R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 06-29-2005, 11:42 AM   #8161
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)

Hi all, I have a question about cutting the clutch shoes. I am new to nitro and trying to get a handle on some of the differences from electric.

My question is, what effects will you get by cutting your shoes, what area do you cut, and in what conditions should this be done?

Thank you for any help
porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 12:14 PM   #8162
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara

Cutting the shoes is actually removing the WEIGH of the shoe, that means they are lighter, if the shoes are lighter, that means it take more power and RPM in order to get teh shoes engage....ideal for high end high HP engine, and have a very siimilar (but not as good) feeling like CENTAX clutch....

On NTC3, I personally does not like to cut the shoes, never like the high RPM engagment point cause the track is long and fast, HARDER punch on the launch does not required....

Punching on launch might be a good idea for short small track....and it is harder for your pinion and spur gears, not to mention, to your engine too....I don't think cutting NTC3 is really necessary....run stock 2 shoes or 3 shoes first before you make the call.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 12:21 PM   #8163
Tech Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie Solara
Cutting the shoes is actually removing the WEIGH of the shoe, that means they are lighter, if the shoes are lighter, that means it take more power and RPM in order to get teh shoes engage....ideal for high end high HP engine, and have a very siimilar (but not as good) feeling like CENTAX clutch....