R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2004, 12:44 AM   #6061
Tech Addict
 
NItRO PuPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 717
Send a message via AIM to NItRO PuPS
Default

Hey guys, they repaved my street so I pulled out my NTC3, dusted it off and started to run it. I'm still subscribed to TA's mailer and found out about the FTntc3.

Now I'm wondering if anyone has upgraded their rear end to the FT version and about how much is the upgrade for the rear end also?
NItRO PuPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 06:12 AM   #6062
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default Re: 2 speed problems

Quote:
Originally posted by thefuzzclub
tried adjusting many times but it won't shift
- i rebuild it based on manual specs
- initially set the 2 speed screws (black one) to 3 1/2 turn out
- run the car and adjust the 2 speed screws 1/8 out
- continued adjusting both srews 1/8 out and run the car
- until the shoes are loose already but it won't shift at all

one thing i noticed is that there is not much pressure when you press the spring in the shoes using your fingers. should i replace this? need your inputs pls.
You may be too loose and the 2 speed is acutally in second shortly after you take off. I had this happen to me and i kept loosining it thinking it was too tight and then found out it was too loose.
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 07:17 AM   #6063
Tech Apprentice
 
nitro rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Caledonia Michigan
Posts: 66
Default

You may also want to change the spings in the clutch. I had it where they lost their springyness and would let it shift.
nitro rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 09:22 AM   #6064
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Do the dummy way.........tighten the 2nd speed really tight so it won't shift, drive your car on the straight several time (don't do it too long or you will over heat the engine) and have a feel about the speed with only 1st gear (single speed) and try to remember the feeling of that speed (should be slower then before)

Then redo the clutch per manual said, and run it again, if all the parts are still in working order, you should see the 2nd speed is kicking and feel the speed..........

My feeling is exactly like alucard13 said, your clutch was set too loose and you were on 2nd speed immedately right after you launch..........NTC3 using some 0.8 pitch gear, it is not as easy to hear and feel compare to 32 pitch typical NITRO 2 speed gear that other TC use.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 09:45 AM   #6065
Tech Regular
 
Niklas Edlund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Uppsala
Posts: 306
Default

Nitro Pups: go to page 195 in this thread - all partnumbers and retail prices are there for the Version 2 rear suspension...
Niklas Edlund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 05:45 PM   #6066
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default Re: Re: 2 speed problems

Quote:
Originally posted by alucard13
You may be too loose and the 2 speed is acutally in second shortly after you take off. I had this happen to me and i kept loosining it thinking it was too tight and then found out it was too loose.
THANKS
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 05:46 PM   #6067
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rookie Solara
Do the dummy way.........tighten the 2nd speed really tight so it won't shift, drive your car on the straight several time (don't do it too long or you will over heat the engine) and have a feel about the speed with only 1st gear (single speed) and try to remember the feeling of that speed (should be slower then before)

Then redo the clutch per manual said, and run it again, if all the parts are still in working order, you should see the 2nd speed is kicking and feel the speed..........

My feeling is exactly like alucard13 said, your clutch was set too loose and you were on 2nd speed immedately right after you launch..........NTC3 using some 0.8 pitch gear, it is not as easy to hear and feel compare to 32 pitch typical NITRO 2 speed gear that other TC use.
WILL TRY AGAIN, THANK YOU
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 09:22 PM   #6068
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,200
Default

Is the steering rack the same on the FTNTC3 as the old NTC3 ?
Chris Reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 12:19 AM   #6069
Tech Addict
 
NItRO PuPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 717
Send a message via AIM to NItRO PuPS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Niklas Edlund
Nitro Pups: go to page 195 in this thread - all partnumbers and retail prices are there for the Version 2 rear suspension...
Thanks Niklas, I think I'll pass for now untill I go back on the track if I ever do.
NItRO PuPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 02:01 AM   #6070
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So Cal (LA Area, Ventura County)
Posts: 62
Default

Anybody got any special tips for me, about to break-in my os .12 tr tomorow, well mostly just the idleing part, i dunt know if i'll get to running it or not tomorow..

what was the dude talking about exactly with his car not shifting in to second? factory settings are to screw the black screw in all the way carefully, then un screw it 3 1/2 right?
Skoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 02:50 AM   #6071
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So Cal (LA Area, Ventura County)
Posts: 62
Default

Last questoin..

I have this:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXFJT2&P=7
I need to charge it, but all i have is this:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXAVN1&P=7

Can i just buy this:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXL333&P=0

and clip the alligator clips on to the banana plugs and charge it like that with the super brain..?

Or is there a charger htat will charge the 6v nimh battery and i'm just blind?

I can't tell, will this work to charge the battery? :

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLX84&P=M

Any help is appreciated..

Last edited by Skoob; 04-15-2004 at 01:04 PM.
Skoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 10:27 AM   #6072
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Yes, charger is charger, your little brain 959 charger should do the work right......just make sure it set to charge NiMh battery at 1.0amp for 5 cells 1200 mah (if you are having the exact HPI 1200mah inline pack)....

Just clip the alligator clips onto a single Futaba J 'Female" plug and plug it to the receiver pack....you don't even need to buy the bananna plug package....just buy a Futaba J Female plug...around $5 each.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 10:38 AM   #6073
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skoob
.....what was the dude talking about exactly with his car not shifting in to second? factory settings are to screw the black screw in all the way carefully, then un screw it 3 1/2 right?
You will probably experience the same thing pretty soon...NTC3 gear is 0.8 pitch and they are not the easiest 2-speed to hear and feel the 2nd speed was kicking....

Just follow the manual said and start from there.........I myself had problem with that when I first got the NTC3 too........just need time and keep running the car and you will tell the different
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:05 PM   #6074
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: So Cal (LA Area, Ventura County)
Posts: 62
Default

Aite man thanks a bunch for the help i was starting to freak out

just to double check, this is all i need:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXH440&P=0

and clip the black to black, red to red?

thank you so much man
Skoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 02:44 PM   #6075
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skoob
Aite man thanks a bunch for the help i was starting to freak out

just to double check, this is all i need:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXH440&P=0

and clip the black to black, red to red?

thank you so much man
Yeah, that is the CHEAP WAY, but I do it for like 15 16 years already with a $200 charger....no big deal.
Just make sure they both seperate apart far enough....you know BAD THINGS can happen when both wrie touch each other, right..?
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:03 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net