R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-28-2003, 08:49 PM   #151
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EVOLUTION
I also run wildcat but the trinity blend(only one we can get down under)but I thought you were running Byron fuels?




As long as SLOWHARRY stays in his corner I'll leave him alone but when he comes out for a cheap shot i'm going to have to sit him back down again!

you got me shakin' in my boots.......You know what town I live in...Come sit me down...or better yet..bring a car and put your money where your BIG mouth is.....

Crawl back under your rock.......evoLOSER
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c

Last edited by fastharry™; 11-28-2003 at 09:14 PM.
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 09:37 PM   #152
Tech Fanatic
 
EVOLUTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Everywhere,yet Nowhere!
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
You know what town I live in...
Oh damn you've come back out again.How about you go back into your corner like a good little boy and count your toys again,SLOWHarry ?



You're not from Ankara are you?
EVOLUTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 10:26 PM   #153
Tech Master
 
Motorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,911
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes
I run the byron when I cant get HP fuel but thats only if. I find that the HP has all the punch I could ever want and the byron is a little heavy on oil at times. contrary to popular belief I do care about durability and the HP gives me excellent reliability and most of all consistant performance gallon after gallon.

Harry at the time I did not know who was making the HP fuel. I don't recall ever saying anything negative about wildcat. At the time I just had a byron preference. times change. Tommy hasd me talked into running some rocket science next year so we'll se how it goes. If its better I'm on it if not back to old reliable.
__________________
Just here to give the world grief.
Motorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 11:24 PM   #154
Tech Addict
 
icon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to icon
Default

now i do have a serious question. with my past engines i would just break in (with RCCA's recommendation) and use it. i'm curious now if it is necessary to change the conrod (or anything else besides the glow plug) after break-in, say the newer NS 12 series engine by novarossi that puts out ton of power.

any advice motorman, thanx?

icon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 12:39 AM   #155
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

So alot of people run the trinity HP fuel and Like it then? The O'donnell was what a few people told me to switch to from the HP. I like the HP so I'm gonna stick with it after my O'donnell fiasco. Thx for the constructive input guys.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 07:49 PM   #156
Tech Regular
 
treky11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 350
Default

icon, no need to change anything, maybe the plug. that;s all. i have a ns12s5 and its awesome. break it in like the instructions say and run it.
treky11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 03:41 PM   #157
Tech Master
 
Motorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,911
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yup
on the NS 12's break it in and hammer down, takes about a gallon before they really loosen up though.
__________________
Just here to give the world grief.
Motorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 05:21 PM   #158
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Motorman
yup
on the NS 12's break it in and hammer down, takes about a gallon before they really loosen up though.
Yep...

Today I've been ending the break-in of mine RR12 and.... whew! love it. Doing the break-in of the engine is a bitch (the piston is tough to beat), needed almost 2 litres of fuel but at the end of the afternoon hammered it and was simply incredible.

Everything changed it (gearing, shifting points, clutch spring) but love how the engine pulls and launches the car from the hairpins and from still.

P.S: To all with one NSR or RR12, don't change the 'small' (9 fins) cooling head by the big (11 fins). Those engines with the new piston needs and holds much better higher temperatures, those engines are happy at 145 - 150ºC.
__________________
Cheers,
Corse-R
---
[quote=MugenDrew;2684554]BATTERIES are for FLASH LIGHTS, gasoline is for cleanin parts, alcohol is for me to drink and well NITRO...everybody know thats for racing.[/quote] :D:D:D
Corse-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 09:27 PM   #159
Tech Elite
 
vones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

just broke in my D5 n I must say tis engine is fast for tis price....I took apart the engine last nite n found dirt inside ...some pit marks on the piston head n turbo button...caused by running in the engine in a heavy vechicle parking lot.....all the pebbles n dirt must hve gotten into the exhast stinger n into the engine...luckily the piston n sleeve walls are all intact....I think I better get a small fuel filter on the pressure tube for future runs...shuld solve the dirt problem...hvn't max out the high end yet....its abt 70 % power with slight fuel splitting out...the moment I throttle after 5 sec's of idle it dies...tats how rich my low end was...think low end was ard 4 3/4 out...high end abt 4 1/2 out...mid flush....use OS 6 turbo hot plug with 25% fuel...engine head shim was 0.31 mm...
Stock engine head shim is 0.5mm....culdn't get it to idle tats why I removed the 0.2 mm shim...
tats my experience for now....can't wait for tis weekend to max tis bugger out...n will inform you guys abt the performance.

So Dino wats the ideal high end n low end needle position frm your experience...care to share some tips...
vones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Hyper 7, 8, 8.5 parts interchangeable? Paul Whalen Nitro Off-Road 5 07-22-2008 12:01 AM
Are parts from Hyper 7, 8, and 8.5 interchangeable? Paul Whalen Electric Off-Road 1 07-21-2008 05:25 PM
OS VZ-R/VZ-B Conrod and Nova P5 Conrod rod_b R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-21-2006 06:58 PM
interchangeable parts for the xxxbk? Stevietd14 Electric Off-Road 4 09-24-2004 06:45 PM
xx4 and XXX4 PARTS INTERCHANGEABLE? xaznriceracerx Electric Off-Road 2 09-24-2003 11:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:58 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net