R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2004, 08:41 AM   #17566
Tech Regular
 
packetdreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: scranton, pa
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to packetdreamer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KevinS
You may want to get the rear shock support (808138) too, since it's not included. With the pin provided with the bodymount set it keeps the bodymount centered. (see attached pic in my post below)
without it, does the body move from side to side a lot?
packetdreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 08:44 AM   #17567
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by packetdreamer
what will the belts do for me? which drive pully? the one on the rear shaft that goes to the rear diff/solid axle?
If you change over to a solid rear, a stronger belt is preferred. Not mandatory but preferred ... well, you know how much work in involved in changing the rear belt of a 705 is right? The solid axle does not bleed much power to waste and thus puts a lot strain on the whole drive train if you're using a powerful engine.

Yes, the pully on the main shaft that goes to the rear diff/solid axle.

Increases the internal ratio slightly from 2.0 to 2.09 and if you can find a 14t first gear pinion then you'll be flying!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 08:48 AM   #17568
Tech Regular
 
packetdreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: scranton, pa
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to packetdreamer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sow&Steady
If you change over to a solid rear, a stronger belt is preferred. Not mandatory but preferred ... well, you know how much work in involved in changing the rear belt of a 705 is right? The solid axle does not bleed much power to waste and thus puts a lot strain on the whole drive train if you're using a powerful engine.

Yes, the pully on the main shaft that goes to the rear diff/solid axle.

Increases the internal ratio slightly from 2.0 to 2.09 and if you can find a 14t first gear pinion then you'll be flying!
yea i know about the 705, so the advice is good. i thought i would get this impulse pro and just have it as a side kit or something my son might be able to run a little... but i can see that this is going to turn into another money suckin speed demon - WHOO HOOOOOO!
packetdreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 08:54 AM   #17569
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by packetdreamer
yea i know about the 705, so the advice is good. i thought i would get this impulse pro and just have it as a side kit or something my son might be able to run a little... but i can see that this is going to turn into another money suckin speed demon - WHOO HOOOOOO!
It gets worse ... when you're the one ending up driving all the cars!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 08:55 AM   #17570
Tech Regular
 
KevinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 257
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by packetdreamer
without it, does the body move from side to side a lot?
Yep, it will. Alot enough to be too much.

Or you can drill a 3mm hole in the stock rear shocktower and cut the tops off. Works for the 705, which probably has the same rear shocktower as the Impulse.


What a coincidence, money sucking speed demon is what I call my 705 too!
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 08:57 AM   #17571
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KevinS
Yep, it will. Alot enough to be too much.

Or you can drill a 3mm hole in the stock rear shocktower and cut the tops off. Works for the 705, which probably has the same rear shocktower as the Impulse.


What a coincidence, money sucking speed demon is what I call my 705 too!
I call mine the 1/8th killer although it is only a name in theory, as I haven't put it all together yet - but it'll be a long winter and I'll have lots of time
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:00 AM   #17572
Tech Regular
 
KevinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 257
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sow&Steady
It gets worse ... when you're the one ending up driving all the cars!
If you have time to drive more than 1 car... or even one car.

My 705 hasn't been run since late Oct 2003. Yet I keep spending money on it.
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:02 AM   #17573
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KevinS
If you have time to drive more than 1 car... or even one car.

My 705 hasn't been run since late Oct 2003. Yet I keep spending money on it.
When there's a will, there's a way.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:03 AM   #17574
Tech Regular
 
packetdreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: scranton, pa
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to packetdreamer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KevinS
If you have time to drive more than 1 car... or even one car.

My 705 hasn't been run since late Oct 2003. Yet I keep spending money on it.
the confessions of a true addict. (i hope there's room in that box for both of us).
packetdreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:10 AM   #17575
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by packetdreamer
the confessions of a true addict. (i hope there's room in that box for both of us).
Both???? don't forget Sow and myself....we have been in there for a long time!
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:18 AM   #17576
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Both???? don't forget Sow and myself....we have been in there for a long time!


Spoken like a true RC nut!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:31 AM   #17577
Tech Regular
 
packetdreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: scranton, pa
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to packetdreamer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Both???? don't forget Sow and myself....we have been in there for a long time!
ha!


well this baby's all mine now!!!!
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=5925908420

as flava-flav would say: "YEAAAA BOOYYEEEE"
packetdreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:45 AM   #17578
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KevinS
If it fits my 705, it should fit your Impulse too.

And it does fit on my 705.
i like that body...choco
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 11:03 AM   #17579
Tech Regular
 
KevinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 257
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SERPENTFREAK69
i like that body...choco
Thanks!

The orange on the body is actually fluorescent orange, which is just a bit lighter than the GQ rims, but every picture I take, it comes out like this. Almost red. The GQ rims don't look like they should either. Same on 710 pic below.

Anyone with good photographic skills know theres anything I can do about it? I have an Olympus C-725 UZ...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 710mazda.jpg (26.3 KB, 74 views)
KevinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 12:14 PM   #17580
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KevinS
Thanks!

The orange on the body is actually fluorescent orange, which is just a bit lighter than the GQ rims, but every picture I take, it comes out like this. Almost red. The GQ rims don't look like they should either. Same on 710 pic below.

Anyone with good photographic skills know theres anything I can do about it? I have an Olympus C-725 UZ...
whatever color,it still looks good!!choco
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Serpent 835 JFCJ R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-20-2005 09:29 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net