R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2002, 09:21 PM   #571
Tech Fanatic
 
kitracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: hong kong
Posts: 986
Default

one more thing on the 2 speed ( which I missed myself) is to clear it after you run it for the first time ( after 5 tanks or so) because of the residue build up may cause it to slip.
kitracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2002, 07:37 PM   #572
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

Has anybody cut the tube inside their tank to increase their fuel mileage? I have a FT RC10GT along with a NTC3. And I had poor fuel mileage. I could only run about 4-5 minutes on a tank of fuel on both car and truck. I haven't seen what kind of mileage I'll have with the NTC3 but I went up from the 4-5 minute mark to a full 10 minutes on the truck. I'm hoping I get the same results with the car.
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 10:06 AM   #573
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

ChristopherKee - thanks for the advice - it's all together. . .now to modify my starter box and I will be breakin the sucker in! WooHOOOO!

Did anyone have problems with their linkages? Just looking for impressions. . .
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 12:36 PM   #574
Tech Master
 
ChristopherKee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Associated does have a starter box on the market now. #1750. Car fits perfect. You should be able to get it for under $85.
ChristopherKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 01:13 PM   #575
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Hmmmm, well, I already have the Ofna one and I'm not sure I want to spend another $85 for something that I already have and just need to modify a bit to make it work. . .

Not that I don't want to support Assoc - all my cars, but 1/8th, are Assoc. . .
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 02:23 PM   #576
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I would hope the starterbox Ae has made for the NTC3 does work perfectly! I'm like Boomer all I had to do was turn the motor around in the box and mine works fine! I don't care if the car don't sit on the box prefectly. I already had my starterbox so the $85 can be spent somewhere else. I guess if you were just starting in gas and built a NTC3 and had to buy a starterbox then the AE box would be the way to go.


Last edited by bbntc3; 05-09-2002 at 02:45 PM.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 02:52 PM   #577
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Hey Flash why would post about the fuel line deal here and on Trinity's site, Theres no since waisting space or peoples time here. This site is in need money to operate so please no double post on 2 different sites, the more you waiste space the more it cost!! I'm not a moderator, but I thnk we can be a little more considerate.

Last edited by bbntc3; 05-09-2002 at 02:58 PM.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 03:39 PM   #578
Tech Master
 
ChristopherKee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Yep, I needed a new starter box so I purchased the AE.
ChristopherKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 08:51 PM   #579
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

Hey bbntc3 the only reason I posted on both sites is that I know of quite a few people that don't come to this site. Why that is I have no idea. I think that rctech.net is a much better site than trinity. I'm not putting TTT down. But it is still way too new.
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 08:53 PM   #580
Tech Elite
 
GregH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,306
Send a message via AIM to GregH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
Hey Flash why would post about the fuel line deal here and on Trinity's site, Theres no since waisting space or peoples time here. This site is in need money to operate so please no double post on 2 different sites, the more you waiste space the more it cost!! I'm not a moderator, but I thnk we can be a little more considerate.

bbntc3, if your not a moderator then don't try to be one.

Flash Gordon has every right to post the same thing on EVERY forum he can find. He didn't break any rule on this forum. He made one post about it in the apropriate thread. How can YOU say "he's waisting space and people's time here" when he has every right TO be here and post here??? Seem's to me YOUR waisting space simply by saying he shouldn't post here!!!!

others, sorry for the off-topic post in the ntc3 thread...
GregH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2002, 09:02 PM   #581
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

Oh geez now I started it. I'm in trouble. Just kidding.

Yo GT4-R Terror it's ok. He has a right to post his opinion if he wants to. Doesn't mean that he's right or wrong. It just means that he has a right to do what he wants, within limits of course.
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 12:43 AM   #582
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Well, I just used my dremel tool (wonderful invention that thing!!! Thanks mr. dremel. . .) and modified my Ofna starter box. Only took about an hour or so - while watching CSI and The Agency - and not a whole lot of sweat.

Now to run the wires to fit, but that's no prob either. . .

So, if I can do it, anyone, really, can do it and save themselves dinero if they already have a box. . .

Flash - what do you mean about cutting the tube?
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 03:27 AM   #583
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

If you look at the tank on a NTC3 you'll see a tube sticking down under the pressure hose about 2/3's the way to the bottom. If you read previous posts on this thread you'll know that some of us have had fuel mileage problems because of that tube. I cut the darn thing out. I did it also on my RC10GT truck and doubled my mileage
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 07:43 AM   #584
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Ah! must have hit a nerve with you kids!! You need to go play on the HPI site! Also I'm not a moderator but I just sent my donation in the mail to help keep the site running, have you? So if I waisted space by saying you should'nt post the same topic on 2 different sites, at least I payed for it!
If you read back through the threads you would also see that I brought up and fixed the fuel tank trouble, months ago.

Last edited by bbntc3; 05-10-2002 at 09:12 AM.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2002, 01:44 PM   #585
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Sorry, BB, for taking up your time, but. . . I don't think I understood where this was discussed in the thread so far. . .

Flash - can you tell me how it increases mileage?
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:48 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net