R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2006, 08:25 PM   #8776
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: it's only illegal if you get caught!
Posts: 562
Default

i have already put 2 o-rings under the tank and it still seems to froth up!!!
ae_ntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 09:27 PM   #8777
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Hey James
Have you tried running the pressure line at a bit longer length?....this may help ease the foaming.
Another option would also be to try the K-Factory Low CG tank.
Cheers
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 09:55 PM   #8778
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 105
Default

Hi James,
I used to implement a similar solution to AndyT, and installed a large capacity fuel filter (with the element removed) in the back pressure line. This often reduced 'foaming' and allowed the engine to run more consistently.
Hope this helps
SNACKPACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 02:47 AM   #8779
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: it's only illegal if you get caught!
Posts: 562
Default

i always thought that a longer pressure line or fuel filter in the pressure line would give you more pressure because of the volume inside the line.
ae_ntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 06:37 AM   #8780
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

no, you're correct ae_ntc3.
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 02:59 PM   #8781
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NC USA
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to markallen Send a message via Yahoo to markallen
Default

I do know that a longer pressure line lean out the midrange some..
__________________
Savage w/O.S. .30
RC10GT2 w/Orion Wasp CRF.12
NTC3 w/O.S. TZ .18
markallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 08:31 PM   #8782
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

TRY THE BMI CHASSIS and all your foamng and leaning problems will go away/
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 11:13 PM   #8783
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: it's only illegal if you get caught!
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbntc3
TRY THE BMI CHASSIS and all your foamng and leaning problems will go away/
bmiproducts do not sell the ntc3 chassis anymore which is a shame
ae_ntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 03:34 AM   #8784
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 105
Default

Hi Guys,
By installing a filter (with the element removed) you are effectively adding an expansion chamber to your back-pressure line, which will subsequently reduce the pressure of the air travelling through the fuel line. Try this analogy: if you pass air at an equal velocity through both a drinking straw (representing your back pressure line) and then a cardboard cylinder, (representing the fuel filter) the pressure of the air that exits the straw should be greater.
By reducing the pressure of the air that exits your back-pressure line, you should reduce this 'foaming' effect.
I'm not trying initiate an argument...just trying to help you out

Also, make sure that you loose mount your fuel tank.
SNACKPACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 04:38 PM   #8785
Tech Adept
 
wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 152
Default Shocks

alright this question should be easy to answer so here I go with the shocks when you fill them with oil how far do you want the shaft to push out with the oil? I am asking cause I have read some places about halfway and other sources indicate all the way out both ways have merit to me want to know how it should be done in reference to the ntc3 - thanks guys
wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 07:14 PM   #8786
Tech Addict
 
Zootcapri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Utah
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Anybody tried the Dynamite Chassis? If so, is it more or less flexible than the FT chassis?
__________________
... more fun than we should be allowed.....
Zootcapri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 03:50 AM   #8787
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: it's only illegal if you get caught!
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayne
alright this question should be easy to answer so here I go with the shocks when you fill them with oil how far do you want the shaft to push out with the oil? I am asking cause I have read some places about halfway and other sources indicate all the way out both ways have merit to me want to know how it should be done in reference to the ntc3 - thanks guys
i think it says in the book when you build your shocks it has a measurement in their of how far it should push outwards.another thing i found is that the shocks don't have enough travel.
ae_ntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 03:36 PM   #8788
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Yep thats right, it has 2 measurements in the manual and the shocks must rebound to the range within these.
Well done James on making the A final yesterday.....was an awesome weekend of racing
Cheers
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 07:54 PM   #8789
Tech Adept
 
wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 152
Default

alrightee so then the way mine is is right (they push out about the halfway all around) another thing I have noticed is that when you sit my car on the ground it rides on the springs (as it should) but when you lift the car off the ground the arms dont "drop" to the droop setting was thinking that if the shocks push all the way out it would push the arms down, but if this is not how you fix it what do you do lube the pins/balls to make it drop? I have been having handling difficulty which I believe is related to the arms binding up - these shouldnt bind up should they - and should drop to the droop setting under the arm & wheels' own weight please correct me if I am wrong thanks
wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 10:15 PM   #8790
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

One thing to check is to make sure youve built the shock to exactly the correct length......if theyre too short then you wont get your droop settings.
Its also worthwhile to take out the hinge pins and give them a polish.....this helps prevent any binding and frees up the suspension a bit.
Cheers
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net