R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2003, 09:30 PM   #4966
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Fastharry, all good Nova based engines will idle well regardless if it's turbo or non turbo.

With a good fuel and assuming no leakages from the carb or any part of the engine and assuming compression is still good, tuning should not be a problem. You just need to tune it right
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 09:33 PM   #4967
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

it muts be the RB motors then..to be honest,the Nova's,Mega;s(in my impulse) and HPI nova motors run great...I own them all..

all 3 of my rb run fast..but as far as idling while waiting for a turn marshall,and then going?...they suck..
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 10:31 PM   #4968
Tech Regular
 
Old Skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
old school...seen the R40 run?..I hear its a HOT car..
Oh, reeeeally? Hmmm... (taps fingertips together in evil Montgomery Burns style)
Old Skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 10:48 PM   #4969
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
it muts be the RB motors then..to be honest,the Nova's,Mega;s(in my impulse) and HPI nova motors run great...I own them all..

all 3 of my rb run fast..but as far as idling while waiting for a turn marshall,and then going?...they suck..
Check the RB engine for leaks. Perhaps the compression is almost done.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 12:00 AM   #4970
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

I just finished breaking in my sirio and Im very suprised by how well it idles, much better than my cv-r (although its worn out so thats understadable.) Im very Impressed by the thing so far its running 197-205F after some full throttle passes and even if its running rich its got plenty of power for me and I heard from a few other sirio owners they continue to speed up until youve run a full gallon through it. I still have to heat the thing up with a hair dryer because my starter box cant take the compression when its cold, I cant even turn it over by hand when its cold.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:26 AM   #4971
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kreidel
Default RB idle problems

The most common air leak on a RB is the bolt that tightens the carb down. One problem is people overtghten that carb nut down and actually create the air leak. The best thing to do is pull the bolt and seal it up with your favorite goop and reinstall the bolt then set the angle of your carb and snug up the nut. This will help on some of the idling problems, unfortunatly not all.
kreidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 06:41 AM   #4972
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 55
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default GH Pinions

Hey ntc3 gurus

Has anybody tried using GH pinions instead of the stock ones? What about those K Factory ones? Which is stronger and lasts longer among the two? Part numbers would be appreciated. Cheers.
madcat prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 09:50 AM   #4973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Hmm, my RB's idle fine. My sirrio might idle better but it's a toss up.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 04:33 PM   #4974
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to kreidel
Default

Hmmm, I wonder why RB is putting 2 orings on their carbs for the newer engines they have. The extra one is at the base under the bolt. Most all my RB's have not had a idle problem...my Rody is the only one that gave me a real problem and sealing it up as directed from RB themselves solved the problem.
kreidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 05:27 PM   #4975
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

BB- I got the chassis. It looks sweet. I'll give it a try and let you know what I think.

Jon
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 07:15 PM   #4976
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 32
Default

What tires are better? Ellegi FAST tires, or Nitro Shoes? Are the Nitro shoes 40, the same as the Fast 40's? In other words, if I'm using 40 shore nitro shoes and switch to 40 shore FAST tires, will I notice a difference?
SpeedyOB-4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 07:44 PM   #4977
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Cool Swen, now you know what I mean about no room for the AE tank! LOL , Hell man, I'll make and try about anything once. Enjoy! BB
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 07:35 PM   #4978
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default how to stop sevo leads from freying

Hey all I was wondedering what is the best way to stop the servo connectors leads from freying when i pull them out of my reciver? I was thinkning that if I put some epoxy on the tips of the servo connector where the wires plug into the connector, waht are you thoughts on this?? Also do you all get this problem after time??

Thanks Jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 07:55 PM   #4979
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

dont pull on the wires? lol Ushould be able to grip the actual plug
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 08:15 PM   #4980
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default

how often do you all change your shock oil?
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net