R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2003, 04:52 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default 75 vs 27 mhz

Hey guys,

Is there an advantage of using 75 mhz over 27mhz besides the fact that it has more frequency?? Reception? Glitches?

G
__________________
Tekno SCT410//B44.x Avid Chasis//B5M//HW 3656 - 4700 kv// HW V10//MT-4
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 05:04 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 246
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I hear that 75mhz is more susceptable to glitching. But since I've only used 75mhz I can't say from experience. The biggest thing I've found to help combat glitching is PCM. I can't remember a time when one of my cars has glitched when using PCM. Put a normal FM receiver in my nitro car once, glitched in 2 places on the big track. Put a PCM back in, no glitches.
Surge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 05:18 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
RA99GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SD
Posts: 567
Default

27 tends to glitch less and there is more spacing between channes.. but, there are only 6 channels on 27, and a bunch on 75...
__________________
-MurfDogg Racing- Race One or Chase One! -http://www.murfdogg.com/

My RC Racing Blog- http://ra99gt-rcracing.blogspot.com/
My YouTube Channel- http://www.youtube.com/user/ra99gt
RA99GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 05:24 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

The interesting thing is, hardly anyone uses 27 mhz at races so it's actually pretty free in terms of channels.

G
__________________
Tekno SCT410//B44.x Avid Chasis//B5M//HW 3656 - 4700 kv// HW V10//MT-4
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 01:42 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
theRED5's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: near Athens,GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

27 used to be great untill ALL the RTR's started being sold with 27 mhz radios. Now there's too many rookies using them.
__________________
I [I]AM [/I]the Driver !

Murnan Modified Motors

Mugen MRx4

Rocket Science Fuels

Auto Racing, Mountain climbing, and Bull fighting are the only true sports, all the rest are just games.
theRED5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 08:34 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

I agree with theRED. 27 Mhz is better performance wise, but it's really tough to get track time on race days.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 10:13 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quick question what about 40 mhz? any better?
zech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 10:31 PM   #8
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

40mhz is illegal in North america, where I live

but in asia many people use it.
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 02:59 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

The AM Crystals don't interchange with FM do they? But Do conflict with one another on the same channel?...Just trying to get all my facts straight.I Have both 75 AM and FM Crystals and Trans/rec units.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 02:20 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Fisher,
Nope, you can't change the AM and FM crystals.

B,
You are partially correct. You can run 40 band with a ham radio licence. I have heard that it's not very difficult to get.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 06:21 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

Umm...that's interesting. Can some one confirm if this is the case. I wonder if 40 mhz will be interfering with some ham radios operators...hehe...I mean there must be a reason why it's not legal unless with a license. And I don't think they meant to include rc racing...

So is it a loop hole or it's really OK to run 40mhz with a ham radio license? There's also a couple of levels of licensing. Anyone here that has a ham radio license and does run 40 mhz??




G
__________________
Tekno SCT410//B44.x Avid Chasis//B5M//HW 3656 - 4700 kv// HW V10//MT-4
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 06:35 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Kiiski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maxx-Land USA
Posts: 76
Default

I would be more concerned with a ham radio interfering with my car than vice versa. Ham radios have a range of miles, potentially hundreds of miles with the right "bounce", so the chances of getting stepped on would be pretty high.
Kiiski
Kiiski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 06:48 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NoVA
Posts: 856
Send a message via ICQ to mtx3racer Send a message via AIM to mtx3racer
Default

75 is the best because of the selection of channels, more racers, more fun!!!
mtx3racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 12:53 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
eddiethefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 1,658
Send a message via ICQ to eddiethefish
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RA99GT
27 tends to glitch less and there is more spacing between channes.. but, there are only 6 channels on 27, and a bunch on 75...
That's because FCC governs such.

better yet, use 26!
eddiethefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 01:06 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

http://wvrcm.tripod.com/fccrcfreq.html
__________________
Royal Rumble Racing
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:58 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net