R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2003, 05:26 AM   #4411
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: JB, Malaysia
Posts: 259
Default Re: Re: 2 speed

Quote:
Originally posted by highwayman
gearing and 2nd gear engagement depends on the track you're running in... maximizing the 1st gear out of a corner and shifting to 2nd as either RPM tops out or as needed on the faster corners or straight.
I still can't get used to the 'silence' of the 2-speed shifting. Infact, I'm not even sure it is shifting. My RTR engine runs extremely hot. With 36c ambient, I had it up to 140c easy (that's bad, I know). The 2-speed clutch shoes seems to have warped and has become uneven. What could be causing this? I think its stuck in 2nd gear. I've loosened the 2-speed bearings and I'm now at 3 turns on the screws.
Morpheus2be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 05:36 AM   #4412
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default Re: Re: Re: 2 speed

Quote:
Originally posted by Morpheus2be
I still can't get used to the 'silence' of the 2-speed shifting. Infact, I'm not even sure it is shifting. My RTR engine runs extremely hot. With 36c ambient, I had it up to 140c easy (that's bad, I know). The 2-speed clutch shoes seems to have warped and has become uneven. What could be causing this? I think its stuck in 2nd gear. I've loosened the 2-speed bearings and I'm now at 3 turns on the screws.
who put the 2 sp in the car?...BTW,most of the RTR engines all run around 250 to 280.....(F).....what makes a diffrence in engine wear is not temp,but amount AND quality of the oil in the fuel....
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 06:18 AM   #4413
Tech Regular
 
rcruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 375
Default

Guys, I'm stuck with the setups.

Track I'll be racing this weekend is a smooth asphalt mid size track.
+30C outside temperature with humidity almost like I'm sitting in a sauna. (+80%)
Track is wet all the time with no foam marks.
No traction at all.

I tried the crystal park setup from rc10.com.

My car is sliding like it's on a ice.
All balanced out though.

Should I go for real soft spring? or 35 tires all around would help?
Or new Hong Kong setup might work?

Any comment will be appreciated.

I'll post the result after the race.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ntc3_baker_2001_crystalpark.pdf (59.3 KB, 161 views)
rcruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 06:20 AM   #4414
Tech Regular
 
rcruv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 375
Default

This is Hong Kong setup Barry Baker used after it rained during practice.

Thing is I can't get a solid axle in time for the race.
Only either oneway or diff will do.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ntc3_barry_hongkongp_2002.pdf (56.1 KB, 175 views)
rcruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 07:06 AM   #4415
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
what size is your reciever?...I have a Futaba PCM,(which is not small,its a med size reciever),the optional Futaba on off switch(with the charging jack,and all the wiring that entails),AND the AMB transponder wiring in the box...
I have the XRS3i JR Racing radio. I'm not sure if the reciever is small or med size. i do have a little room around the edge where the reciever goes in. but my reciever battery and my tranponder cords are long. i tried to zip tie them and put them in the pack, but its a very tight fit and i dont want to squash anything and have radio problems.
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 10:53 AM   #4416
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alucard13
any of you guys with the rd logics pipe, can you send a pic so i can see how you have it set up? email or here would be fine.

[email protected]
The pipe is very similar to the dual chamber pipe from AE. Except that it is slightly shorter. So, you will need to bent the provided- metal rod. This is the critical part, give yourself enough clearance from the fuel tank and adjust the pipe such that it does not knock against the engine heat sink nor the chassis.
The pipe works great! In fact after using it, I eliminated engine problem and I have not change my OS turbo glow plug for more than 3 weeks.(of course, I am not going for races).
Do not under estimate the power of this pipe.
mave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 01:01 PM   #4417
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mave
The pipe is very similar to the dual chamber pipe from AE. Except that it is slightly shorter. So, you will need to bent the provided- metal rod. This is the critical part, give yourself enough clearance from the fuel tank and adjust the pipe such that it does not knock against the engine heat sink nor the chassis.
The pipe works great! In fact after using it, I eliminated engine problem and I have not change my OS turbo glow plug for more than 3 weeks.(of course, I am not going for races).
Do not under estimate the power of this pipe.
thanx for the tip. did you notice any temp changes in your engine after installing the pipe? did it run cooler?
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 05:09 PM   #4418
Tech Regular
 
speedydave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 377
Send a message via AIM to speedydave Send a message via Yahoo to speedydave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
what size is your reciever?...I have a Futaba PCM,(which is not small,its a med size reciever),the optional Futaba on off switch(with the charging jack,and all the wiring that entails),AND the AMB transponder wiring in the box...
Hmm...maybe if I remembered to type something...hehe.

I'm using the R113F(medium size) that came with my Futaba 3PDF that I got over 3 years ago. I can fit that, the wiring from both servos, the wiring from the battery, the wiring from my AMB PT, AND the wiring to and from the KO electronic switch into the box. It's a tight fit, but it all does fit, and I can even still get at my crystal to change frequencies.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscn1129-small.jpg (14.5 KB, 121 views)
speedydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 06:11 PM   #4419
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcruv
This is Hong Kong setup Barry Baker used after it rained during practice.

Thing is I can't get a solid axle in time for the race.
Only either oneway or diff will do.
the setup sheet shows him running a one way, and check it out, he's running the RTR driveshafts in front. Maybe those are strong enough to withstand bending when running a one way.
thomasf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 06:15 PM   #4420
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

what's up speedydave. What did you give up offroad for onroad? didn't see you last weekend at the offroad. Did you race the trophy on road instead? Hope to see you at the Duel under Diablo
thomasf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 06:51 PM   #4421
Tech Regular
 
speedydave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 377
Send a message via AIM to speedydave Send a message via Yahoo to speedydave
Default

Didn't give anything up, didn't go to either. I will be at the Duel, but probably just kickin' back and racing hack-spec, and taking lots of pictures. Did you pick up an X5 yet? I really want to race onroad, but I've been hearing that most of the races at Delta are pretty empty, and it's tough to get out to San Jose or Fremont(there is a track out there, right?) when you don't have a license.

Your comment about the front driveshafts on Barry Baker's car has me wondering, what is different between the RTR and the kit driveshafts? Are the RTR's shafts steel? Hmm...
speedydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 07:24 PM   #4422
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: JB, Malaysia
Posts: 259
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: 2 speed

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
who put the 2 sp in the car?...BTW,most of the RTR engines all run around 250 to 280.....(F).....what makes a diffrence in engine wear is not temp,but amount AND quality of the oil in the fuel....
The 2-speed came pre-installed at the LHS. I went thru the 2-speed assembly manual. I regret I didn't do it myself. I'll take it apart later today and rebuild it.

btw, I use Blue Thunder.
Morpheus2be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 07:32 PM   #4423
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: 2 speed

Quote:
Originally posted by Morpheus2be
The 2-speed came pre-installed at the LHS. I went thru the 2-speed assembly manual. I regret I didn't do it myself. I'll take it apart later today and rebuild it.

btw, I use Blue Thunder.


Make sure they adjusted the 2289 set screws the way the manual says....I would turn the adjustment screws in more then the book says..this way you know its starting in first..go to a long area and start backing them out a little at a time..it will shift..


trust me,it may shift quick and silent,but you WILL notice the rpm drop when it does...and once it's shifted a few times its easier to notice..

BTW,I don't care for BT..if you HAVE to run it,get the race formula..at least that has decent oil protection..
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2003, 08:20 PM   #4424
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by speedydave
Hmm...maybe if I remembered to type something...hehe.

I'm using the R113F(medium size) that came with my Futaba 3PDF that I got over 3 years ago. I can fit that, the wiring from both servos, the wiring from the battery, the wiring from my AMB PT, AND the wiring to and from the KO electronic switch into the box. It's a tight fit, but it all does fit, and I can even still get at my crystal to change frequencies.
WOW! that looks good. I am going to play around with mine and see what i can get done
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 01:13 AM   #4425
Tech Adept
 
dvargas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
Send a message via Yahoo to dvargas
Default

Is it true that in order to have a 2 speed tranny you have to have a 3 channel radio?

i heard that from somebody i dont remember who, but they said it wont shift into 2nd gear with out a 3 channel radio..... is this true.

i would like to know becasue my b-day is on the 22 of june, and i am going to buy a 2 speed but i dont have a 3 channel radio. soi might just have to buy the mx-3 by airtronics, which i hope i get anyway.

any help would be good.
dvargas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net