R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2002, 08:13 PM   #436
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

The tank is for a Impulse Pro, it is a 75cc tank. I too could only get about 4 1/2 to 5 min a tank. We race on a real short tank with over half the track tight turns so there's really not much speed so that may be why we gain 2 mins. Like motorman said when you are off the throttle with the stock tank it blows the fuel out the pipe. Now all the fuel is used not waisted.

Dennis: one of your 48 tooth spurs is on the way, should receive tomorrow or Weds. BB
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2002, 09:26 PM   #437
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Woody
Default

I will chck the hobby shop this week for a tank, they carry full line serpent. Do you still move the pressure port or is the location OK
Woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2002, 09:44 PM   #438
Tech Master
 
Motorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,911
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

nope its right in the lid like it should be.
__________________
Just here to give the world grief.
Motorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2002, 11:37 PM   #439
Tech Master
 
INFERN0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Langley, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,913
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I may modify this stock tank for the lid pressure nipple as I did with my XXX-NT.same problem with those as with this tank is the pressure goes into the fuel and foams it then allows fuel to escape the pressure line.
__________________
Proudly driving for Kyosho America, Team Maclan and RC Pitstop
INFERN0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 05:57 AM   #440
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So the question becomes.........can you just modify the stock tank with a new pressure fitting in the cap to do the same as putting on a Serpent tank? Seems like it would be an easier solution than having to put on a whole new tank with custom mounts.
Schuie Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 01:14 PM   #441
che
Tech Regular
 
che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario
Posts: 291
Default

Motorman,

Can you post a pick of your tank lid mod?
We have seen Old Skool's mod to the side the the neck,
I just want to see where you placed it on the lid.

Also, how much clearance do you have under the lid?
(how far does the pressure nipple extend through the
lid into the throat of the tank?

With this mod, you do not run into any difficulties while
the lid is open during refueling, or after closing the lid?

Che
che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 02:46 PM   #442
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

You can get by, by just doing the lid mod, it helps alot but it still fills the carb line with tiny air bubbles and makes it hard to tune. The serpent tank mod is a perfect fix,. No fuel out the pipe when off the throttle or no air bubbles in the fuel line. The lid fix has been around for years and it seems to work ok, hell car action done the same mod to the GT tank a year or 2 ago. I don't want to take chances of burning up the RB's since they cost so much so the serpent fix was a cheap insurance, hell it takes a total of about 10 mins to retrofit, its not that big of a deal!
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 10:19 PM   #443
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Posts: 216
Send a message via AIM to MtX2ImPuLsEr
Default

I also have my other v one r spare car only ran it 3 times for trade for a NTc3 or sell
which i have are...

ALL these hopups are from k Factory.
They are Graphite upperdeck
Low Center gravity Fuel tank
Graphite brake braket
allum radio plate posts with belt tensioner
Allum vented disk brake
All Allum pullies with 32t front pulley as well
One way diff
Universals Cvd's all around (4)
Front and rear swaybars
4mm chassis with graphite rx holder
Im asking 310 shipped if you like
let me know if you are intersted. or i can go lower if you like
just let me know
thanks
MtX2ImPuLsEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 10:21 PM   #444
Tech Master
 
INFERN0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Langley, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,913
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I did it with the Losi tank and it works great.Retro'd the lid in the top of it to fit the nipple and offset the underside of the lid.
In fact I will try it now with this one.
__________________
Proudly driving for Kyosho America, Team Maclan and RC Pitstop
INFERN0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 10:51 PM   #445
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 2,897
Send a message via Yahoo to TambokGT
Default

heres a picture of the nipple relocation......hehehehe
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tc3tank.jpg (65.6 KB, 313 views)

Last edited by TambokGT; 04-02-2002 at 11:13 PM.
TambokGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 10:52 PM   #446
Tech Master
 
INFERN0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Langley, B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,913
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

yep looks just like mine except for the blue nipple I used.
I then drove a set screw into the old tube and cut it down so as to plug it off without an ugly screw popping out.
__________________
Proudly driving for Kyosho America, Team Maclan and RC Pitstop
INFERN0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2002, 04:59 AM   #447
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This may be a stupid question.......but approximately what size screw are you using to seal off the former pressure location? I'm assuming if you use one too small you'll develop an air leak and if it's too big it will crack the tank again causing an air leak. Just figured if I had an approximation as to the size used I wouldn't have to worry about that stuff

On your 90 degree fittings are you just drilling a small hole and then threading the nipple into the tank or do you have to seal it with something as well?
Schuie Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2002, 06:21 AM   #448
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

how come everyone change their fuel tank on ntc3 now ? i remember someone say that the assoicated fuel tank design is the BEST .......



i wonder where is the guy gone now ???
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2002, 08:34 AM   #449
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 2,897
Send a message via Yahoo to TambokGT
Default

I sealed the nipple with silicone sealant
TambokGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2002, 09:23 AM   #450
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

u use VDS body on your NTC3 ?
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:04 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net