R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 08-26-2008, 02:26 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Just got a FW-05rr / ZT1... what engine to use?

Hey everyone. First of all, i haven't been in the RC game for several years and it was only an electric buggy- so I'm a bit of a newb with the nitro on road. I picked up this car on ebay recently and got the itch again to start racing.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:RTQ:US:1123

Only problem is, I have no experience or clue as to which engine I should purchase. Can anyone recommend a good place to start? I'm assuming the fact that the car has the engine located on the opposite side won't hinder me from using any engines, I'm also assuming that I need a rear exhaust engine. Ive considered getting a new O.S. from tower hobby maybe? I'm guessing the .18 is cheaper than the .12 because they are heavier am i correct? I wouldnt mind getting a .18 if I could still be competitive, or would that added weight cause me to lose everytime against the people running .12? Again i'm clueless about all this so I'm just guessing, any advice or info would be great. Thanks!
MADaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 03:43 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to impalabob64
Thumbs up 12 Engine

Novarossi base engines will be the way to go ,or the RB line engines will work also,i use to run the Fw05r,many years ago good car, easy to work on too.
12plus3 for Novaroosi
RBR3 from the RbLine.Hope this helps.
impalabob64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 04:10 PM   #3
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MADaul View Post
Hey everyone. First of all, i haven't been in the RC game for several years and it was only an electric buggy- so I'm a bit of a newb with the nitro on road. I picked up this car on ebay recently and got the itch again to start racing.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:RTQ:US:1123