R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2005, 11:18 AM   #8236
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonntc3
I have been racing mt ntc3 with a sirio 15 for almost 2 yaers now, and was wondering if is should change out my MIP clutch to a centax???? If so what brand and why???? I have any problems with the MIP but was wondering if the centax would work better on my tiny 60-70foot straightaway track????
60-70 only..? No....forget about Centax, centax will only get you nuts. Stick with the 2 or 3 shoes or MIP. It is not the straight that prevented you to use CENTAX, is I don't think you can tell the different at all, in fact, I think it will not work better then regular clutch.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:21 AM   #8237
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

do you think the factory 2 or 3 shoe will work better that the MIP?????
jasonntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:22 AM   #8238
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonntc3
do you think the factory 2 or 3 shoe will work better that the MIP?????
The same....but I like the simple installation of MIP....you don't need to change, period.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:27 AM   #8239
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the fast responce AND advice......
jasonntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 08:07 PM   #8240
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the following kits come with ball diffs front an rear or a front one way like the FT kit?

#2034 & #2035

I believe these are the updated versions of the pullstart / non-pullstart kits with the Version 2 rear end etc

Also, Does the NTC3 fit onto the new Hudy complete setup station (aluminium) or do i need to make the holes bigger to fit the axles onto the Hudy?

I look forward to hearing from you all soon.

BB
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc

Last edited by Bundy_Bear; 07-12-2005 at 08:09 PM. Reason: Me Stupid;)
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 08:08 PM   #8241
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default NTC4?

When does the NTC4 come out?

BB
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 08:42 PM   #8242
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NV CA
Posts: 75
Default

only the Factory Team kit #2033 comes with the front one way

and you need to make the holes larger to fit an NTC3 on a huddy setup station.
NTC3Kitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 08:58 PM   #8243
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie Solara
. It is not the straight that prevented you to use CENTAX, is I don't think you can tell the different at all, in fact, I think it will not work better then regular clutch.
Agreed Rookie Solara....Barry Baker made comment in an interview that "the only real advantage he could see in using a centax clutch in the NTC3, was that it could be adjusted while still being in the car"......I think from memory he was using the Yokomo centax.
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 02:51 AM   #8244
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC3Kitty
only the Factory Team kit #2033 comes with the front one way

and you need to make the holes larger to fit an NTC3 on a huddy setup station.

Thats what i thought you might say... What happens if i do drill it an then if the NTC4 comes out with normal size axle or i changed car for what ever reason? I need to throw away the setup station an buy a new one?

I knew this hobby was expensive, but that is just shit!

BB
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 05:35 AM   #8245
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bundy_Bear
Thats what i thought you might say... What happens if i do drill it an then if the NTC4 comes out with normal size axle or i changed car for what ever reason? I need to throw away the setup station an buy a new one?

I knew this hobby was expensive, but that is just shit!

BB
I had my NTC3 on a Hudy set-up station a couple of days ago. No drilling was needed. Fitted straight on!
Rody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 06:54 AM   #8246
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

I believe the only kit to come with a front one-way is the Factory Team.
__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 09:46 AM   #8247
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bundy_Bear
Thats what i thought you might say... What happens if i do drill it an then if the NTC4 comes out with normal size axle or i changed car for what ever reason? I need to throw away the setup station an buy a new one?

I knew this hobby was expensive, but that is just shit!

BB
Buddy....it is not NORMAL or UN-NORMAL.....US made car used STANDARD thread screws and nuts, and you must use standard size tools...... and vise versa, foreign made car used METRIC thread....both are normal....or in your case, not normal.

And about your concern using the same setup station for all cars....I don't know about the NEW HUDY one, but my $50 Integy alum setup station, does work with BOTH standard and metric thread axle.......just with 2 set of lock nuts.

For your information, NTC4 are not going to use METRIC on their axle....they are owned by Thundertigher, doesn't mean they will convert to metric, that is just plain stupid....beside, the OD between the NTC3 axle compare to 710 axle are just a hair larger, even when your setup station's holes are slikely bigger, and in the future, you are using a metric axle car, the work station will still work with a larger hole size as long as you tighen it correctly.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 10:12 AM   #8248
Tech Elite
 
tommi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MATRIX
Posts: 2,898
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie Solara
Buddy....it is not NORMAL or UN-NORMAL.....US made car used STANDARD thread screws and nuts, and you must use standard size tools...... and vise versa, foreign made car used METRIC thread....both are normal....or in your case, not normal.

And about your concern using the same setup station for all cars....I don't know about the NEW HUDY one, but my $50 Integy alum setup station, does work with BOTH standard and metric thread axle.......just with 2 set of lock nuts.

For your information, NTC4 are not going to use METRIC on their axle....they are owned by Thundertigher, doesn't mean they will convert to metric, that is just plain stupid....beside, the OD between the NTC3 axle compare to 710 axle are just a hair larger, even when your setup station's holes are slikely bigger, and in the future, you are using a metric axle car, the work station will still work with a larger hole size as long as you tighen it correctly.
Solara is right. I owned a NTC3 and a Hudy setup station, the fitting onto the axles are very slightly tight, all I did was-use a file to slightly file the blocks, and whoala.
tommi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 04:04 PM   #8249
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

after servo glitches, and reciever problems

i got lent a set of crystals and guess what




the problem went away



saved me from buying a $100 servo

anyway, ive been running dual diffs in my car for the past year.. and perhaps it is time i try a one way? what does it feel like compared to diff
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 05:37 PM   #8250
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R3VoLuTiOn
anyway, ive been running dual diffs in my car for the past year.. and perhaps it is time i try a one way? what does it feel like compared to diff
You`ll gain off-power steering (better turn-in) with the one way (as both front wheels can rotate thru the corner at differing speeds).... and a bit more acceleration/grip when on-power (as drive is being applied to both front wheels equally when on-power).
You`ll lose braking to the front wheels.......and the car will want to/will spin out if you apply the brakes when in a corner..........I liken it to applying only the rear brakes on a bicycle when youre on a loose surface, the rear will want to break free and spin out.
Hope this helps.
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net