R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2003, 08:33 PM   #5551
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default slipping diff

i have replaced the 2 speed hub, and shaft, as well as clutch bell, still slipps

thanks Jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 11:01 AM   #5552
Tech Regular
 
HYDRAMATIC99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to HYDRAMATIC99
Default

Hey guys I have some NTC3 parts new in the package for sale. I have an associated HD front one way assembly, solid front/rear axle, hard anodized chassis and a front blade roll bar kit. Email me with questions or check the for sale forum.
HYDRAMATIC99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 02:11 PM   #5553
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

You changed the 2 speed hub? not the bell hub the clutch shoes ride in correct?
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2003, 11:23 PM   #5554
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default

BBntc3:

I have changed the clutch bell, 2 speed hub, 2 speed one-way bearing housing, new 3shoe-clutch and new flywheel.

thanks Jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2003, 06:35 AM   #5555
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default slips

js camry
slippage , one of your post said that you found your diff gears melted, did you rebluid the diffs with new parts or just replace the
gears. the diff balls will wear down and not operate the way there
suppost too. try rebluiding the diff and clean off all reusable parts
there will be alot of very small metal powdered debri
isuzuguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2003, 06:52 AM   #5556
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

You don't have the diff screws on the wrong side of diff do you? I've seen this before and it will let the diff work loose, diff set too loose of diff screw maybe stripped. Did you grease the oneway brg when intalling the new hub? I use no grease there, people will argue this but I have not had a problem in this area after I quit greasing the oneway. You've covered it all sounds like if not in the diff setting. Maybe lock both diffs up tiight and see iff this works any better. Another thing to try is to sit the car on a stand get some one to control the radio and hold each set of wheels,(front then the back) and see what is slipping.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2003, 09:11 PM   #5557
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default slipping diff

hey all, thanks for all the help. I went to the LHS and bought a new diff gear,pinion gear, rebuild kit for diff and some more diff lube by associated. Oh and also a new one-way bearing hub, but I dont think it is the one-way bearing hun, so I may return the hub, if that is not the problem. Also I was wondering what grease you all use to lube the one-way bearing hub????

thanks all, I will let you all know how it goes...

Jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2003, 09:31 PM   #5558
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

You don't lube the one way bearing. If you do then you take the chance that the bearings will slip. And what good is a slipping one-way if it slips both ways?
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2003, 11:53 PM   #5559
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flash Gordan
You don't lube the one way bearing. If you do then you take the chance that the bearings will slip. And what good is a slipping one-way if it slips both ways?
The one way bearing (like any other bearing) needs to be lubed. The lube needs to be of light oil type and VERY thin. I know that Serpent makes a very good one way lube. Part number is 1680.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 11:22 AM   #5560
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Everytime I greased the oneway brg, the brg went out or slipped like talked about.
I have raced the car from day one and had 2 brg go out after greasing them. After that I never greased again and not 1 failure since. So... I dunno? No grease works for me.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 11:29 AM   #5561
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Have you changed or replaced the one way bearings before? What grease did you use? Only use lubricant is that is meant for the one way bearing.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 04:30 PM   #5562
Tech Regular
 
torchedlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sf, cali
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to torchedlh
Default

well, i just dusted off my ntc3 about and hour ago and run it for a few. i couldn't get my trims quite right. after looking more closely at the steering assembly. i see that i have a TON of play up front. about 2-3 degrees on each side. it seems to come from the servo/servo arm. the my steering servo is a hitec 625mg. would i benefit from using a metal servo arm?? o i also have steering rack bearings. how can i fix this??
torchedlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 09:22 PM   #5563
Tech Apprentice
 
Mercury Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: At the Race Track
Posts: 75
Default

Got my NTC3 up and running again... tried out losi's new 200mm alfa body, and this body sure adds steering... Also, seems to add rear traction quite a bit... i'd really reccomend this body for added on power steering!
Mercury Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 09:25 PM   #5564
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

Glad to hear that somebody is having fun with their NTC3's. I had to put mine away after the last big race of the season here got snowed out. Like they say in Philadelphia, "There's always next year."
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 03:02 PM   #5565
Tech Regular
 
torchedlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sf, cali
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to torchedlh
Default

hmmm i seem to have a bad case of torque steer right now. whenever i gun it, my ntc3 pull left pretty hard. i've tried tightening the front diff way down but it doesnt' seem to help. something i can do with the rear diff?
torchedlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net