R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2008, 07:03 PM   #9241
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy4wdracer View Post
I know that it takes side exhaust engines but do they sell headers to be able to run rear exhaust engines too? Does it take engines with standard cranks, short cranks, or sg cranks. Does the FT version come with slide carb linkage so that I could run a slide carb engine. I know that the RTR version comes with a rotary carb engine. Could I put a .18 engine in it with a short crank, slide carb, and side exhaust? The one I am buying will need a new engine soon so I saw some engines for sale online pretty cheap and am just trying to find which one I need. Sorry for all the questions, I am new to onroad.
yes the sell headers and pipes for rear exhaust

SG crank i believe

The servo arm for the throttle can be used as either a slide or a rotary carb just have to change what ear the linkage is on.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 12:58 PM   #9242
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

i recently found a three shoe clutch flywheel in my spare parts bin and was thinking about using it. Does this use the normal ntc3 clutch shoes or another shoe that AE sells?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:11 PM   #9243
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

i recently found a three shoe clutch flywheel in my spare parts bin and was thinking about using it. Does this use the normal ntc3 clutch shoes or another shoe that AE sells?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:58 PM   #9244
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
i recently found a three shoe clutch flywheel in my spare parts bin and was thinking about using it. Does this use the normal ntc3 clutch shoes or another shoe that AE sells?
If you have three shoes, and three springs, it'll work.

Last edited by Baedarlboo; 07-05-2008 at 10:41 AM.
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 01:11 PM   #9245
Tech Master
 
BLKNOTCH's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BLKNOTCH
Default

Well this is great as I am now the new owner on the FT NTC3 and have been looking for this page for some time now, there is just so much great information in this post from over all these years since the car was new.

GREAT POST
BLKNOTCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 10:00 AM   #9246
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have been looking for this page for awhile.
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 10:18 AM   #9247
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

whats a good throttle servo to get?
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 10:40 AM   #9248
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

don't worry too much about the throttle servo. Steering servo you want a decent servo. Other then that, stock up on parts, like diff/pinion gears, arms, ect ect.
great car to start with, just a little too brittle.
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:56 PM   #9249
Tech Initiate
 
daveflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 35
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yodace View Post
whats a good throttle servo to get?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baedarlboo View Post
don't worry too much about the throttle servo. Steering servo you want a decent servo. Other then that, stock up on parts, like diff/pinion gears, arms, ect ect.
great car to start with, just a little too brittle.
I started racing my NTC3 for the first time this summer, it had an anolog metal gear steering servo that had 85 oz/in of torque in .15 sec, from what i read on this site its a little slow with the minimum torque needed for steering. the throttle/brake servo, again anolog, had just 49 oz inches of torque in .19 sec, smoked it under braking, at the end of a 170 ft straight into a hairpin! some how i dont think it had the torque necessary to apply the brakes and decelerate the car as it is capable of. since my new spektrum
DX3R transmitter has a selectable latency setting, 5.5 ms for digital and 16 ms for analog, it only made sense, FOR ME, to change to Futaba's high torque, high speed digital servos, an older (out of my T2007) s9451 (120 oz/in .10 sec) for my steering and a new s9452 (128 oz/in .11 sec) for the throttle brake. $80 for the s9452 from my LHS was just in my budget! So Yodace, in answer to you question, it all depends on what demands you are placing on the car and on your budget! HTH

Dave
daveflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 08:12 PM   #9250
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

LHS on road track bought road rails this year they seem pretty cool, we have few broken parts...
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 10:24 PM   #9251
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveflyr View Post
I started racing my NTC3 for the first time this summer, it had an anolog metal gear steering servo that had 85 oz/in of torque in .15 sec, from what i read on this site its a little slow with the minimum torque needed for steering. the throttle/brake servo, again anolog, had just 49 oz inches of torque in .19 sec, smoked it under braking, at the end of a 170 ft straight into a hairpin! some how i dont think it had the torque necessary to apply the brakes and decelerate the car as it is capable of. since my new spektrum
DX3R transmitter has a selectable latency setting, 5.5 ms for digital and 16 ms for analog, it only made sense, FOR ME, to change to Futaba's high torque, high speed digital servos, an older (out of my T2007) s9451 (120 oz/in .10 sec) for my steering and a new s9452 (128 oz/in .11 sec) for the throttle brake. $80 for the s9452 from my LHS was just in my budget! So Yodace, in answer to you question, it all depends on what demands you are placing on the car and on your budget! HTH

Dave
I've ran a stock servo for throttle and brake duty forever and never had a problem. You just have to make sure to only put enough EPA for what the car needs. You can burn any servo up by setting it up wrong.
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 10:28 PM   #9252
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yodace View Post
LHS on road track bought road rails this year they seem pretty cool, we have few broken parts...
Thats cool, i had to move on from the ntc3 due to having too many "consumable" parts...like the Diff/pinion gears, any modern motor with a decent amount of power will destroy the gears like it's butter. The pillow balls had a too small of a diameter on the threads which made them bend easy if you used steel, and snap if you used titanium. The plastic or carbon parts were way too brittle and busted with the slightest rub or hit from another car. And the most frustrating were the sloppy steering and that you are so limited on pipe selection due to the layout. Car also used a very wide chassis with short arms which meant you have to have a lot of meat on the tires and have a decent ride hight, or the outer edge of the chassis scrubbed in turns as the tire wears down. I know i'm pointing out a lot of it's bad traits, but those were big issues when I was racing them. It's a great car, but you have to remember that the TC3 was an electric car first by design, and later they changed a few things here and there so you can strap a nitro motor to it.
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 11:30 PM   #9253
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I researched the other nitro cars the price was the deciding factor. really like the mugen and the xray?
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 11:46 PM   #9254
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yodace View Post
I researched the other nitro cars the price was the deciding factor. really like the mugen and the xray?
I can't argue with price point...but after the amount of money i spent to get it race worthy, it ended up costing about what a mugen would have been. So I sold all my ntc3 stuff, and bought a used Mugen MTX4R. I've ran the hell out of the car for the past couple months....and i've broke nothing, and wore out nothing. I'm really not trying to put the NTC3 down, as i've had fun racing it, I'm just letting you know my experiences. The great thing about the NTC3 though, you could stop by ANY hobby shop, and find all the parts you need. That is one thing I miss...
Baedarlboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 11:51 AM   #9255
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

what mods did u do to make it more race worthy? Did u take the front one way out?
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net