Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Fuel Injection?!?!? >

Fuel Injection?!?!?

Fuel Injection?!?!?

Reply

Old 10-27-2003, 02:01 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Smile Fuel Injection?!?!?



Could this be the wave of the future for cars too???

Imagine not having to screw with needles anymore and having a perfect mixture???


Sign me up, I want one... Preferably a .12 please...

ROAR will never go for it...


OS Engines
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 05:43 PM
  #2  
RCTech Member #2
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,957
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Have you seen the cost?

Tower has it listed as $999.99, which very few people would go for.
TSR6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 05:51 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I remember when VCR's for $4,000....

Imagine having control over the fuel curve??? Wanna lean out the top end... Richen mid range... Possibilities are limitless...

Both my fuel injected motorcycles have Power Commanders, its great to be able to plug in my laptop and play with the fuel mixture without getting dirty... Beats changing needles, seats, float levels... I'd pay for the same on my RC's...

With the money I spend on RC's, what's the difference...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 06:47 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NoVA
Posts: 856
Default

will it fit a .12 or four stroke?.......
mtx3racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 10:03 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 536
Default

ill stick with the regular carbs myself...i like playing around with settings and its alot less exspensive to turn a screwdriver
2mcgrath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 03:06 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
 
Thunder racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ((^^Keep It Sidewayz^^))
Posts: 536
Default

Originally posted by 2mcgrath
ill stick with the regular carbs myself...i like playing around with settings and its alot less exspensive to turn a screwdriver
MATE YOU GOT THAT RIGHT

playing with the mixture is all part of the fun.
Thunder racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 05:40 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: indpls,ind
Posts: 1,470
Default Fuel Injection

This is not new to the world of rc cars !! About 10 years ago I believe racer's choice had a unit similar in appearance to the one in the picture and it automactically adjusted fuel air mixture based on demand and weather conditions. Check on the web if you can find speedline phone number they might have some old units left.
nitrohead5300 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 06:27 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I run the unit from pc/rc. It works great. I get double the fuel economy. I get 15 min out of one tank on my 1/10 stadium truck. They went for $159.95. I have some extra brand new units if anyone is interested for $110 shipped. I have been using mine for 2 years now. If you are interested you can email me directly at [email protected]

It is ROAR Legal and it works great on my .12
seajj2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 06:29 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Hopefully the picture will show up
Attached Thumbnails Fuel Injection?!?!?-efr801.jpg  
seajj2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 06:54 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Fuel economy is one of the big plusses to a system like that, a bit more HP is the other plus... But the biggest advantage to it is always having the propper fuel mixture...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 07:29 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lancashire - United Kingdom
Posts: 101
Default

How is the fuel pressure controlled ?

In order for a fuel injection system to opeate correctly it must have a constant fuel pressure.

The fuel pressure on a nitro changes with rpm.
Bob The Builder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 10:48 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,720
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i'm guessing injector pulse width thats how most programable injectors are programed.
Francis M. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 01:42 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I'm going to assume since I haven't seen the system up close that it's more comparable to a throttle body setup... The fuel is still being delivered the same way, there's no direct port injection... You only need slight pressure to feed the fuel, it's only taking care of the metering...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 05:31 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Correct it is more like a throttle body. Same concept.
seajj2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003, 10:30 PM
  #15  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Originally posted by vtl1180ny
I remember when VCR's for $4,000....

Imagine having control over the fuel curve??? Wanna lean out the top end... Richen mid range... Possibilities are limitless...

Both my fuel injected motorcycles have Power Commanders, its great to be able to plug in my laptop and play with the fuel mixture without getting dirty... Beats changing needles, seats, float levels... I'd pay for the same on my RC's...

With the money I spend on RC's, what's the difference...
All I need is a unit that can hook up to my reciever and allow me to set the mixture with my 3pk while driving. That would be so sweet if you could rig that up. It would also be sweet if they could make one that could moniture temperature and adjust the mixture to compensate automatically. That would be my dream, just turning a few dials on my 3pk rather than going up to the car to make adjustments with a screwdriver. It actually seems like it could be possible. I think the 3pk already has the capabilities to do that, youd either have to design a new reciever or find a way to adjust it using the third channel and make the unit of course. I cant believe nobodys made one of these yet (well in recent years).

seajj2: are those two things attacched to what look like wires on it needles to replace the stock needles on the carb?
AE Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service