R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2004, 01:17 PM   #5761
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Oops, sorry. The car is bone stock.

Heres what I have in mind:

3 Racing Graphite Radio Tray
3 Racing Graphite Left Chassis brace(1 piece)
3 Racing Chassis
3 Racing Brake Disk
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 02:10 PM   #5762
cds
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Any thoughts as to when stores will have stock of the FT NTC3 or is there some already that have stock?
cds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 03:55 PM   #5763
Tech Master
 
J_Longbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cds
Any thoughts as to when stores will have stock of the FT NTC3 or is there some already that have stock?
My LHS is saying the end of the month.
J_Longbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 04:33 PM   #5764
Tech Master
 
J_Longbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

What up, new to the NTC3 scene. Quick question, are the diffs from the NTC3 interchangeable with the diffs from the OFNA LD3? Just curious, thanks.
J_Longbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 10:42 PM   #5765
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City (Las Vegas)
Posts: 51
Default

Bump
FirstLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 11:41 PM   #5766
sup
Tech Addict
 
sup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 734
Talking

jbrake, am not an ntc3 owner (ld3 owner instead) but i think i can answer your question. a fellow ld3 owner tried to install ball diffs (from ntc3) to the ld3 and it did fit! so i guess, the reverse is the same. bot completely sure about this coz i have not seen it yet.
sup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2004, 07:46 AM   #5767
Tech Master
 
J_Longbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sup
jbrake, am not an ntc3 owner (ld3 owner instead) but i think i can answer your question. a fellow ld3 owner tried to install ball diffs (from ntc3) to the ld3 and it did fit! so i guess, the reverse is the same. bot completely sure about this coz i have not seen it yet.
Thanks, just trying to gather some info before I drop the cash.
J_Longbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2004, 03:58 PM   #5768
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

If you want to get one of the first new FT NTC3 give Ultimate hobbies a call, they usually get the new AE stuff first. I think they are about the first shipping stop from the factory. When the first batch of NTC3's were shipped I got one from them 2 days after its release.

I thought the LD3 used oil diffs? but not for sure, so if you were to use the LD3 diffs in a NTC3 you would have to seal the diffs someway, or maybe use LD3 cases. ??

[

url]http://www.ultimatehobbies.com/[/url]
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2004, 07:04 PM   #5769
sup
Tech Addict
 
sup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 734
Default

the standard LD3 (80% built) uses grease but you can opt to change it to oil if you want. jbrake, i suggest you find someone who has an ld3 and see the diffs first (or fit one if he allows you to) before you spend some cash on it. there are 2 types of gear diffs for the LD3 by the way, 4 gear and 6 gear diffs. hope this helps!
sup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2004, 07:16 PM   #5770
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Default

Tower has the FT parts listed on the web site as available in March. The total cost is $45 to upgrade to the FT rear setup.

Tim
TimA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 08:13 AM   #5771
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default What do you get for $45 in the new rear Kit?

I couldn't find it in Tower, so what comes in the kit for $45
that will improve the car......earth magnets?
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 09:13 AM   #5772
Tech Master
 
J_Longbrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sup
the standard LD3 (80% built) uses grease but you can opt to change it to oil if you want. jbrake, i suggest you find someone who has an ld3 and see the diffs first (or fit one if he allows you to) before you spend some cash on it. there are 2 types of gear diffs for the LD3 by the way, 4 gear and 6 gear diffs. hope this helps!
Thanks guys, just trying to get a jump on things. We still have a couple months before we are racing outside around here.
J_Longbrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 03:24 PM   #5773
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I just changed all over to K-factory front and rear hubs. The K front hubs are interesting, they have 3 holes in them for steering, and the front hubs won't fit the rear, plus serpent style pivot ball cups, no more slop there !! So I'm not going to change the rear yet .
All I have heard is when and the part numbers for the version 2 suspension, what I'd really like to have is the sure shift 2 speed tranny, anybody got the part number for it??
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 05:16 PM   #5774
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

bb- I talked to the guys at AE and they said the only difference between the Sure Shift and the old style is that there is a little window in it so that you can see when the spring bottoms out. I guess some people were tightening the springs too much and messing them up. There won't be any performance difference from what I heard. This coming from someone at AE. Have you had a chance to run the new K suspension or are you in a cold climate as well? I'm not sure which setup I'm going to get yet.

Jon
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 08:22 PM   #5775
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

Hey guys, is the Yokomo oneway unit still the one to get or is the HD AE oneway working ok? How about the LD3 oneway? Anyone try any of the LD3 parts on the NTC3...like the 0.8 centax and 2 speed setup?
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:31 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net