R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-22-2003, 10:03 PM   #5581
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

http://www.bmiracing.com/
I'll ship out of the states but shipping will be alittle more, I'm selling this stuff after shipping, under cost. Thanks Bob
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 09:49 PM   #5582
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 126
Default

can anyone tell me if I can use an Impulse's centax + gears for my nTC3 - will I have some major meshing problem? Thanks.
one-nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 10:16 PM   #5583
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

bbntc3, I sent you a email.
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2003, 09:34 PM   #5584
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default 2 speed won't shift

what i know is the initial setting of the angled screw which is 3 and 1/2 turn out. now, what about the the other screw? is there a recommended initial setting for this screw? i want to ask everyone before i rebuild the assembly.
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2003, 10:04 PM   #5585
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default

If it isnt shifting try buying a new 2 speed rebuild kit I bet the shoes or the springs have gone bad.
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2003, 11:54 PM   #5586
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TexasRacer
If it isnt shifting try buying a new 2 speed rebuild kit I bet the shoes or the springs have gone bad.
Oh my....well, i will try to rebuild and hopefully its not yet worned out. thanks
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 05:19 PM   #5587
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City (Las Vegas)
Posts: 51
Default

I have a question.... if you were to buy a centax clutch (Kawahara or K-factory) is it still possible to use the stock TC3 pinion gears on the centax clutch?
FirstLoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 06:46 PM   #5588
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FirstLoser
I have a question.... if you were to buy a centax clutch (Kawahara or K-factory) is it still possible to use the stock TC3 pinion gears on the centax clutch?
i'm sure you can still use the stock pinion gears, after market parts are on standard specs
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 09:34 PM   #5589
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FirstLoser
I have a question.... if you were to buy a centax clutch (Kawahara or K-factory) is it still possible to use the stock TC3 pinion gears on the centax clutch?

yes they'll fit both... personlly, i'd get the k-factory centax clutch.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 09:38 PM   #5590
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Re: 2 speed won't shift

Quote:
Originally posted by thefuzzclub
what i know is the initial setting of the angled screw which is 3 and 1/2 turn out. now, what about the the other screw? is there a recommended initial setting for this screw? i want to ask everyone before i rebuild the assembly.

there are only 2 screws in adjusting the 2-speed, both should be adjusted the same way, with 3 1/2 turns out.

the other screws adjust the tension of the silver balls, and is not to be adjusted.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 11:08 PM   #5591
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default

I have a few friends here running a Centax and personaly I like the standard clutch show version my self. All you need to do is put 2 small holes in each clutch shoe to lighten it up to make it engage later.
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 08:37 AM   #5592
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

The K factory 3 shoe clutch also is a good hop up. It uses a hardened flywheel, so theres no filing the old flywheel when it worn down and the shoes hang, also the shoes are smaller and the springs are stronger than stock letting it rev more. I found a guy in Singapore where you can buy K- parts for less than 1/2 price in the US. Take for instance the K shocktowers are like $70 here a piece and only $32 there, the clutch setup for s/g shaft or stan. shaft is only $25.
[email protected]
Email this dude if your interested in any K parts, he has them all! Tell bbntc3 told you to email him.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 11:04 AM   #5593
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default

Sweet, I tried the grapite towers for a little while and I liked them when it came to small tracks because they were able to flex alot but I am going to try and put two graphite K factory front shock towers on it at once to stiffen it up I will tell yall how it does. I am going to order some stuff from that dude, thanks alot.
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 11:20 AM   #5594
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
I have a question.... if you were to buy a centax clutch (Kawahara or K-factory) is it still possible to use the stock TC3 pinion gears on the centax clutch?
You guys that are saying the OEM pinions fit, are you guys sure of that? I have a Kawahara Centax for my BMI NTC3 and ONLY the OEM first gear pinion fits. Second gear is a larger threaded diameter and if you look at the stock clutch, both first & second use the same threaded diameter.

The stock NTC3 First gear fits, second does not on my Centax.
NitroJohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 09:42 PM   #5595
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

The pinion gearing is only the same with the K - Factory centax. Second gear is a diff thread like you said on all other centax. That's why I use the K centax. I read here about somebody having meshing problems with like a 6 or 7 tooth split with K gears so they use another brand gear for either first or second gear, but I dunno? Stock pinion really suck other than the price though to me. It's better for me to pay more for the k pinions and get better service than cheaper, less lasting gears. Don't get me wrong, theres nothing wrong with the AE gears, the K gears are hard coated and just last 3 to 4 times longer. I have noticed some clutch shimming sometimes has to be done because the stock gearing is not quite as wide as the K gears.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net