R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2004, 08:31 PM   #5776
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Hi Swen, how ya been?? No have'nt run the K stuff yet, still cold weather here, another month at least before we can practice. The K stuff is sweet, ( well better than stock). I still think the version 2 would be better. Less roll center?? But... I have enough k stuff to run all season if we choose, I'm gonna wait and see what everybody else thinks of it here. The no rear toe buckles will prob. be the best bet!!!!!

Thanks for the heads up on the 2 speed!!
I'll save my money, if that's all the difference is. We never really had a problem with the version 1. BB
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 08:45 PM   #5777
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Evilpete
Default

hey all a couple things I want to say/ask,

I have my brand new TC3 sitting on my desk dying to be run!!! just have one thing that bugs me...why did AE put "ears" on the bumper??? they don't fit in the body, so I cut them off.

Also, about the 2-speed, I noticed people temd to have problems wih it, could anyone tell me what the main problems that cause them so I jnow what I should check out first, though It won't be shifting right away since I have to break in the engine first.

I was reading the thing about starterboxes and flywheel size. I have a pull start in the car now, but also have a AE starter box I plan to use with my car (when I get tired trying to start it with the pull-start). I noticed that when the starter's wheel and flywheel are aligned right, the starter wheel shouldn't hit the chassis. So if you are tearing up you starter wheel, jsut make sure the wheel is hitting the flywheel PERFECTLY!!! Though this applies to all cars it should be noted here as well.
Evilpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 09:39 PM   #5778
Tech Master
 
thamjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,193
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evilpete
hey all a couple things I want to say/ask,

I have my brand new TC3 sitting on my desk dying to be run!!! just have one thing that bugs me...why did AE put "ears" on the bumper??? they don't fit in the body, so I cut them off.

Also, about the 2-speed, I noticed people temd to have problems wih it, could anyone tell me what the main problems that cause them so I jnow what I should check out first, though It won't be shifting right away since I have to break in the engine first.

I was reading the thing about starterboxes and flywheel size. I have a pull start in the car now, but also have a AE starter box I plan to use with my car (when I get tired trying to start it with the pull-start). I noticed that when the starter's wheel and flywheel are aligned right, the starter wheel shouldn't hit the chassis. So if you are tearing up you starter wheel, jsut make sure the wheel is hitting the flywheel PERFECTLY!!! Though this applies to all cars it should be noted here as well.
Dear Evilpete,

The AE "ears" that you have mention is just to protect the front wheel, but usually the bumper will crack esily as you keep on hitting object. It is better to use RPM bumper (blue color). it save your car lot from hitting damage.

For the second gear, I don see any problem on that just follow the manual book exactly and also make sure both springs are in good condition.

The starter box, normally the good practise is don try to drag the flywheel by the starter box too long if the engine cannot start. It should be a short contact time. Try to used full charge battery all the time as it will help to start the engine start faster. The starter box wheel hitting chasis is normal.


thamjk
thamjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 11:05 PM   #5779
Tech Master
 
soc123_au's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Penrith Australia
Posts: 1,554
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know the part # for the out drive cups for the yokomo one way, I have lost one & cant find a replacement.
I got the oneway on the net & no one in AU carries parts for it.
The instructions with the original oneway are in japanese so I cant get a # off them. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Serpent Radio Control Models
Auswide Hobbies
JPM Racing
soc123_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 05:01 AM   #5780
Tech Master
 
mop_iko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA but now working in SHANGHAI
Posts: 1,797
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evilpete
I noticed that when the starter's wheel and flywheel are aligned right, the starter wheel shouldn't hit the chassis. So if you are tearing up you starter wheel, jsut make sure the wheel is hitting the flywheel PERFECTLY!!! Though this applies to all cars it should be noted here as well.
i dont think you need to tear up your SB..

JUST make sure your SB rubberwheel and the flywheel is aligned nicely. My SB have GUIDE PINS so that EVERYTIME i put my car on the SB it will align perfectly with the SB rubberwheel. no big issue.

for 2nd gear... just watch out for your clutch shoe and spring. Like thamjk told you... take a look at the spring. If the clutch shoe spring is loosening up... it will also effect the engine's idle and 'punch' when you throttle it. I dont believe it at first... but it has happened to me and i change to a new spring... my engine idle and give 'punch' nicely to the car.

in short... just keep a set of clutch spring as spare also.


mop
mop_iko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 06:08 AM   #5781
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by soc123_au
Does anyone know the part # for the out drive cups for the yokomo one way, I have lost one & cant find a replacement.
I got the oneway on the net & no one in AU carries parts for it.
The instructions with the original oneway are in japanese so I cant get a # off them. Any help would be appreciated.
Yea I have the same problem also I striped the diff gear and I dont know where to get any the Associated one doesnt work so if anyone knows the orginal part number that would be great.
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 02:11 PM   #5782
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

just take the associated diff gear and round the hole out with a dremel to make it fit the yokomo one-way, that is the way that we do it. no problems with it after the new gear went on.
dillinle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 05:20 PM   #5783
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City (Las Vegas)
Posts: 51
Default

You can get the Yokomo one-way outdrive cups here......


www.speedtechrc.com


just go under spare parts... then click on NTC3 then click on Factory Team 2 page... and they are towards the bottom of the page.......



hope this helps
FirstLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2004, 08:14 PM   #5784
Tech Master
 
soc123_au's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Penrith Australia
Posts: 1,554
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks FirstLoser, I will give them a try. I use the AE gears & use a body reamer to open up the hole.
__________________
Serpent Radio Control Models
Auswide Hobbies
JPM Racing
soc123_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 01:24 AM   #5785
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 55
Default

just broke in engine and ready to run my os.12cvr(p), had a nova in there before, but the transmission is not shifting into second gear i think at least i do not hear it. could my shift be that quite or is it just not shifting, have it out 4 full turns, taken apart and still not working right like i said not hearing it shift i could before i installed this new engine, plus it sound as if my enigine is reving to high that is why i think that it is not shifting, checked the springs made they looked good, screws were turned out the same amout, could not know what it could be, any help would be appreciated
rene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 07:36 PM   #5786
Tech Adept
 
GAMBO94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PUERTO RICO USA
Posts: 136
Default

Rene,
some times tc3s tranmission shift very quitely and you will not here it shift,to know if your tc3 is shifting or not accelerate very slowly until you reach full throtle, if you do not here it shift its not shifting....make sure everthing is installed by the book.
GAMBO94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 10:30 PM   #5787
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I've done this on my previous cars:

Hold the car off the ground, and slowly accelerate to full throttle. You should feel the car "jolt" suddenly when it shifts.

Of course, I did this with my old Type SS. The two speed uses a finger type 2 speed which is less smooth.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 10:42 PM   #5788
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 55
Default

ok let me ask this, since i had a nova in there now a os, would i might maybe have to pull foward the shifting point since the nova had alot more rpm on top end making it shift into second? this thing really has me confused
rene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 08:36 PM   #5789
Tech Adept
 
GAMBO94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PUERTO RICO USA
Posts: 136
Default

Id like to know which pipe would be better for a large track,
The RD logic dual chamber or the factory dual chamber, i have both of them and i have been using the RD logic for small to medium tracks and it works great,but i noticed that the factory pipe is longer than the RD logic pipe making me think that if its longer it will give me more RPM when i hit the strech.

I saw the Ofna pipe for the LD3 car and it looks like a happy medium between the Factory and RD logic pipes.

Any help on this topic will be well appreciated.
GAMBO94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 06:13 AM   #5790
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I've used every pipe possible on the NTC3, even went as far as making a center pipe design run down the middle and out the rear of the car.
The RD Lodgics Turbo pipe is the best pipe on the market today I think, short and long tracks. I hope in the near future RD Lodgics market they're new pipe design into the NTC3 pipes.
(Dennis Richey design).
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net