R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 08-27-2008, 09:36 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Default Muffler stay rod off

I stopped running the muffler stay rod on my Mugen MTX3 because every time I brush up against the wall I end up bending the stinger on my pipe or worse the singer just brakes off. I have found that without the muffler stay the pipe will just flex into the car in the event of a hit and there is less damage to the stinger. Also if the hit is hard enough the pipe simple bends into the car and the tires take the brunt of the impact on most side wall hits. Ive been looking into the new THS pipes that have the re-enforced stingers but I dont see any for 1/10 scale engines.

OK, OK I know the best remedy for this is to drive better and avoid hitting the walls but Im no pro driver here and the inevitable wall brush is sometimes unavoidable but until I get better Ive found that running with no muffler stay has saved me alot of $$$ not having to replace damaged pipes. Just want to get some feedback on this and see if this is a smart thing to do.
almtx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 09:44 AM   #2
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

How are you keeping the pipe from dragging the ground?
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 10:19 AM   #3
Tech Adept

Surprisingly the muffler stays put at any angle I put it. Ill have to take pics so its easier to understand but Ive done nothing special. I found that when I removed the muffler stay the pipe stayed in place. I do have a new coupler and a very tight spring holding the header but that's about it. It doesn't feel loose and does not move at all.
Old 08-27-2008, 11:43 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)