R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2005, 08:49 PM   #7546
Tech Master
 
RCNitroDude999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Galveston Island
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

hey, does anyone know which associated pipe is better? the rpm tuned or the torque tuned? i run on a tight medium sized track, i use an o.s. 12 cv-r with turbo head which has a tons of bottom end....
RCNitroDude999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 12:38 PM   #7547
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

torque.
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 03:48 PM   #7548
Tech Adept
 
hugh janus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ga
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Boomer
That's Poncherelli from Chips. CHEESE
yes! you are correct, sir!
hugh janus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 07:11 PM   #7549
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

and you're a homo!!!
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 01:48 AM   #7550
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Default

Hey, do you guys put any grease on the diffs?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ntc3.jpg (84.7 KB, 186 views)
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 02:02 AM   #7551
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mgreen
Hey, do you guys put any grease on the diffs?
You need to put AE Stealth Lube on those diffs !!!
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 06:42 PM   #7552
Tech Apprentice
 
Nostrixoxide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Nostrixoxide
Default

Hey guys,

I was wondering if anyone knows if it is possible to mount a big block into the NTC3 chassis? I have heard stories, but have never physically seen one before. I'm aware that mod's to the mounting location on the chassis would need to be made or custom engine mounts need to be fabricated. But what other clearence issues are keeping this mod from being possible? Has anyone physically seen this done to a NTC3 & how could I get information on how to accomplish this feat? Thanks in advance to anyone who can point me in the right direction!
Nostrixoxide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 06:48 PM   #7553
Tech Elite
 
ntc3freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 3,308
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mgreen
Hey, do you guys put any grease on the diffs?





dude,clean ur car
ntc3freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 07:09 PM   #7554
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nostrixoxide
I was wondering if anyone knows if it is possible to mount a big block into the NTC3 chassis?
Have you tried getting a RB V15, NS15 S5 or a NovaMax M15 engine? It's a small block .15 engine that should fit into most 200 mm TC.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 07:11 PM   #7555
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

would a .18 fit? like the one from HPI, i think its the .18 SS side exhaust. it fits in their RS4 3
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 07:32 PM   #7556
Tech Apprentice
 
Nostrixoxide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Nostrixoxide
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Have you tried getting a RB V15, NS15 S5 or a NovaMax M15 engine? It's a small block .15 engine that should fit into most 200 mm TC.
Well right now I'm running a OS.18Tz in the car, which is plenty fast & all, but I'm trying to create a monster I'm looking to use something in the upper 3.5 to 5hp range? I know theres no point in doing this, but thats "Specifically my point for doing it, that it's pointless"
Nostrixoxide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 04:10 PM   #7557
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

If you fitted an engine with that sort of HP, you`d probably have to look into some serious mods to the drivetrain to increase its durability....especially in parts like the CVD`s, input shafts etc.
I`m also wondering how fitting a big block would affect gear mesh, and would the AE pinions/clutch/flywheel still fit, and how much modding would the chassis need to accomodate a different flywheel?
Keep us posted how the project goes.
Cheers
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 10:30 PM   #7558
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Talk to Dan Elliott (DaHellion) in the Hellion Bodies forum. He planted a .21 in the car without alot of difficulty I think. Theres pics posted in this forum. I don't know how well the drive train would hold up. I would think you would be replacing the ring and pinions quite frequently. And I would suggest running the RTR cvds. They are heavier but... They seem to last the longest of all the cvds out there.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 01:07 AM   #7559
Tech Apprentice
 
Nostrixoxide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: California
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to Nostrixoxide
Default

Thanks for the info guy's. I have thought about what it would take to accomplish this feat & the gears, mesh, chassis, clutchbell, flywheel have all been on my mind. Basically that why before I attempt this as a project I wanted to see if there was anyone who has already taken on this task and has the experience of what it takes to get the job done right.

As far as the concerns with any of the gears, ring, pinion, spur, I have access to a very talented machinist who can certainly fabricate my a set of Aluminum gears for the car if needed. If I run into any weeklink situations with the gears, I'll make sure he keeps a log of what it takes to create the gears for anyone else who intends on taking this step (Big Block). Just don't tell anyone I'll be copiny there design. I don't need any lawsuits in my life....

Nostrix
Nostrixoxide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 07:28 AM   #7560
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default NTC3SLCG radio plate prototype assembled



A photo worth a thousand word...

The prototype finally returned from factory, the workmanship sucks (#!V%&(H, need to use a different one next time) so it tooks me some time to tune the prototype. After 2hrs fighting, it finally assembled...

If tomorrow weather is good, I will have the test run for the first time...
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net