Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
What tempgun are you using? >

What tempgun are you using?

What tempgun are you using?

Reply

Old 10-10-2008, 12:44 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
GREGORY!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,079
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Questions?? What tempgun are you using?

hi guys,i need to know you temp gun choice.
i want to buy a good one for under 40$.now i am using the pe1.
somethink more accurate!
thanks in advice!
GREGORY! is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 05:27 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
s10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sacramento , Calif.
Posts: 481
Default



this one..................$39.99 Tower Hobbies.......
s10dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:02 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
GREGORY!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,079
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by s10dude View Post


this one..................$39.99 Tower Hobbies.......

?
GREGORY! is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 02:18 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
sm1nts2escape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Raytek.Got if off ebay about three years ago and it is still using the batteries it came with and it gives the same temps those exergen guns do plus you don't have to stick it in the head to get the temps.Bought it for 50 bucks new.Mine is the pistol grip version.
sm1nts2escape is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 02:45 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
B-DAWG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Orleans,LA
Posts: 262
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Tempgun.com
B-DAWG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 03:07 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have the big raytek with the special cone on it that Sigma Trading had custom made for these guns....

I recently switched to the Odonnell small one....it is always within one degree....


and the best part is it has a light....( not many do..)
fastharry™ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 03:08 PM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sm1nts2escape View Post
Raytek.Got if off ebay about three years ago and it is still using the batteries it came with and it gives the same temps those exergen guns do plus you don't have to stick it in the head to get the temps.Bought it for 50 bucks new.Mine is the pistol grip version.
^^^^ +1 Raytech. Doesn't seem to be as bothered by shiny surfaces as a cheaper IR gun (flashpoint). I had a chance running one day to do side by side comparison with exergen - was practically the same, very satisfied with mine.
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 04:02 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
cho~ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Live N Die in LA
Posts: 453
Default

where did u get the special cone for your reytek? ive been looking for one
cho~ke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 05:37 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
s10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sacramento , Calif.
Posts: 481
Default

Originally Posted by GREGORY! View Post
?
damn pic didn't show...WTF!.........it's the O'Donnells orange one....
s10dude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:13 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
lil-bump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Cold Great Lakes
Posts: 2,976
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cho~ke View Post
where did u get the special cone for your reytek? ive been looking for one

Me too
lil-bump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:46 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sigma Trading, which used to import RB engines had the cones made 10 years ago.....They are no longer being made.....


I used to think they were just plastic, but I later found out they were made of a special material that would work with the IR beam, and not reflect it...for a super accurate reading....
fastharry™ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 08:01 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
 
cho~ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Live N Die in LA
Posts: 453
Default

can i buy urs since u not using it no more
cho~ke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 07:03 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
lil-bump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Cold Great Lakes
Posts: 2,976
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by s10dude View Post
damn pic didn't show...WTF!.........it's the O'Donnells orange one....

The only problem I have with the O'donnel temp gun is the lights really kills the battery. I broke in my novarossi on a prop I was constantly checking the temp before i was done the battery was dead. So I went inside and disabled the light ckt. Now the battery last an entire season.

One thing to remember about temp guns is to know if it is a (OP-Offset point or CP -centerpoint) Most Raytek's are OP meaning where ever the lazar points you are actually measuring 1 inch to right of the lazar dot no matter what the distance to spot ratio is. So if you place an OP type temp gun directly over the heat sink you are actually reading down the side of the heat sink not the glow plug.
lil-bump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 07:15 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lil-bump View Post
The only problem I have with the O'donnel temp gun is the lights really kills the battery. I broke in my novarossi on a prop I was constantly checking the temp before i was done the battery was dead. So I went inside and disabled the light ckt. Now the battery last an entire season.

One thing to remember about temp guns is to know if it is a (OP-Offset point or CP -centerpoint) Most Raytek's are OP meaning where ever the lazar points you are actually measuring 1 inch to right of the lazar dot no matter what the distance to spot ratio is. So if you place an OP type temp gun directly over the heat sink you are actually reading down the side of the heat sink not the glow plug.



So I guess the cone is a good thing.....
fastharry™ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 11:32 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
lil-bump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Cold Great Lakes
Posts: 2,976
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fastharry View Post
So I guess the cone is a good thing.....

I could not find that model. I'm not sure if it's CP or OP. I'm not sure if the cone would work properly with a OP type sensor. Better yet if the wife would buy me an Exergen all my problems would be solved.
lil-bump is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service