R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2003, 08:05 AM   #5026
Tech Elite
 
spawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SydNeeeeY
Posts: 4,559
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I was a bit overzealous in dabbing the AE thread lock . I learnt my lesson on the 2 speed too that you need to feel the thing shift when the car is lifted to know whether it is really shifting. Didnt do that when I change the 1 gear ratio and was taught by Patricktoh. If you are using 21 - 54 for first gear the 2 speed adjustment screw is near to the end of the clutch.
spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 11:44 AM   #5027
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kreidel
Default Solid Front axles

How many of you guys run a solid axle up front? I am setting up a extra car and was going to install one. Can you give me some insight about the pros and cons what you have experienced. Thanks
kreidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 12:04 PM   #5028
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 236
Default

The solid front axle works great for me. Just think of it like this, it is similar to a front one way, but you have brake control. It is only devistating when you catch it on a solid hit to the wheel. There is no give in a solid axle and it will strip your gear. Stay off the boards and you would be ok. I like the solid axle, but you could tighten the front diff enough to act like a solid axle and when you hit a board with the front wheel it will not strip the diff gear. Good luck
sook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 12:29 PM   #5029
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kreidel
Default

so if i torque down on the front diff it will give me almost the same performance?
kreidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 12:40 PM   #5030
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 602
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default one ways

duz anybody know where or who makes the one way bearingsfor the standard one way . have two good one way housing and would like to install new bearing for back-up .
isuzuguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 02:32 PM   #5031
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
and neither one is as strong as "the fix"..
This may be true but it hasn't been a hinderance to me all season and it's still working with no stripped trans case. Hmmm.... I must not be hitting the boards hard enough to break anything. Oh well, it's nice to finish every race.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 02:38 PM   #5032
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 236
Default

So far your correct AreCee, "the fix" is not a necessity. I have raced almost two seasons and have found that the 1 1/2" screws work just fine without striping the case.
sook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 05:54 AM   #5033
Tech Addict
 
hooked_on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

People,

I have had a shit night so far... Trying to run in the OS Tr on my NTC3. Can't get it to fire up and now in the process of trying to get it started i believe i have burnt the engine out in my Associated Starter Box...

Not happy JAN!

Will have a closer look tomorrow after work. I am starting to think i should have stayed retired from r/c cars and bought a set of golf clubs instead
__________________
- - - - 2013 Dick Johnson Racing Team Mate Member - - - -
hooked_on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 06:38 AM   #5034
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hooked_on
People,

I have had a shit night so far... Trying to run in the OS Tr on my NTC3. Can't get it to fire up and now in the process of trying to get it started i believe i have burnt the engine out in my Associated Starter Box...

Not happy JAN!

Will have a closer look tomorrow after work. I am starting to think i should have stayed retired from r/c cars and bought a set of golf clubs instead
Golf can be just as frustrating. One time your ball goes right down the fairway and another hit it goes in the water, then you get mad and throw the golf clubs in the water
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 07:28 AM   #5035
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alucard13
Golf can be just as frustrating. One time your ball goes right down the fairway and another hit it goes in the water, then you get mad and throw the golf clubs in the water
Not really, they just sit in the garage with the covers on till you get a free game in a 4 man scramble.
sook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 10:49 AM   #5036
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Hey hooked, stuff happens. Everyone has a day liek this eventually. Some more than others. Just try and look for problems. Check for air leaks, metal shavings int he carb parts, etc.
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 12:49 PM   #5037
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

Hello guys,

I'm just got the rdlogic one piece none turbo pipe for my ntc3. Haven't installed it yet. Does anyone know if it'll fit ok with the stock tank? I've heard there's some fit issue with the tank.

Also, k-factory centax clutch - will it work with any engine? In particular I have the sirio .12 none- turbo. Will it involve any modification to install? Thanks for the info!

G

Last edited by loosenut; 08-15-2003 at 02:22 PM.
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 12:57 PM   #5038
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kreidel
Default

The engine needs to be a SG shaft.
kreidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 10:51 PM   #5039
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Im using the stock pipe setup and I recall hearing on this forum that the stock hedar is way to long and that you get better performance if you cut it shorter. I heard that you can tune for performance by running hedars of diffrent lengths. Im running a roar legal sirio how much do you reccomend that I cut off? I have a pipe cutter that will be perfect for cutting it and much easier to use than my dremal.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 03:07 AM   #5040
Tech Addict
 
hooked_on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Guys,

I finally managed to get the motor started today with some outside assistence. Had to use the car battery, 7.2v packs were just not enough. Hope to finally hit the track weather pending.

__________________
- - - - 2013 Dick Johnson Racing Team Mate Member - - - -
hooked_on is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net