R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2002, 09:02 PM   #121
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

They should arrive, I hope, tomorrow. I will post here tomorrow around 3:30ish whether or not I will be going Saturday, ok???
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 09:40 AM   #122
Tech Addict
 
wolfeman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Big Dance, USA
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to wolfeman09 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfeman09
Default

Tony > Sounds good, did you get my email? I never heard back form you.

Hope you can make it.
wolfeman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 10:57 AM   #123
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 92
Problems with NTC3

Hey guys, just wondering if anyone has had any problems with NTC3. I have yet to run mine, but have already had a couple problems during assembly and break-in. First I had a lot of problems with the stock hardware. It seems that some of my 1/16" allen screws were already stripped before I even used them. Thankfully I had extra hardware to use. This was somewhat of a nuisance. My other problem occurred during engine break-in. It seems that the e-clip used to hold the gear on the rear input shaft came off and completely locked my drivetrain. I reassembled it without the clip as there was no way for me to be sure it wouldn't do it during a race. Does anybody foresee a problem with this? Now don't get me wrong, this car is of the utmost quality. Just some small problems. Am wondering if I'm the only one with these problems? Any responses greatly appreciated. Thanks a bunch.
Nemesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 03:54 PM   #124
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I didn't have any problems with mine....I would keep an eye on it the first couple of runs....

Wolf...No tires....guess I'm not going. Next week for sure...

Sorry about that....
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 04:44 PM   #125
Tech Addict
 
wolfeman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Big Dance, USA
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to wolfeman09 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfeman09
Default

TP > No problem but i cant go next Saturday Sunday is SpeedTech. SoCal?

Hope to see you there.
wolfeman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 04:48 PM   #126
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

As far as the screws,I know on any of the associated kits a good set of allen drivers help.......The 2 sp shaft is another issue....the groove on some of them was not cut deep enough.....If you call Associated they'll send youy a new one..........In the mean time,a 5 mm e clip will work,Kyosho and Serpent both make em...Or your local hardware store is a good choice(if theirs a Sears hardware,them also).............and I resent that "Rookie" tag...I knew the answer at least................

Last edited by fastharry™; 01-18-2002 at 04:51 PM.
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 05:11 PM   #127
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 92
Thumbs up

You da man fastharry. Thanks alot for reply. I tried every e-clip I have, unfortunately none fit tight enough (they all expanded too far.) You are correct that the groove isn't cut deep enough. Do you foresee any problems running without the clip? I'll e-mail Associated and see about some freebies. Thanks again and happy racing!
Nemesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 05:50 PM   #128
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

I haven't got that far on mine yet....I know about it because one of the guys at my LHS(I work next door) had that prob....i aclled associated and got the info....Im also had them send me a shaft....My freind did'nt want to wait and thats the eclip size that worked....I don't think I'd run it withoiut the eclip,ya gotta figure it's there for a reason,probably to stop the gear from sliding....It's also possible that your's is cut even less than my freinds.....I'd say call associated,if not find a clip that goes all the way around and locks at the 3 points of the clip..........
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 09:07 PM   #129
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default

Mine also had the clip problem. It also had the other e-clip for the gear messed up. When I got the new shaft the whole drive train worked much better because the gear(bevel) was spaced correctly. I would not run it until you get the fixed part from AE. It only takes 4 days max to get the part.
OB42TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 04:24 AM   #130
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 6,027
Default

I have been racing Electric touring cars for about 10 years and raced Nitro tourers for about 3 years, but for the past two i have only raced electric...now as a result of seeing how good the Nitro TC3 looks i have decided i must have one and i will re enter Nitro racing!

So i have a few questions...

1. What do you guys think of the 2 speed?? is it strong??? is it a serpent style 2 speed with with clutch type shoes ??? or is it like a HPI 2 speed unit ??

2. Has Associated started shipping the option parts i.e graphite radio tray, lightweight drive train parts etc...

3. What starter box is best for the NTC3.

4. Whats's this weeks gun .12 motor???

Thanks in advance

PS
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 07:41 PM   #131
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default

1. looks very stout, clutch style
2.no
3. my ofna box looks like it will work fine
4.Richey RTU(RTO no-ROAR)
OB42TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 08:22 PM   #132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

The 2 speed is a shoe type design taken from the 1/8 scale rc500 I think, it seems very strong but alot of rotating mass, the lighter two speed parts will be a must. I can't even get the blade sway bar kit yet much less the graphite stuff, I'm using the RB 12 5 port engine but will have a Richie RTO by mid season. Any starter box will work if you can turn the motor around sideways in the box.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2002, 05:35 PM   #133
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 6,027
Default

does the NTC3 have ball diffs????
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2002, 05:35 PM   #134
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 6,027
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
The 2 speed is a shoe type design taken from the 1/8 scale rc500 I think, it seems very strong but alot of rotating mass, the lighter two speed parts will be a must. I can't even get the blade sway bar kit yet much less the graphite stuff, I'm using the RB 12 5 port engine but will have a Richie RTO by mid season. Any starter box will work if you can turn the motor around sideways in the box.
Where can i get info on the Richie RTO ??

Thanks
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2002, 06:17 PM   #135
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by black-knight
does the NTC3 have ball diffs????
yes, it comes with front and rear ball diff
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:45 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net