R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2003, 07:37 AM   #31
Tech Regular
 
KMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
If they are that good they would'nt need a 2 year warranty!
Obviously, you know nothing about warranties, either. Companies only provide longer warranties when you either pay for it, or there's a very high confidence level in their product, NOT to cover themselves because they think their product is bad. They would lose their ass in a hurry.

Your logic is entirely flawed.
KMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 09:47 AM   #32
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 195
Default

I have been using all digital hitec servos since they came out. The origional ones had a programming problem. Did they cover it up? No. They came out and said if you have one of the affected servos then send it back and it will be replaced for free.

Our shop has been selling hitec for the past 5 years. Not one servo that has ever been sent back has come back with a bill, no matter if it was out of warrenty or not. The total that we have had to send back since we started carrying them could be counted on you hands and feet.
JPHRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2003, 07:09 AM   #33
Tee
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: the town of Oakland CA
Posts: 79
Default One More Possibility...

Maybe the venom failsafe sent out the "crazy signal" that appears like the digital servo programmer signal(s) and you ended up reprogramming your digital servo. I totally fail to see how cutting off a side tab or not (?) would ruin anything besides deforming the connector socket. Does the connector socket qualify as an internal circuit? Either Venom is way stupid or I am, pick one.

You should see if the servo can be reset with the "servo programmer"

Last edited by Tee; 08-30-2003 at 07:14 AM.
Tee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2003, 07:23 AM   #34
Tech Regular
 
snoopy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Oz
Posts: 449
Default

Nothing wrong with Hitec servos these days.
But i still see higher failure rates in all the digital servos than i think is acceptable.
snoopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2003, 10:58 PM   #35
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 195
Default Re: One More Possibility...

Quote:
Originally posted by Tee
Maybe the venom failsafe sent out the "crazy signal" that appears like the digital servo programmer signal(s) and you ended up reprogramming your digital servo. I totally fail to see how cutting off a side tab or not (?) would ruin anything besides deforming the connector socket. Does the connector socket qualify as an internal circuit? Either Venom is way stupid or I am, pick one.

You should see if the servo can be reset with the "servo programmer"
Because a retard designed the fail-safe. There is a small wire that gets connected to the circut board under the plug socket, right were the futaba tab would slide in. If you dont cut the tab it will break the small wire out of the circut board.
JPHRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 02:47 AM   #36
Tech Regular
 
Old Skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 342
Default My take on the Hitec digital servo issue...

I had (notice that that's in the past tense, natch!) two Hitec high-speed digital servos, and two of their high-torque versions. Three of them failed in the course of normal use within two months of the purchase date. I sent them all in to the company's repair center. They returned them with an invoice stating that two had been repaired; the third one they claimed had no problem. Okay, great. I charged up the rx batteries and installed them in my MRX-3 and the third went into the throttle position in my XR buggy. Can you guess what happened next, boys and girls?

Not one of them worked a damn. Just for a test I plugged in an old Futaba S3003 in the same positions and it worked. Wtf is up with that? I even sent two back and Hitec swore they found no problem. Yeah, right.

This was a little over a year ago. Needless to say that are long gone, and I now run Airtronics and KO's. In all fairness I have been using a non-digital high-speed Hitec in the steering position of my NTC3 and it works fine. It's just their digital servos that I stay away from, and around here a lot of other drivers have had a similar story. I cannot recommend Hitec digital servos to anyone, sorry.
Old Skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 09:15 AM   #37
Tech Fanatic
 
EVOLUTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Everywhere,yet Nowhere!
Posts: 978
Default

I remember a whileeeeeeeeeeee back a friend of mine who worked at a store told me they had a huge recall of the digitals so someone must know something about them.

The 925s are the only half decent ones i know of,pretty good bang for the buck if you "have" to get hitecs.
EVOLUTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:20 AM   #38
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Kmac: Yea my lodgic is flawed, with Hitec broken servo's!! To me, the 2 year warranty, and the lesser pricing Hitec uses, is just to lure you in, not because of their great confidence level. Gee, Let's see, I can get a servo, half the price and with a 2 year warranty. Sounds good! That's how they hooked me! but after sending them back a few times, I then understood. You get what you pay for! Airtronics and JR the only way to go!

Just my .02 worth!
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 10:33 AM   #39
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

yes, some servos were recalled due to a software problem.

http://www.hitecrcd.com/Support/servostatement.htm for the information on the recall

...and just for the record. I have 6 Hitec servos, one digital, and have not had a single problem with any of them.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 09:50 PM   #40
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

ok..heres a diffrent take on the subject..



Eveyone hates using Digitals on throttle,right?.....


How about all the new high responce recievers that need all digital servos????????


now whatcha think?........
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 10:05 PM   #41
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMac
Obviously, you know nothing about warranties, either. Companies only provide longer warranties when you either pay for it, or there's a very high confidence level in their product, NOT to cover themselves because they think their product is bad. They would lose their ass in a hurry.

Your logic is entirely flawed.
Actually warranties are offered as a product differentiator (like Hitec does) based on a risk assesment of product lifespan to failure rate to consumer return rate.
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 10:17 PM   #42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default


Buy Airtronic, Futaba, or JR, then you don't have to worry about a 2 year warranty! I wonder why these companys don't offer 2 year warranty? ( they don't have too!)
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 10:21 PM   #43
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
( they don't have too!)
You got it. If it was costing them sales as a product differentiator they would give you one.

Look at the "Stresstech" guarantee from Duratrax. You think they offer this cause their product is the bomb?
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spektrum and Venom Fail Safe Takt Electric Off-Road 3 02-10-2007 01:46 PM
venom and ko propo fail safe ralliartlanevov R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-14-2004 08:07 AM
Venom Fail Safe F/S F/T DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 05-16-2004 10:50 PM
Venom Fail Safe RC Oval Racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-08-2003 02:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:40 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net