R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2002, 12:51 PM   #1141
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default Re: Rear Toe Link - Everyone READ!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by rayhuang
Hello everyone,

I need some feedback

I would like to know how many of you would be willing to buy a complete kit that eliminates the compression of the Nitro TC3 REAR TOE LINKS. No more tapping the board with the front wheel, car rotates into board and shortens the rear toe link-effectively ruining your qualifier or main!!!

Ray Huang
Depending upon cost and complexity, I would be interested. If it is more solid and dependable than merely replacing the links with Lunsfort Titaniums (the off-road ones are the right thickness), then I am all for it.

Price is a factor for me - I dropped my plans to pick up a centax since it would entail well more than $100 to implement. . .I realize that this would be a lot less, but it's an example. . .

anyway, Yes, Ray, I am definitely interested.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 01:23 PM   #1142
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

5weeks? hmmmm ill be lookin at my carpet cars then

But yes a fixed link would be nice. I would buy a kit that came like this:
-1 degree fixed link
-1.5
-2
-2.5
-3

Only problem with fixed links is the inconsitancies of molded parts. Sometimes a hub or rear bumper peice could be off by a bit. Also if the car is built above the kit width then the links would no longer be usefull
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 01:59 PM   #1143
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: central ohio
Posts: 62
Default

Ray,Hi its Hal from CORCAR.Sounds like something I would be interested in although our season will be pretty much over by then.
blimey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 02:03 PM   #1144
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default Thanks!!!

Boomer, They are very simple, but adjustable and shouldnt hurt your wallet too much!!!

Joel Lagace: The parts are machined and not molded so no worries about that. They can be shimmed out. Maybe it might make more sense to have a 1.0 degree fixed link and be adjsutable to 2.5 degrees and a 2 degree link adjustable to 3.5 degrees. I wouldnt want to make a link that starts at 1 degree and is adjustble all the way to 3 degrees. Actually if you adjust the links to 1 degree, maybe you have already seated the stock turnbuckles into the ballcups so you wouldnt need my design till you got to 2 degrees or more???!?!?

In my testing, anything more than 2 degrees car felt slower. Anything less than 2 degrees the car felt inconsistent. So 2 degrees is my magic number. But I understand your wish to have maximum flexibility!!!

Last edited by rayhuang; 08-13-2002 at 02:12 PM.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 02:19 PM   #1145
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

I quite agree with 2 degrees.

I'm looking forward to seeing your design, Ray.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 02:24 PM   #1146
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 513
Default

Boomer: where you at? SoCal or NorCal? maybe i can hook you up with the centax....
ME-student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 02:30 PM   #1147
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

SoCal - I usually race at SoCal Raceway but hit Camarillo and Hot Rod's as often as I can and I will be getting to Revelation (since I am about 5 minutes from there) when I can get there. . .

Where are you?
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 02:30 PM   #1148
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default Hal-Me too!!!

Hal, by the time the full production version is out (a lot depends on the feedback as well if we even go to full production) I will be racing on carpet too!!! But I know that I am alot like every other driver out there - I dont crash all the time, but I DO Crash, and this is definately a real problem on the NTC3 that needs to be solved-so I think I solved it!!! If I am compressing links then I know other racers are!!! I can only imagine the guys running TUrbo motors and runnning on the street have got to be hitting walls even harder!!!

Ray

But having said what I said above-NO matter production or not-I am using them!!! And if there isnt enough interest to be able to make them in large quantity, I am sure I can do limited runs for racers-just at a higher price!!!

Last edited by rayhuang; 08-13-2002 at 02:44 PM.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 02:44 PM   #1149
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: central ohio
Posts: 62
Default

Ray,It is a real problem...I'm glad you are addressing it.Perhaps captured ball links instead of the RPMs? My thought being if the linkage isn't compressing then the energy will need to be transfered somewhere else....popped ball cup?Just a thought.

You should post your idea/request on CORCAR's site too....probably 80% of the guys racing at CORCAR are running NTC3s

Last edited by blimey; 08-13-2002 at 02:46 PM.
blimey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2002, 03:53 PM   #1150
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 513
Default

Boomer: i go to Crystak Park every saturaday.... Revelation is close to my school too...
ME-student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2002, 01:18 AM   #1151
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

ME - which school do you go to? I work at the Claremont Colleges - are you at one of them or at CalPoly?
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2002, 01:52 AM   #1152
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 513
Default

Boomer: i go to Cal Poly....
ME-student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2002, 05:20 AM   #1153
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RCinfo
i have a Novarossi CX12PS2 and im going to put it in a NTC3 and i was wondering what parts i need for it to fit?? also im going to take off the pull starter does anyone know the part number and a pic of the cap that replaces the pullstart???

thanx in advance!!!
can some one answer me even if u dont no can u plz at least say u dont no!! ive posted this twice alread and u are all just ignoring me!!
RCinfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2002, 07:54 AM   #1154
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Washington state
Posts: 962
Default Two speed adjustment

Should it take a lot of backing out the screws to get the 2 speed to shift early? I think we did 1-2 turns from box set up and still can't get it to shift.
coolrcdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2002, 09:17 AM   #1155
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

sounds as thought you went to far. Possibly so far out that your in 2nd gear all the time..

I found that i needed to degreese and scuff the shoes and bell with sand paper to get things to work consitantly. And i normally clean it after every race day.. I think i am about 1/4 to 1/2 turn out from kit settings. This will vary from driver to driver as different things will determine your shifting point 1 to 2 turns out sounds too far
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net