R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2006, 12:44 PM   #8821
Tech Master
 
BIG DADDY8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUSTIN, TX
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BIG DADDY8
Default can't find shims for one-way????

Need some of the bigger shims that are used on the(k-factory) one-way for the NTC3(any of the one way ntc3 shims). Where can i get them, what size are they, or even a part #. Does anyone know the answer??
BIG DADDY8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 09:53 PM   #8822
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: it's only illegal if you get caught!
Posts: 562
Default

i think the ntc3 one-way shims will fit the k-factory one-way.
ae_ntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 10:05 PM   #8823
Tech Master
 
soc123_au's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Penrith Australia
Posts: 1,554
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

There is 2 sizes for the shims, the standard shims to suit the diff & the oneway(silver colour) & the odd ball shims to suit the Heavy Duty oneway (Blue). Never seen a K-Factory oneway for the NTC3, but if it doesnt take the same shims & bearing as your diff you could be in some trouble. They have a hybrid metric & imperial bearing, I cant remember the sizes but the ID is metric & the OD is imperial. I never found anywhere I could buy replacment bearings, shims or outdrives. I think I ended up with 4 or 5 oneways in the end just for the bearings.
__________________
Serpent Radio Control Models
Auswide Hobbies
JPM Racing
soc123_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 08:21 AM   #8824
Tech Master
 
BIG DADDY8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUSTIN, TX
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BIG DADDY8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soc123_au
There is 2 sizes for the shims, the standard shims to suit the diff & the oneway(silver colour) & the odd ball shims to suit the Heavy Duty oneway (Blue). Never seen a K-Factory oneway for the NTC3, but if it doesnt take the same shims & bearing as your diff you could be in some trouble. They have a hybrid metric & imperial bearing, I cant remember the sizes but the ID is metric & the OD is imperial. I never found anywhere I could buy replacment bearings, shims or outdrives. I think I ended up with 4 or 5 oneways in the end just for the bearings.
Ya, it's the odd ball shim for the heavy duty one-way. The K-factory one-way is awsome just doesn't come with shims. It's the same size as the associated heavy-duty. Do you know the part number for that shim???

here is the one-way:
http://www.kfactoryracing.com/produc...1244&pageNum=6
BIG DADDY8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:39 PM   #8825
Tech Master
 
soc123_au's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Penrith Australia
Posts: 1,554
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Sorry, I dont know the part number. I dont think you can buy any of the oneway peices seperatly (except the gear). Your best bet would be to go to a machining shop & have some made. There was a discussion on this thread maybe 6 months ago on the bearings & shims, I dont remember the outcome as I had already decided to move over to Serpent at that time.
__________________
Serpent Radio Control Models
Auswide Hobbies
JPM Racing
soc123_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 06:53 PM   #8826
Tech Fanatic
 
pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bklyn NY
Posts: 926
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Need Help with K Factory motor mount

Hello, just installed K Factory push type 30mm clutch on my ntc3 and was wondering if anyone had any feedback on it, also noticed that the stock engine mount screws do not fit the k factory mount I believe that they are 5/32 and 8/32 i just wish i could find the right head types so that i dont have to mutilate the chassis and get my OS TZ .12 ...broken in.........
pressure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:08 PM   #8827
Tech Adept
 
Kyosho3PKRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Campbelltown,Australia
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to Kyosho3PKRacer Send a message via MSN to Kyosho3PKRacer
Default

The k-factory clutch is pretty easy to use, the instructions go into detail on how everything should be so setup like it says and you should be right.

Try to find to some good lubricant to put on the thrust bearing, maybe molyboeum grease or ceramic grease something like that so it don't crap itself .

It is good clutch though i haven't had any problems except when i overtightened it.
Kyosho3PKRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:22 PM   #8828
Tech Addict
 
fathead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pressure
Hello, just installed K Factory push type 30mm clutch on my ntc3 and was wondering if anyone had any feedback on it, also noticed that the stock engine mount screws do not fit the k factory mount I believe that they are 5/32 and 8/32 i just wish i could find the right head types so that i dont have to mutilate the chassis and get my OS TZ .12 ...broken in.........
I have the KFactory mounts on my car and the stock screws worked perfectly.
__________________
Slavich Design
fathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:34 PM   #8829
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Is Associated planning on bringing a new nitro out to replace the NTC3?
__________________
Horizon Hobby/Losi
Sanwa
Savox
HobbyWing
Hyperion
SUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 07:37 PM   #8830
Tech Adept
 
Kyosho3PKRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Campbelltown,Australia
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to Kyosho3PKRacer Send a message via MSN to Kyosho3PKRacer
Default

It's in the works but don't expect it untill late this year or early 07
Kyosho3PKRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 08:33 PM   #8831
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Pressure: I set the k push clutch up loose, tight and everything and always had thrust brg troubles. I bought a sealed brass thrust brg off ebay and no more problems ! clutch works very well and no brg failures since the change over. I can't remeber the guy or companys name but they are always on there do a search. Bob
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 08:09 AM   #8832
Tech Regular
 
Jap TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East
Posts: 254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyosho3PKRacer
It's in the works but don't expect it untill late this year or early 07
Huh... cant wait any longer...
Jap TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 08:10 AM   #8833
Tech Regular
 
Old Skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyT
Its also worthwhile to take out the hinge pins and give them a polish.....this helps prevent any binding and frees up the suspension a bit.Cheers
I was cautioned that the black coating on the hinge pins is there to prevent corrosion, and polishing them is not recommended.
Old Skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 08:20 AM   #8834
Tech Regular
 
Jap TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: East
Posts: 254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Skool
I was cautioned that the black coating on the hinge pins is there to prevent corrosion, and polishing them is not recommended.
noop.. go ahead polish it... not to worry about corrosion, lube it with silicon oil..
Jap TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 12:54 PM   #8835
Tech Adept
 
UNSTABLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pressure
Hello, just installed K Factory push type 30mm clutch on my ntc3 and was wondering if anyone had any feedback on it, also noticed that the stock engine mount screws do not fit the k factory mount I believe that they are 5/32 and 8/32 i just wish i could find the right head types so that i dont have to mutilate the chassis and get my OS TZ .12 ...broken in.........
Yep my K-factory mount had the wrong screw size tapped as well. Luckily the LHS had a replacement with the correct size. A few of the K parts I have bought have needed to be "worked" to get to fit.
__________________
Some R.C. stuff.
UNSTABLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:04 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net