R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2002, 05:17 PM   #826
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 513
Default

sorry, i should explain more clearly.
no doubt the RPM bumper is very strong. but when you hit something, the RPM bumper is not taking up much of the enegry of the impact, because it does flex or bent. so all of the energy when into the chassis...

ME-student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2002, 05:19 PM   #827
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 513
Default

i meant it doesn't flex or bent
ME-student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2002, 09:21 PM   #828
Tech Elite
 
Alfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,407
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Alfie
Default

For all that post I have read, my intentions on that pece of HIG bumper from a 1/8 car onboard a NTC3 is purely for drivers like me who like to take corners to tight and NOT allowing my rival pass. While doing so, sometimes, I would clip the edge of the curb on my front end of the car and "pop", goes the knuckles.

I always make sure that Failsafe is onboard every of my Nitro Cars, if otherwise, I will refrain from even starting the engine.

During my Serpent Impulse days, I never had problems driving it because it handles like a dream WHEN IT IS NEW. I was very conservative with my driving line on the track because I knew that the front end wouldn't take even the slightest punishment with the Wood barriers (5" x 5" thick). Besides, I did not want to waste money with all that mistakes. Sometimes, I got pushed to the side in the races, which I do not think that it is avoidable, in cases of new drivers.

I asked my LHS for that big piece of Serpent IMPACT 1/10 On-Road Bumper and that boss said he'd never ordered them in any more. To think he's the "regional distributor" for Serpent, I percieve it as a scam that he knew when everyone started to use that bumper, parts would break less. In fact, I noticed that the front end parts for the Impulse are always sold out.

Come on, who would be more silly enough to test "head-on" collision with the curb/wall? Failsafe is meant to block out interferences, and that piece of suggestion for the BIG Bumper on NTC3 is purely for competitive drivers who always like to take corners at the edge.

For that warranty given by RPM for its NTC3 bumper, I do not think it a good idea though it does saves you money with the replacement IF it breaks on you and "complied" to their conditions.

I personally feel that such thing would be a time-waster, if your LHS has to send it in to RPM or YOU having to send that piece of broken plastic in and WAIT...

It's amazing how some 3rd party companies can give warranty to their product, especially the FRONT END BUMPER. They can go bankrupt easily??

If you were to do that "dremelling" of the 1/8 Bumper, you will save lots of time. Also, how can a 1/8 Numper break on you with a 1/10 car packed with 1+ HP? Anyhow, it all comes down to the question I mentioned earlier; Who would be silly enough to do "head-on" crash when you have a failsafe onboard? IT will ultimately be the owner's fault NOT to check out for Interferences, and also NOT installing a Failsafe when he can spend thousands of dollars on a little speed demons like these cars.

Last edited by Alfie; 06-27-2002 at 09:25 PM.
Alfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2002, 09:28 PM   #829
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

Ooops a mistake, more droop is a lower number on the Losi and AE droop gauges-sorry.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2002, 04:08 AM   #830
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nowra
Posts: 82
Send a message via ICQ to ozzie boy Send a message via AIM to ozzie boy Send a message via Yahoo to ozzie boy
Default

i know youll all think this is a very stupid question but i was lookin at the shock tower on a ntc3 nd i wanna know if i can somehow get a lola body on it

ill hopefully be gettin it soon and wanna run a lola for the downforce
ozzie boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2002, 02:43 PM   #831
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 195
Default

You can cut holes in the body for the shock tower to extrude from the body (not a good idea) or you can chop down the tower and make the shocks more laydown, which makes them less active.
JPHRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2002, 06:56 PM   #832
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nowra
Posts: 82
Send a message via ICQ to ozzie boy Send a message via AIM to ozzie boy Send a message via Yahoo to ozzie boy
Default

thanks JPHRacer

and what starter box dose everyone use

it looks like i cant use a regular one for it coz the engine is so far back?!?!?
ozzie boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2002, 06:17 AM   #833
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I use the ofna starter box with some off the mods posted here a few pages back.
You guys posting about the stronger bumbers bending the chassis, and your right!!! If you have hit the frt very hard I have news for you the chassis is already bent!!! The stock chassis is junk! Invest in the Golden Horizon chassis fo $50 you will be really pleased!! The GH chaiss is 3mm thick it has less flex and is 21 grams lighter!
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2002, 11:12 AM   #834
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

bbntc3, any info on where I can purchase one of those chassis's?
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2002, 10:55 PM   #835
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nowra
Posts: 82
Send a message via ICQ to ozzie boy Send a message via AIM to ozzie boy Send a message via Yahoo to ozzie boy
Default

sorry i got anouther question


what engien would you recomend for a ntc3

i saw a os12tr for 290 a.u and also a mt12 turbo for 400 and a rs12s3 for 440

i cant decide on what motor to get
what one would be best one for money and also give me good accel and top end
i want to be able to keep up with a jpblack in a v1r but he has it set for mid range and not low end or top end
ozzie boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2002, 12:43 AM   #836
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 195
Default

Go with the Mugen, you will be very happy. There is nothing special about the JP except the price (worst $240 I ever spent) The mugen is just as fast, the rest is in the Pipe, Clutch and Mixture.
JPHRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2002, 05:12 AM   #837
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Heres where I got mine. http://www.neweramodels.com/cgi-bin/...i?part_id=582. $50 Try it you'll like!!!!!
I was also able to go back to the stock AE fuel tank due to the stronger chassis by GH. I think Ae cut to much meat out of the chassis in the pullstart area making the chassis prone to bend in that area.

Last edited by bbntc3; 06-30-2002 at 05:16 AM.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2002, 08:15 AM   #838
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

bbntc3, that's it! Thanks bbnt3
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2002, 12:56 PM   #839
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Hm! I wonder if AE has some new input of the fuel tank after the Nats? I heard Baker had alot of trouble in this area, anyone know for sure? Maybe next time Ae will listen to us !!! I wrote them on several occassions even spoke to Cliff one time and everybody at AE sayed, we all had other problems, theres nothing wrong with the tank! Like I stated early the stock tank seems to be working well with the new GH chassis with 2 o'rings under each bolt, sorta loose and the lid mods I looked at a RC10 GT RTR yesterday with a different style tank and lid combo, anyone know the part #? I think some other type fuel tank has been in the works for awhile now at AE! BB
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2002, 01:14 PM   #840
Tech Adept
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City Mo
Posts: 231
Send a message via AIM to Craig
Default

There is nothing wrong with the tank.Its all in how you run the fuel line.
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net