R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2003, 12:56 AM   #5011
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

bling is more like stuff that makes ur car "look" good

like aluminum carry handle,shock towers, diff case, chassis support, etc...


most of the stuff i mention you won't even beable to tell that you have those stuff

and they do increase performance, so they are not for "bling" or "looks"


i personally dont tell anyone my upgrades unless they ask, and they are things you wouldnt look for(titanium turnbucles, sway bars, rpm ball cups, ball bearing steering)

you catch my drift, right?
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 06:43 AM   #5012
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The best upgrade I found for performance is ..... track time!

Lots of practice will make your car faster than any hop up you can buy (faster meaning quicker lap times not top end). IMHO
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 10:03 AM   #5013
Tech Adept
 
sbmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: central florida
Posts: 242
Default

arecee
i agree its all about track time
so to others my question remains
if you are at a track with limited funds to spend what hopups
do you deem most important in the quest for faster lap times
i believe the correct tires for the track is most important, provided you have the car set up properly, and second most
important is the fix in my opinion, its a durability issue not speed
issue although its tough to go very fast with a busted diff case
sbmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 10:17 AM   #5014
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 854
Send a message via AIM to loosenut
Default

The fix and the chasis do not come up on ebay search?? Where to buy?

I think I'm going to do all the structural upgrades and the rdlogic pipe.

Thx.

G
loosenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 10:44 AM   #5015
Tee
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: the town of Oakland CA
Posts: 79
Default Get the Fix NOW (SF Bay Area)

Loosenut, If you're really in the SF Bay Area, I suggest you call or goto Jakes Performance Hobbies in Rohnert Park/Santa Rosa to get "The Fix", they had about 20+ packages ON THE SHELF about 2 months ago. I'm going to guess there's a set or two waiting for you. Hope this helps.

Jake's Performance Hobbies
6650 Commerce Blvd. #21
Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Telephone: (707) 586-3375 Fax: (707) 586-3352
Tee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 04:17 PM   #5016
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OK, here are all the hop ups I have in my TC3:
steering bearings
blue turnbuckles (Full AE set)
RPM ball cups
AE spring set
Four 1/2" 4-40 screws instead of the Fix ($1.00 vs $26.00)
Mugen Fast or Speedmind 26mm 45 shore front tires
Mugen Fast or Speedmind 30mm 40 shore rear tires
Lexan transponder holder
Trinity front bumper

and that's it.

Oh and a Stratus body
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 01:22 AM   #5017
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

1/2 in

mine is 1 1/4 in.


BTW, mine cost 63 cents for 10 screws
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 04:57 AM   #5018
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

and neither one is as strong as "the fix"..
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 05:06 AM   #5019
Tech Master
 
me43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: honolulu,HI
Posts: 1,156
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
and neither one is as strong as "the fix"..

i could acctually make something stronger than "the fix"

but im kina lazy right now, and i have alot of HW
me43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 01:59 AM   #5020
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Johnnytc3
Default

whats the point of drilling and slicing up clutch shoes?
Johnnytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 02:36 AM   #5021
Tech Regular
 
speedydave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 377
Send a message via AIM to speedydave Send a message via Yahoo to speedydave
Default

To tune the clutch. When using the clutch springs, a lighter clutch shoe will engage later, providing a snappier throttle feel. Same thing as using a thicker clutch spring. Drilling and cutting clutch shoes are different ways of lightening them.
speedydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 10:54 AM   #5022
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 130
Default one way Bearing

Hi,

anyone bought the heavy duty one way bearing from AE? I broke one of the two bearings that came with the package. Does anyone know where I can buy a replacement bearing? Thanks in Advance.
mave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 05:42 AM   #5023
Tech Elite
 
spawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SydNeeeeY
Posts: 4,559
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

this is what happen when you put too bloody much thread lock.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cut chassis.jpg (62.0 KB, 166 views)
spawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 06:19 AM   #5024
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default

Good Lord!!! Wow, what did you use, red thread lock? I only use blue and even then i use just a little. Sorry that happened to ya.


hey guys, i've noticed alot of people on here talking about there 2 speed not shifting right. But i havent seen too many people write back about what they did to solve it. so if you have had problems with it let us know what you did to correct the problem. i read also that someone rebuilt there whole 2 speed and it still didnt work, whatever became of that, did you get it fixed?
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 08:03 AM   #5025
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 236
Default

2 SPEED PROBLEMS

Very simple, just follow the instructions that came with the kit. They make it pretty simple to follow. Solves all the 2 speed problems. Just to add, make sure you use a slight bit of thread lock to the 2nd gear to housing. Those three screws will work its way loose with a mod engine.

Alucard13, most people dont jump back onto the thread with the solution because the solution is in their instructions.
sook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net