R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2003, 11:18 PM   #5566
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by torchedlh
hmmm i seem to have a bad case of torque steer right now. whenever i gun it, my ntc3 pull left pretty hard. i've tried tightening the front diff way down but it doesnt' seem to help. something i can do with the rear diff?

number cause of torque steer... tweak, your car is improperly tweaked...

... check first if all your shocks are still ok. (no leaks)
... adjust tweak

another reason for a slight torque steer, the rear of the car dumps to much weight on the rear, i replaced my red springs (rear) to copper and raised ride height by .5mm to compensate.

... just a couple of suggestions.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2003, 12:11 AM   #5567
Tech Regular
 
torchedlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sf, cali
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to torchedlh
Default

i've reset the tweak to factory settings (4 in the front, 3 in the rear). i also set the ride height to the stock setting all the way around. not sure about my shocks leaking tho... i'll have to take a look.
torchedlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2003, 01:46 AM   #5568
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by torchedlh
i've reset the tweak to factory settings (4 in the front, 3 in the rear). i also set the ride height to the stock setting all the way around. not sure about my shocks leaking tho... i'll have to take a look.

kinda hard to explain tweak, but 4 and 3 are droop settings, not tweak, there is no factory setting for tweak.

(also, aside from my droop screws, i try to have the same shock lengths equal.)

... tweak is more of "balance" like when a portion of your car is heavier (example... rear left, where the engine is, ) tweaking you're car is the process by which you must compensate for this, so that you'll still have a level chassis. (i.e. by direct tweaking, you put more preload on the rear left shock, indirect tweaking, putting more preload to the front left shock, and remove the same amout of preload to the right front shock.)

You can check the tweak either by an MIP tweak station or just by lifting the center of the chassis and looking which tire leaves the ground first.

there are other articles you can look for to help explain tweak better.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2003, 03:10 PM   #5569
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Since you guys are on the tweak subject. I used a laser tweak board and a MIP tweak station. Other than using 4 seperate scaling system I have found this Integy tool to be of some better use than balance beams.
http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...33103198664.8f

Last edited by bbntc3; 12-16-2003 at 03:22 PM.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2003, 08:38 PM   #5570
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
Since you guys are on the tweak subject. I used a laser tweak board and a MIP tweak station. Other than using 4 seperate scaling system I have found this Integy tool to be of some better use than balance beams.

i agree, i find that the tweak station is a better alterenative to the scale system.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2003, 07:08 AM   #5571
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

If you can afford the scale system that is the most accurate. The Tweak Station is a lot easier to transport to the track though. But you do want to get all four tires to have the same amount of pressure somehow.

Jon
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 10:34 PM   #5572
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just got my new ntc3. Anyone got any tips for problems I might see during building?
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 05:11 AM   #5573
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Derby UK
Posts: 24
Default

Hi all

nice to see the ntc3 thread is still hanging in there - pun intended

I still race mine
fiasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 01:09 AM   #5574
Tech Apprentice
 
Mercury Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: At the Race Track
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ophidian
Just got my new ntc3. Anyone got any tips for problems I might see during building?
Just follow the manual exactly, and you shouldn't have problems. the kit settings work ok.
Mercury Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 01:34 AM   #5575
Tech Elite
 
spawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SydNeeeeY
Posts: 4,559
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ophidian
Just got my new ntc3. Anyone got any tips for problems I might see during building?
you might want to get the FIX for the shock towers and maybe some 4-40 1/2 to replace the 3 shock tower bolts for the front and rear. Also polish the hinge pins and pivot balls till shiny for freer movement.
spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 04:16 AM   #5576
Tech Apprentice
 
Mercury Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: At the Race Track
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ophidian
Just got my new ntc3. Anyone got any tips for problems I might see during building?

... yep, u need the FIX and an RPM front bumper, the stock one doesnt work.
Mercury Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 08:15 AM   #5577
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 493
Send a message via AIM to Bobby Flack
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by highwayman
kinda hard to explain tweak, but 4 and 3 are droop settings, not tweak, there is no factory setting for tweak.

(also, aside from my droop screws, i try to have the same shock lengths equal.)

... tweak is more of "balance" like when a portion of your car is heavier (example... rear left, where the engine is, ) tweaking you're car is the process by which you must compensate for this, so that you'll still have a level chassis. (i.e. by direct tweaking, you put more preload on the rear left shock, indirect tweaking, putting more preload to the front left shock, and remove the same amout of preload to the right front shock.)

You can check the tweak either by an MIP tweak station or just by lifting the center of the chassis and looking which tire leaves the ground first.

there are other articles you can look for to help explain tweak better.
Lifting the car up at the center and watching how far the tires lift is "Droop" not a method of setting tweak. For tweak you have to use a balance beam or scales or make darn sure all the shocks are the same length and the spring collars are all in the exact same place, of course this does not show any weight bias problems.

I had problems with the one-way until I started using the Serpent oil, not much of it though.

Ted
Bobby Flack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 09:32 PM   #5578
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spawn
you might want to get the FIX for the shock towers.
What's this FIX for the shock towers? And thanks for the other info everyone.
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 09:46 PM   #5579
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I have The fix and the Rear Jam nuts in a kit form, 1 kit does the whole car $25 shipped in the US. Email me
The fix uses the other 2 holes in the diff cases. Keeps the shocktowers tight on the car. Loose shocktowers is common with this car.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 09:58 PM   #5580
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What company makes the fix?
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net