   #21157
Tech Master
 
Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,747
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Anyone install the new Spektrum 2.4 Ghz receiver in the 710 ?

I usually slap a balloon over my receivers but these new Spektrum receivers have a led indicator and a BINDING set button.
Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 05:59 PM   #21158
Tech Regular
 
rwisejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Islip NY
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to rwisejr
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by Canuck
Anyone install the new Spektrum 2.4 Ghz receiver in the 710 ?

I usually slap a balloon over my receivers but these new Spektrum receivers have a led indicator and a BINDING set button.

yes I have .Love it so far.
rwisejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:22 PM   #21159
Tech Master
 
Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,747
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Do you protect it with a baloon ?

How about the FAIL SAFE is it working ? I can't get mine to throw the brakes onwhen loss of signal.
Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:36 PM   #21160
Tech Master
 
Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,747
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I redid the binding process and the fail safe is OK now.
Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:39 PM   #21161
Tech Regular
 
rwisejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Islip NY
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to rwisejr
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Canuck
Do you protect it with a baloon ?

How about the FAIL SAFE is it working ? I can't get mine to throw the brakes onwhen loss of signal.

No I don't cause when its wet I don't run. I set the failsafe to for neutral position. I don't like it to engauge the brakes !!!!! But thats me.
rwisejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 02:41 AM   #21162
Tech Elite
 
ntc3freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 3,308
droop

can i adjust front droop on the 710???after reading the manual,i dun see any droop screw on the front arms.correct me if i am wrong
ntc3freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 04:07 AM   #21163
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default Re: droop

Quote:
Originally posted by ntc3freak
can i adjust front droop on the 710???after reading the manual,i dun see any droop screw on the front arms.correct me if i am wrong
Yes you can. Look at page 5 of the 710 setup booklet. Serpent calls it downstop. You adjust the grub / set screw located on the upper front bumper.

The front bumper with the 3 x 8mm grub / set screw (H11) is shown at the top on page 6 of the 710 manual (Step 1.7).
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 05:26 AM   #21164
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Canuck
Anyone install the new Spektrum 2.4 Ghz receiver in the 710 ?

I usually slap a balloon over my receivers but these new Spektrum receivers have a led indicator and a BINDING set button.
Yup, great so far ... if only I'm allowed to use it for the national races!

Anyway, there's a review of it I wrote in the Contents section at 3Hobby.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 05:54 AM   #21165
Tech Elite
 
ntc3freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 3,308
Default Re: Re: droop

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Yes you can. Look at page 5 of the 710 setup booklet. Serpent calls it downstop. You adjust the grub / set screw located on the upper front bumper.

The front bumper with the 3 x 8mm grub / set screw (H11) is shown at the top on page 6 of the 710 manual (Step 1.7).




thanks d.i will look into the manual a little later on.just imagining of having the car
ntc3freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net