R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2004, 04:31 PM   #7006
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 67
Default

They have been playing with the shorter pipes for some time now. The one you have pictures is an AE pipe that had a section cut out and the pipe was welded back up they also have been playing with cutting the header as short as possible but still allowing it to fit into the pipe. Kyle Skidmore told me that it wakes the motor up across the entire power band. His was cut at the header and his car was screaming!! with a stock Novarossi in it.

Good Luck
FFR3582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 05:02 PM   #7007
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Daly City, CA (Next to SF)
Posts: 56
Default

Looks more like the rd logics dual chamber pipe now
R1ceboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 09:41 PM   #7008
Tech Master
 
Z00M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,173
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Some of the guys that used to run the NTC3's over here told me that cutting 20mm from the pipe really makes the engines scream in the top end.
__________________
My blog: http://mikesrc.wordpress.com
XRAY XB4
## NOSRAM ## XRAY ## KO ##
www.nbhc.com.au - www.teamxray.com
Z00M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 01:08 AM   #7009
Tech Adept
 
hugh janus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ga
Posts: 127
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bbntc3
Its twisting the cvds out from HP not from wrecks. But thanks! I'll look into them. [/QUOTE
the rtrs' are the strongest cvds available for the nitro tc3 under any type of stress...yes they eventually wear out but all things rc eventually do.
hugh janus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 02:11 AM   #7010
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bell
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to rossiRocket
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Z00M
Some of the guys that used to run the NTC3's over here told me that cutting 20mm from the pipe really makes the engines scream in the top end.
Cutting 20mm from the header? Do they also modify the main chamber or leave it stock? I am interested in doing this mod to my stock factoryteam exhaust.
rossiRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 02:33 AM   #7011
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

I cutted the header about 20mm since the first day I own the NTC3, that is not a secret, but having the AE pipe shortened by X amount of length is something I cannot do (no tools and no skill)....

But I still think the AE pipe is powerfull enough......a little slower then the TEAM DRIVER is OK for me....LOL
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 10:24 AM   #7012
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie Solara
I cutted the header about 20mm since the first day I own the NTC3, that is not a secret, but having the AE pipe shortened by X amount of length is something I cannot do (no tools and no skill)....

But I still think the AE pipe is powerfull enough......a little slower then the TEAM DRIVER is OK for me....LOL
Maybe using RDLogic pipe is an easier solution?

bbntc3, I know you using RDLogic pipe, what's different between Turbo and non-Turbo RDLogic pipe?? Can't really tell the different from outlook on RDLogic's website.
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 10:51 AM   #7013
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

If compare with RD Logic, so far, most of the ppl that used AE and RD Logic said the AE is the better one.....so this shortened version of dual chamber is probably better then RD Logic one, beside the looks of it....
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 12:06 PM   #7014
Tech Regular
 
sweetpea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 284
Default

anyone have the address for the place that sells "THE FIX" ???
sweetpea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 08:33 PM   #7015
Tech Elite
 
wild gopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In the land of church stickers
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

you can find the fix on ebay, thats where i got mine from
__________________
RCtech - Filling me with adult drama since 2003
wild gopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 10:36 PM   #7016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

The differance is exhaust pulse in the pipe chamber. The turbo pipe is for turbo plug engines and moddified engines.
I have about 8 modded engines, and race mostly only short tracks here, the turbo RD pipe is the best for my application,( it gets up on the pipe sooner). Crispier Snap! I've made pipes, bought ever pipe made for the the car.
I know alot of people have no troubles with the AE pipes but they just won't tune to my liking on short tracks. The Ae pipe is to long and has to much back pressure, to me. I'm surprised AE has'nt change before now.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 11:11 PM   #7017
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Maybe the AE stock pipe is ok for oldtime power engine, but now we have some monster power engine, it become no good anymore? similar situation with clutch?
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 04:38 PM   #7018
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I would think Baker does and has always had monster HP, and he gets the car to run ok on the pipe, and fuel tank. So I dunno!! Maybe they massage his engines to work with the pipe??? LOL
I'm kinda hoping Dennis will do his magic , and rework the rd pipe.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 09:33 PM   #7019
Tech Elite
 
ntc3freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 3,308
Default

is baker using a centax clutch?what barnd is it?is it good?
ntc3freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 11:31 PM   #7020
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bell
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to rossiRocket
Default

In the Touring Car magazine, it states that Baker is using the Yokomo Centax clutch.
rossiRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:14 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net