R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2003, 04:13 PM   #4846
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

Every engine is different and the tuning changes with different temp, humidity and such. Sounds like u are a little rich. try leaning it 1/8 of a turn then repinch.
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:59 PM   #4847
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default Spur and Pinion Hop-up

Is there a hop-up for the the pinion and spur gears? The ones made by AE are quite soft and easy to be ruined by tiny rocks. The quality of kyosho is better, the ones for their v1r's are more hard and durable. If anyone have tried or know of other better brands who makes for the tc3, please do inform me since I will replace again my gears.
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 10:22 AM   #4848
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default

Yes; dynamite and megatech have delrin spurs and the GH pinions are harder 7075 alloy than the 6061 used by AE.
OB42TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:22 PM   #4849
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 211
Default

Hey I was wondering who makes the best graphite radio tray for the NTC3. Also can some one give me a hookup on K&N filters?
RC311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 04:39 PM   #4850
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: california
Posts: 6
Default TC3 fuel tank

Hello guys. I can see, a lot of people has problem with fuel tanks-blowing out. What do you think, if it will be valuble to make tanks out of 0.01 brass with OEM lid on it. What will be people willing to pay-it is about 3-4 hours job+ material.
Ataman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 05:07 PM   #4851
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
thanks bud....I'll call him today and order the 3 shoes anyway.....what the heck....its not like I'm spending thousands on an HPI...

then I'll try the same progression you did...

thanks again..

I'll keep you posted on what lunsford says..
Did they fix your problem with the undersized hinge pins?
nitrosaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 05:52 PM   #4852
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitrosaurus
Did they fix your problem with the undersized hinge pins?

Nope..they admitted they are wrong..I sent them back to Horizon...They don't know if they are going to make new ones..

As far as teh pivot balls,I',m still waiting for a hand picked set..the ones that I have are also to small....the hubs have to much slop in them....I'm going to try the set they send me..

To be honest,I went with teh Associated polished hinge pin set..they are PERFECT.....and NO friction...
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 06:44 PM   #4853
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OB42TC3
Yes; dynamite and megatech have delrin spurs and the GH pinions are harder 7075 alloy than the 6061 used by AE.
Thanks, Is there a website where I can take a look? Please advise.
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 08:56 PM   #4854
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I use K-factory hardened pinions, they are higher but last and last. The k hardened and polished hinge pins are also sweet. #1214 for the set. I've only bent 1 pin since they came out, you guys would'nt want to know how many arms and shocktowers I have broken. LOL
Heres the only site I have for K&N
http://members.aol.com/rcrproducts/products.htm
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 09:13 PM   #4855
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
I use K-factory hardened pinions, they are higher but last and last. The k hardened and polished hinge pins are also sweet. #1214 for the set. I've only bent 1 pin since they came out, you guys would'nt want to know how many arms and shocktowers I have broken. LOL
Heres the only site I have for K&N
http://members.aol.com/rcrproducts/products.htm
THANKS BRO! APPRECIATE IT.
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 10:32 PM   #4856
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC311
Hey I was wondering who makes the best graphite radio tray for the NTC3. Also can some one give me a hookup on K&N filters?
The three graphite radio trays that I know of are the Associated, the K factory and the 3Racing. The 3Racing and the K Factory (I have this one on one car) mount directly to the diff cases. It's a slightly more solid design, but the down side is they mount directly to the diff cases, which means you have to take off the shock towers to get them out, which is a big pain in the butt. If you choose between the 3Racing and the K, get the 3 Racing since it has an on/off switch mount and the K Factory some how forgot this little diddy.

I also have the Associated and I like it the best. It retains the orginals ease of removal and the on off switch. I have it on my race NTC3 and its great compromise between the stock and the K/3Racing style.
HauntedMyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 08:25 AM   #4857
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 211
Default

Thanks guys, I think i'm going to get the associated radio tray.
RC311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 07:43 PM   #4858
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 138
Default

can anyone post a pic of the AE carbon fiber radio tray. Im interested in the part where the attena goes. The included attena mount looks rediculous.
nitrosaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 09:01 PM   #4859
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Upland California
Posts: 191
Default

whats up, The antena mount screws into the middle hole of the three on the tray. feed the wire through the first hole by the reciver cover.
Dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 04:51 PM   #4860
Tech Adept
 
Rookie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 179
Default

Here a pic of my car with the associated tray

Rookie01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net