R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2003, 06:25 PM   #3856
Tech Regular
 
Old Skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by myclod
as far as pipes...stick with the associated, i really couldn't get any results worth spending extra money for a aftermarket pipe.
Sorry, got to disagree with you here, as far as rear-exhaust pipes go. The RD Logics is a sweet piece, well worth the money. Nice thing is that it's also a complete system.
Old Skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 08:05 PM   #3857
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by speedydave
Futureal, for a couple good pics of what "The Fix" does, go to page 127, 6th post down.
That actually wouldn't work for me; everybody can change the number of posts that are shown per page, so page 127 could be anywhere.

For example, I think there are 97 pages in this thread right now for me.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 08:05 PM   #3858
Tech Initiate
 
onroadmaniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: prospect park, nj
Posts: 43
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally posted by Old Skool
Sorry, got to disagree with you here, as far as rear-exhaust pipes go. The RD Logics is a sweet piece, well worth the money. Nice thing is that it's also a complete system.
old i had a problem with that pipe...my fuel line melted cause the header is to close to the line so i got a DYNAMITE looks nice and it performes good ...did this happend to u allready or u have the K-FAC. tank?
onroadmaniak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 08:30 PM   #3859
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by futureal
That actually wouldn't work for me; everybody can change the number of posts that are shown per page, so page 127 could be anywhere.

For example, I think there are 97 pages in this thread right now for me.
go to ebay and type in "the fix tc3"......if that does'nt come,go to "completed items" and do the same thing..


Email Jim reeves..he'll give you the scoop....tell him Fasthharry sent you...


btw,it works...
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 08:59 PM   #3860
Tech Elite
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

JediMaster
Was my link of any use?
I will buy the store amount, I can use a few of them, and sent you what you need
Coastal
coastaltony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 09:20 PM   #3861
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,411
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

shane, i have the fix mod on my car, i will show you.....
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2003, 11:37 PM   #3862
Tech Regular
 
Old Skool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by onroadmaniak
old i had a problem with that pipe...my fuel line melted cause the header is to close to the line so i got a DYNAMITE looks nice and it performes good ...did this happend to u allready or u have the K-FAC. tank?
Lol, funny you mention that! Yes, the plastic bit that the fuel line goes into was touching the header and began to melt...but my problems were solved when someone T-boned the car during practice and split the tank. Onwards to the LHS this week for a K Factory low-profile tank. Only thing is that I'll have to take a dremel to the chassis (GH) to clear the fuel pickup.

BTW, I also have a Dynamite header that I bought but never used. It looks awful long, wouldn't that affect your top-end power, unless you trimmed it almost back to the bend?
Old Skool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 03:24 AM   #3863
Tech Adept
 
dvargas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 164
Send a message via Yahoo to dvargas
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NTC3NUT
The AE shaft is ok, it's just a blue copy of the original version. I have been running mine since I got the car. I tried the Hardcore shaft, too big in diameter & not trued (at least mine wasn't). The TiR stuff Schumacher imports is top notch, won't go wrong there. Stay away from anything else titanium, it's all a waste of money. After trying pillow balls, hinge pins, screw kits, axles, input shafts, ect., the only thing I would recommend is the driveshaft & input shafts. Keep in mind that the input shafts will wear under the bearing races and will eventually need to be replaced. If I bought another kit I would get:

- steering & brake bearings
- ti-turnbuckles
- graphite kit (just my personal preferance, you don't have to have it)
- "The Fix"
- dual chamber pipe
- hard hinge pins
- copper clutch springs

That's it, I don't think you really need anything else, other than your normal spares. Pick any .12 3-port ROAR legal engine (NovaRossi, Mugen, Top, JP, Sirio, Picco, OS) and you'll be competitive. Make sure you use the best electronics you can afford.
Thank You NUT.
I Ordered the HC Titanium Upper deck. and the AE aluminum blue shaft. I am a beginner to nitro. The next thing i get is either the Mx-3 or the JR RX3i. Which one would you recommend? Thanks for your help i will take a lot of this into considereation when i go and buy more parts. i think i might get the front bumper made by HC. Titanium or aluminum.
dvargas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 06:31 AM   #3864
Tech Initiate
 
onroadmaniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: prospect park, nj
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Old Skool
Lol, funny you mention that! Yes, the plastic bit that the fuel line goes into was touching the header and began to melt...but my problems were solved when someone T-boned the car during practice and split the tank. Onwards to the LHS this week for a K Factory low-profile tank. Only thing is that I'll have to take a dremel to the chassis (GH) to clear the fuel pickup.

BTW, I also have a Dynamite header that I bought but never used. It looks awful long, wouldn't that affect your top-end power, unless you trimmed it almost back to the bend?
OLD ur right but since the heater comes towars the front of thr car it makes the top speed better plus that's anoe of the things a did when i had the problem with the torque-steer.
that plus wat FASTHARRY told me to do, and the pipe i have is the
two piece pipi......i'll send u a pic later.
onroadmaniak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 06:52 AM   #3865
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

hey onroad...I have a reflex for sale....radio,motor,servos,pipe..all together and runs..the motor is an HPI side exhaust Nova rossi motor....runs good......radio is a Futaba FM....all you need is aa body....
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 07:44 AM   #3866
Tech Regular
 
puma1824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to puma1824
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
hey onroad...I have a reflex for sale....radio,motor,servos,pipe..all together and runs..the motor is an HPI side exhaust Nova rossi motor....runs good......radio is a Futaba FM....all you need is aa body....
Hey fastharry,

How much for the Reflex? Send me an email if you like.

Thanks,
Puma
puma1824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 09:15 AM   #3867
Tech Fanatic
 
alucard13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 946
Default

is this what i would need to upgrade all of my turnbuckles for the ntc3? or is it missing any specific turnbuckles?
alucard13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 09:38 AM   #3868
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alucard13
is this what i would need to upgrade all of my turnbuckles for the ntc3? or is it missing any specific turnbuckles?
That is not for the NTC3, it is for the TC3. . .'ware the difference.

The NTC3 turnbuckles will contain one fairly short one (servo to rack), two slightly longer (rack to front wheels) and two THICK and LONG ones (rear toe links)

When you do get the turnbuckles, do yourself a favor and get new RPM Ballcups for the rear - make SURE to get the grey ones, they're made for the thicker, beefier buckles.
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 11:04 AM   #3869
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 418
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NTC3NUT
Keep in mind that the input shafts will wear under the bearing races and will eventually need to be replaced. If I bought another kit I would get:

- steering & brake bearings
- ti-turnbuckles
- graphite kit (just my personal preferance, you don't have to have it)
- "The Fix"
- dual chamber pipe
- hard hinge pins
- copper clutch springs

That's it, I don't think you really need anything else, other than your normal spares.
I agree with Nut on everything here but the dual chamber pipe. The original does pretty well on our short track, I would also include the RPM bumper up front. Hopefully, they will come out with a top bumper brace to replace the weak Associated one.

The only other "nice to have" but not necessary is the carbon fiber radio plate to spruce things up a bit. The NTC3 is a great car, but ugly. Ya need something on there to make it look like a racer.
HauntedMyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 11:31 AM   #3870
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Staten Island ny
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by onroadmaniak
[B]hey guys wuz up?
nut where did u guys go? edison?
Onroad,
I was at Edison. We had a blast. Shame its only once a month. I checked out the car last night. My usual camber wan't enough. My tires were coned the wrong way. I couldn't tell from my 1 qualifyer. Not enough time out there to do what needed to be done. Also believe I needed to go down a tooth with my Smeltz mod x-12 to compliment the strong top end of the engine. Another problem was as fastharry pointed out to me, my front tower came loose with the rdlogics top case. Running 2 classes I totally forgot to fix it(the screw striped out). Alot going on and I was real nervous. I could have gone to a larger screw. It was a learning expirance. If anyone is planning to go next month, you shouldn't be disappointed.
CHUCKMANDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:55 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net