R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2003, 09:54 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Marcos
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to kkiel02
Default Newbie question

I just got a RS4 RTR, the belt kind. My friend just got a RS4, shaft driven. I was wondering if it is worth it to keep the belt driven or just sell it and get a shaft driven? Why did they change to shaft driven? What are the problems with belt driven? I have only worked with a RC10GT so this 4wd is new to me.
kkiel02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 09:57 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Marcos
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to kkiel02
Default

Sorry about this I just saw the newbie thread. Can a admin or mod move this for me?
kkiel02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 10:22 PM   #3
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

personally, i do not feel that there will be a noticable difference due to the type of 4wd system.

It really depends on the track which you run on. Is the track very dirty and full of pebbles? If yes, then a shaft drive car may be more suitable

hope that gives u somewhat of an idea
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 11:36 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Marcos
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to kkiel02
Default

Yeha i was running it in the parking lot and a rock got wedged already that was the first day I got it
kkiel02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 11:49 PM   #5
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

yeah
but you have to keep in mind that with the shaft drive, rocks will get into the gear too!

but a little less hasselsome i guess

but in my opinion, belt is better than shaft, because belts can be re-routed in order to have the best engine, fuel tank, electronics placement.

but shaft, its all pretty much the same, and i dont think the placement of the engine on shaft driven cars are very wise, but they dont really have a choice
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2003, 12:42 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 536
Send a message via AIM to 2mcgrath Send a message via Yahoo to 2mcgrath
Default

nah there wont be a big difference in performance...the belt drive will sometimes get rocks hung in it and they strip the belt or pulley but its not very often that it does that...but with the shaft drive when you crash and break an axle carrier your dogbone goes flying and you have to go looking for it...or if your ball cup pops off same thing happens dogbone goes flying...and the middle ones can sometimes be a pain to get to go in place...but all in all they both work good...
2mcgrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 02:41 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default Keep it!!!

Get use to driving it! And you will kick your friends arss all over the track. The people who complane abought belt driven cars are the ones that wish they had them! If you take care of your car and keep it in good shape you shouldn't have any problems with belts.... Da HELLION
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 11:31 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 202
Default

If HPI believed in the shaft design, I wonder why they abondoned it in the r40.

BTW, as others mentioned, belts are not bad for parking lots. Both belts and shaft will get something stuck in there once in a while.
dg2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 11:32 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Marcos
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to kkiel02
Default

Thanks for all the replies so far the car have now beaten his shaft driven alot. It hasnt given me as much trouble either so that is a good thing. I have a shaft driven one on the way but I will still run this one also.
kkiel02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 12:07 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: north carolina
Posts: 536
Send a message via AIM to 2mcgrath Send a message via Yahoo to 2mcgrath
Default

i think you will be happy with the one on the way!!
2mcgrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 01:34 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
mop_iko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA but now working in SHANGHAI
Posts: 1,797
Default GLOW PLUG QUESTIONS

I browsed SIRIO website.

THey have COLD GLOW PLUGS and HOT GLOW PLUGS....

What is the difference between those two type of glow plug?


They also have a lot of glow plug number HOT5 HOT6 HOT7 etc etc...

What are those number for? what are the differences between those numbers?

mop
mop_iko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie question bbamboo Rookie Zone 2 07-31-2008 07:23 PM
Just an newbie question I need Help as soon as i can get it Chancellor6630 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 3 05-18-2006 02:29 AM
Newbie Question Napalm Electric On-Road 21 07-24-2004 07:09 AM
newbie question please help aids333 Nitro On-Road 2 05-19-2004 11:45 PM
Nitro engine question - newbie question. BloodClod Singapore R/C Racers 6 09-11-2002 10:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net