R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2003, 05:54 PM   #76
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fisher890
...
...which means that two methods are not similar...

Does that clarify my statement?

G
__________________
Tekno SCT410//B44.x Avid Chasis//B5M//HW 3656 - 4700 kv// HW V10//MT-4
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 06:34 PM   #77
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Ahhhhhh ok,
Yeah makes more sence now... Ty
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 06:58 PM   #78
Tech Champion
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jfc_tech
Default

OMG Evryone got the D5 or planning to get it But for me i just got the RS5 waaaahhhh less than 2 weeks playing/tuning it. This weekend already there's a race. Make me feel good by saying that the RS5 is still good. I matched it with Calrsen tuning pipe. im new with GP so i just installed as i thought good. pls advice
__________________
If you are in front of me, That's because I let you!
jfc_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 01:07 AM   #79
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Nah not me jfc just Got the D3....... try to keep up....
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 10:23 AM   #80
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

Those of ya who has the d5. What is the baseline setting for it? IT's not on the instruction. WHen I got the motor, it was set at 4 7/8 out on the bottom needle and 4 3/4 out on the high end needle.

Also, what is your final setting or approximate range? Thx!


G
__________________
Tekno SCT410//B44.x Avid Chasis//B5M//HW 3656 - 4700 kv// HW V10//MT-4
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 04:17 AM   #81
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Help Me Dino...................Motor was great to break in Motor was fine to run motor won't idle...... motor won't run...... Gonna Strip Needle screwheads soon adjusting........ Conrod in Reserve Help Me Dino Please Please Help Me Dino! Running a T6TF Plug Idle is Higher then !0,000 runaway Idle 5K> and die removed 2mm headshim no diff.Adj.hmmm everything Hose length Idle screw can run spitting fuel and die or Screaming over 10K rpm.nothing inbetween.Spent 3 hours at the track today Made 1/2 a lap.My Fault Spent 1/2 hr on a New steering arm rest was trying to get motor running right.Bought this motor because i Believe in your service! So if ya have time please help me out!one piece pipe from roger.All I seem to get is Flood or Lean or won't start. I Can Tune Cheap Motors around me by sound but can't tune my own motor. After Breaking the motor in I took it to a lot where i disintrigated a set or rear foams a front belt and most of the rear belt. So It Ran and ran well.This was all on a T6TF Plug I changed the plug for the same the new plug ran a tank or so and still shows me glow.I did the Tooth powder breakin and it was still tight to Breakin.Last 2 things I have left a hotter plug or my New ConRod. Work your Magic dino give me some specs i'd Hate to go Trashing my motor High Profile like this I Know the D3 Has speed.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 08:23 AM   #82
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fisher890
Help Me Dino...................Motor was great to break in Motor was fine to run motor won't idle...... motor won't run...... Gonna Strip Needle screwheads soon adjusting........ Conrod in Reserve Help Me Dino Please Please Help Me Dino! Running a T6TF Plug Idle is Higher then !0,000 runaway Idle 5K> and die removed 2mm headshim no diff.Adj.hmmm everything Hose length Idle screw can run spitting fuel and die or Screaming over 10K rpm.nothing inbetween.Spent 3 hours at the track today Made 1/2 a lap.My Fault Spent 1/2 hr on a New steering arm rest was trying to get motor running right.Bought this motor because i Believe in your service! So if ya have time please help me out!one piece pipe from roger.All I seem to get is Flood or Lean or won't start. I Can Tune Cheap Motors around me by sound but can't tune my own motor. After Breaking the motor in I took it to a lot where i disintrigated a set or rear foams a front belt and most of the rear belt. So It Ran and ran well.This was all on a T6TF Plug I changed the plug for the same the new plug ran a tank or so and still shows me glow.I did the Tooth powder breakin and it was still tight to Breakin.Last 2 things I have left a hotter plug or my New ConRod. Work your Magic dino give me some specs i'd Hate to go Trashing my motor High Profile like this I Know the D3 Has speed.
Hello,Fisher.Please calm down....deep breathing.......

Try this setting;
Low speed needle --> 5 out
High speed needle --> 4 - 1/2 out
Mid speed needle --> flat
Idle needle --> 1mm open

Then start your engine and tyr to find the best setting.You may need to lean or rich the main needle to keep the engine temp around 240-250F.

I guessed that the low-speed needle may be too lean.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 03:27 PM   #83
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Breathing still slightly erratic gotta head to work will try that this evening thx Dino.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 03:01 AM   #84
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Hey~~Fisher...

Today afternoon I tuned one D5 for my customer here,I knew what you feel now...&%$#^*@!^&^%$

This engine is installed on LD3.No matter how to adjust,either die out or high idle...

I have tried many setting;another carburettor;different amount of shims.....etc.But still the same .......

I don't believe that really! It make me mad....

At last, I try another pipe. It's strange that all trouble just gone?

So,please tell me which pipes do you use? I need to test it.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 03:19 AM   #85
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Lightbulb Squirrely engines and unstable idle.

Just a throught.

Check the lenght of the pressure line from the pipe to the tank, check different lenght to see if alleviates the problem.

Dino: check with different shapes and lenghts of the low-end needle, some car/pipes/engines are very itchy to deal with.
__________________
Cheers,
Corse-R
---
[quote=MugenDrew;2684554]BATTERIES are for FLASH LIGHTS, gasoline is for cleanin parts, alcohol is for me to drink and well NITRO...everybody know thats for racing.[/quote] :D:D:D
Corse-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 06:53 AM   #86
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Pipe I got from Roger he said its good. THS Racing 1 piece pipe/Manifold.THS Racing 1217C-6 Turbo tune pipe set. Sorry to hear you Had Problems but glad to know its not just me.Can't Stand Getting my butt kicked by a machine.Hope you find me some results . What pipe did you change to?

Last edited by Fisher890; 11-22-2003 at 06:59 AM.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 06:57 AM   #87
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

I am running 10" 250mm between the tank and the pipe.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 07:52 AM   #88
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fisher890
Pipe I got from Roger he said its good. THS Racing 1 piece pipe/Manifold.THS Racing 1217C-6 Turbo tune pipe set. Sorry to hear you Had Problems but glad to know its not just me.Can't Stand Getting my butt kicked by a machine.Hope you find me some results . What pipe did you change to?
well...
THS 1217C-6 TURBO Pipe is OK.I have tested it before.I know the manufactory guy.

I just want to reduce one possibility.

Have you try my suggesting setting?

Last edited by dino.tw; 11-22-2003 at 08:09 AM.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 07:58 AM   #89
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default Re: Squirrely engines and unstable idle.

Quote:
Originally posted by Corse-R
Dino: check with different shapes and lenghts of the low-end needle, some car/pipes/engines are very itchy to deal with.
Thanks bro.

It seems that the LD3 stock pipe not fit for our D5. The pipe is a bit too long.I have asked the customer to buy THS or RDLogic pipes which is designed for LD3/NTC3.

Last edited by dino.tw; 11-22-2003 at 08:10 AM.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 08:05 AM   #90
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fisher890
I am running 10" 250mm between the tank and the pipe.
Another possibility....try 150mm pressure line

Maybe the back pressure is too samll when idling,it will cause low-end leaning.Need to try...
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Hyper 7, 8, 8.5 parts interchangeable? Paul Whalen Nitro Off-Road 5 07-22-2008 12:01 AM
Are parts from Hyper 7, 8, and 8.5 interchangeable? Paul Whalen Electric Off-Road 1 07-21-2008 05:25 PM
OS VZ-R/VZ-B Conrod and Nova P5 Conrod rod_b R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-21-2006 06:58 PM
interchangeable parts for the xxxbk? Stevietd14 Electric Off-Road 4 09-24-2004 06:45 PM
xx4 and XXX4 PARTS INTERCHANGEABLE? xaznriceracerx Electric Off-Road 2 09-24-2003 11:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net