R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2006, 07:17 PM   #8941
Tech Apprentice
 
gearhead13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtl1180ny
Is anyone still using this car? I finally blew the dust off of mine and took it out for a spin.... We really don't have any organized Nitro racing here but I like to go run the parking lots with it...
We race Sundays here, stock, 19t and nitro and our top nitro driver has a ntc3 and regularly laps the serpents. Quite funny actually my $250 ntc3 with stock ae12 keeps up with the $700 serpents with $500 engines on the straight.
gearhead13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:11 PM   #8942
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearhead13
We race Sundays here, stock, 19t and nitro and our top nitro driver has a ntc3 and regularly laps the serpents. Quite funny actually my $250 ntc3 with stock ae12 keeps up with the $700 serpents with $500 engines on the straight.
what version of your ntc3 do u have?

and is there any mods at all?
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:33 PM   #8943
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearhead13
We race Sundays here, stock, 19t and nitro and our top nitro driver has a ntc3 and regularly laps the serpents. Quite funny actually my $250 ntc3 with stock ae12 keeps up with the $700 serpents with $500 engines on the straight.
wow!!! it's all in the driver and his setup
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 08:43 PM   #8944
Tech Apprentice
 
gearhead13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony390
what version of your ntc3 do u have?

and is there any mods at all?
It started as an old stock ntc3 with ae12 and one speed.
I put in a two speed 20/26 / 48/54 drilled holes in clutch shoes, rebuilt the motor w/ very minor port smoothing. Put in ver 2 rear suspension. RPM pipe. pull start block off. has lots of torque. I might try torque pipe to see the difference.

Last edited by gearhead13; 07-06-2006 at 11:05 PM.
gearhead13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 10:05 AM   #8945
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Experience in this hobby has taught me that you will almost always have parts support for any AE car... When are we going to see the NTC4????
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 05:53 AM   #8946
Tech Regular
 
CrazyRonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I win my first nitro race this weekend with a NTC3 in front of a field of Serpent and Mugen.... So it's still a very capable car

But I need some money so I have to sell one of my NTC3 (I have 3 of them).

Look here for the Ultimate NTC3
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...38#post2498338

CrazyRonny
http://www.crazyrcracing.com
CrazyRonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 08:57 PM   #8947
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 323
Default

how is the durability of the ntc3 factory kit and will it be a good car to... "bash" with my friends. when i say bash i mean street race and parking lot type stuff and ocationally race at my lhs. and i was looking at putting the O.S. .12 TZ(P)-T3 Speed Tuned into it. is that good?

Thanks for the help in advance.

P.S. I was looking at CrazyRonny's Ntc3
cars.cars.cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 12:55 AM   #8948
Tech Apprentice
 
gearhead13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 86
Default

Has anyone run a one-way driveshaft?
I thought it would be a cheaper way of trying a one way diff and it comes with an aluminum front drive cup to boot.
Theres really only one hard braking point on the track I run.
__________________
Serpent
Xray T2
OFNA/Picco red dot
Picco 2607 pipe
Dynamite race 20%
gearhead13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 03:10 PM   #8949
Tech Apprentice
 
gearhead13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 86
Default one way?

I am thinking of trying a oneway front. When i run my front diff loose, it takes turns faster (less push) but the diff slips (screeching noise on power) if i tighten it the car pushes a lot. I dont know how the one way reacts off-power. When you are off power, how are the front wheels connected? through a diff action or totally uncoupled (both sides freewheeling?)?
__________________
Serpent
Xray T2
OFNA/Picco red dot
Picco 2607 pipe
Dynamite race 20%
gearhead13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 04:47 PM   #8950
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,211
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

With a front one way the front wheels are free wheeling when you're off power. It also makes braking tricky, since now you're only braking with the rear wheels. This will give the car a tendency to spin out.

The one way is good for high speed tracks with high traction. If you're running on a tighter track with low traction stay with the diff in the front. Don't run the diff so loose it slips, you'll ruin it.
jiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 03:07 PM   #8951
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 34
Default Starter Box

Guys,

Its probably been asked but which starter box would also work with the NTC3, the one that associated makes its for the NTC3 and might not work with other cars, truck or buggy. And in the future I will be getting a truck or a buggy or even a belt driven car that I want to use a starter box, and I really do not want to get another starter box just for that. I really prefer one that has a power panel in the front so I can plug in my glo igniter. Thanks
BeBop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 03:50 PM   #8952
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,211
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Because the engine in a Nitro TC3 sits sideways compared to a belt drive nitro car, the only box that will work right is the AE box. I tried using my Ofna 1/8 scale box but it was a PITA to get the flywheel to line up. You're better off getting the AE box and not deal with the headaches.
jiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 06:02 PM   #8953
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NC USA
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to markallen Send a message via Yahoo to markallen
Default

I have a setup question.I needto run 40 wt oil and red springs.I found out I don't have 40 wt oil.I will also use a #3 piston with the 40 wt.I do have 30 wt and 25 wt oil.Does anyone know what oil,piston and spring combo would be close to the 40 wt,red springs and #3 pistons?

Thanks,
Mark
__________________
Savage w/O.S. .30
RC10GT2 w/Orion Wasp CRF.12
NTC3 w/O.S. TZ .18
markallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 10:57 PM   #8954
Tech Adept
 
Joe Os's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Valley Crew
Posts: 206
Default

MUGEN THE WORLD CHAMP 200MM
Joe Os is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 04:25 PM   #8955
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Hi, has somebody any experience with Orion crf engine in NTC3? Season here finished and I am thinking about new engine for next year?
majk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net