R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-28-2008, 01:05 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
TRYMY4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 10 (86%+)
Send a message via AIM to TRYMY4.0
Default ◄I've tried everything...tuning help please►

I just recently bought a new HPI RS4 EVO 3+ and i've had problems since day one with it. So far, this is my setup, 3.0 engine, MC11 plug, HPI tuned exhaust, Byron 20% fuel. I've messed with everything to get this thing to run right and it wont. If I am able to give it top end, low end is sh*t and dies. If I give it low end, high end bogs and dies. I had to use a new fuel line b/c I routed the 1st one wrong and got chewed up. The new one is the same size but maybe a tad longer. Would the length cause a problem?

Typically, I can half throttle it everywhere just fine. Full throttle at 25+mph it'll bog out then die (if I don't let go of the throttle). It'll push a bunch of smoke then none when it dies. At idle it will sound like there is too much fuel then bog out or if I am able to get it to move it'll bog out and die.

This is really messing with me b/c I have a firestorm (same engine) and it runs great.

Any and all help would be FANTASTIC.

-Ant.
__________________
POOWWWWWWAAAAAAAAA SLLLLIIIIIDDDDDEEEEE!!!!
TRYMY4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 01:13 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SIMI VALLEY CA
Posts: 245
Default

Have you checked to see if your gas tank is air tight?
__________________
Mugen USA-FX Hobbies-Airtronics
TONY CLARK
STRICTLYSERPENT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 01:41 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
TRYMY4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 10 (86%+)
Send a message via AIM to TRYMY4.0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STRICTLYSERPENT View Post
Have you checked to see if your gas tank is air tight?
No I have not. I believe it is. How would I check? run the hose so it doesnt leak and tip it over?

-Ant.
__________________
POOWWWWWWAAAAAAAAA SLLLLIIIIIDDDDDEEEEE!!!!
TRYMY4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 01:44 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Miami
Posts: 524
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

you should start from factory setting and tune from there,normally those engines like to run on the lean side
Roniel_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 01:50 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
TRYMY4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 10 (86%+)
Send a message via AIM to TRYMY4.0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roniel_R View Post
you should start from factory setting and tune from there,normally those engines like to run on the lean side
The high speed needle is at factory and still bogs/dies at the top end. There is no factory setting guide for the low speed needle. I can make it flush (which is prob what it is) and I think I have made it flush and still had issues.

-Ant.
__________________
POOWWWWWWAAAAAAAAA SLLLLIIIIIDDDDDEEEEE!!!!
TRYMY4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 03:53 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
GHETTOTEACHER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,162
Default

I would change that plug. It sounds like to me that the engine is fireing late. The temps have changed so it's cooler outside. Small blocks love to run on the hotter side. Install a hot plug and retune. I don't know McCoy plug numbers, but OS. 3 or a Novarossi 6 would heat things up.
__________________
Herolin <---Traded my Airtronics for an Ipad and Laptop...
Soon to be GHETTOPRINCIPAL..
GHETTOTEACHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 04:08 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
TRYMY4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 10 (86%+)
Send a message via AIM to TRYMY4.0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GHETTOTEACHER View Post
I would change that plug. It sounds like to me that the engine is fireing late. The temps have changed so it's cooler outside. Small blocks love to run on the hotter side. Install a hot plug and retune. I don't know McCoy plug numbers, but OS. 3 or a Novarossi 6 would heat things up.
^thanks. I was running an O.S. 3 in my firestorm and it ran fine. I've also got 3 O'donnel 77 plugs. They are med/hot. I will try one of them tomorrow to see if it works better.

I agree with the firing, when driving it sounds like it is misfiring. (i work at a auto repair shop) I will agree to it being cooler out, but today in Georgia it was about 60-70.

-Ant.
__________________
POOWWWWWWAAAAAAAAA SLLLLIIIIIDDDDDEEEEE!!!!
TRYMY4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 10:31 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
NiTrO BoOsTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toowoomba
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

dude dont use a OS A3 they are for running in an engine, use the OS no.8 or a A5, you wont a plug that is med for basicly anywhere its a good place to get started.

Mitchell
__________________
Serpent 733 - RB T10rc - Ko Helios EX-10
Serpent 733 - Novarossi 3SCT Tuned
============== SERPENT the only way ============
==== Pro Buggy Rc, Pitsworth - for all my RC needs =====
NiTrO BoOsTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 05:42 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
s10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sacramento , Calif.
Posts: 481
Default

sounds like gast tank seal..not enough pressure top end to push enough fuel
__________________
Marc Richards / Xray NT1 / Matrix Tires / RB Motor's / Futaba
Fabricator and racer @ Speedworld Raceway & Hobby
s10dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 06:52 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
TRYMY4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 10 (86%+)
Send a message via AIM to TRYMY4.0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s10dude View Post
sounds like gast tank seal..not enough pressure top end to push enough fuel
I filled the tank up and set it upside down for an hour and it didn't leak. I guess I could always just order another one just in case.

-Ant.
__________________
POOWWWWWWAAAAAAAAA SLLLLIIIIIDDDDDEEEEE!!!!
TRYMY4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 07:44 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
wizby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 487
Default

Try running a wire through the presure nipple on the pipe. Never know if thats plugged up from the factory. Low speed needle orings could be leaking. Is there any wettness around the head? Or exhaust system?
__________________
XRAY NT1 2014 NOVA KEEPON DX3R
MIKE PARKER PRESIDENT
NORTHERN INDIANA TEAM RACING ORG. MIDWEST SERIES TEAM DIRECTOR
wizby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 08:32 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
CurveTracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Suburban Chicago
Posts: 504
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Testing Fuel Tank Integrity

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRYMY4.0 View Post
I filled the tank up and set it upside down for an hour and it didn't leak. I guess I could always just order another one just in case.

-Ant.
Laying the car upside down may not detect a fuel system leak.
Here is a better method: remove the fuel tank, with its carburetor line and pressure line. Pinch off the exhaust pipe pressure line, blow air into the fuel line and pinch it off also. Now you have a pressurized fuel system. Submerge the entire assembly into a container of water. Look for air bubbles escaping arround the fuel tank, tank lid, pressure, or fuel line.
__________________
"Yellow Jacket" Mugen MTX-6, Picco Torque
TeamNITRO RC Club, Lynwood, Illinois
CurveTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 11:36 AM   #13
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

What are you tuning with? Just one needle or both?

Did you read the directions on tuning and you want to tune it when its warmed up and hot. Also pull your plug, try another one.

Beyond that for sake of giving you something to go with. Im not sure how familiar your with tuning.

But I would run the car around...tune the top end. Make sure its smoking and not bogging out and running right. Then bring it in , let it idle for a few seconds , then give it gas....what does it do...act boggy or act real responsive.

Go from there , if its boggy , just lean the low end until its a good mixture of power , smoke and responsiveness. Then take it back out and retune the top-end again if need be.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 01:23 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
revo523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NOLA!
Posts: 466
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Put everything back to factory settings let the car warm up and start with your highend needle once its where you want it then move to the lowend needle. sounds to me like a engine thats running fat!
revo523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 06:07 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
TRYMY4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alpharetta
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 10 (86%+)
Send a message via AIM to TRYMY4.0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I View Post
What are you tuning with? Just one needle or both?

Did you read the directions on tuning and you want to tune it when its warmed up and hot. Also pull your plug, try another one.

Beyond that for sake of giving you something to go with. Im not sure how familiar your with tuning.

But I would run the car around...tune the top end. Make sure its smoking and not bogging out and running right. Then bring it in , let it idle for a few seconds , then give it gas....what does it do...act boggy or act real responsive.

Go from there , if its boggy , just lean the low end until its a good mixture of power , smoke and responsiveness. Then take it back out and retune the top-end again if need be.
I have done all that. I returned the HSN to factory and it bogs and cuts off. Could it be the engine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CurveTracer View Post
Laying the car upside down may not detect a fuel system leak.
Here is a better method: remove the fuel tank, with its carburetor line and pressure line. Pinch off the exhaust pipe pressure line, blow air into the fuel line and pinch it off also. Now you have a pressurized fuel system. Submerge the entire assembly into a container of water. Look for air bubbles escaping arround the fuel tank, tank lid, pressure, or fuel line.
Ok, thanks a lot. I am going to do that RIGHT NOW!

Quote:
Originally Posted by revo523 View Post
Put everything back to factory settings let the car warm up and start with your highend needle once its where you want it then move to the lowend needle. sounds to me like a engine thats running fat!
I know, it seems like too much fuel is getting in an locks up but when I lean it out....same thing.



-Ant.
__________________
POOWWWWWWAAAAAAAAA SLLLLIIIIIDDDDDEEEEE!!!!
TRYMY4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:55 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net