R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2003, 10:42 PM   #2716
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default upgrade ofna pink starter box

hey all I have a ofna pink starter box. I want to upgrade the motor. Is there anything that you all reccomend??

Thanks Jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2003, 01:44 AM   #2717
Tech Master
 
BOLISARIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Corona
Posts: 1,762
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BOLISARIO
Default JWF_Frani(your posted pic) or anyone....

Is that a lock nut on the shock tower screw? What size? I want to switch to the alumin lock nut because the stock plastic piece can easily be worn out and stripped. After installation of the shock,bushing, nut,etc., there is not enough thread left for the alumin lock nut to "lock". I think the stock screw is 4-40x3/4. I bought some 4-40x1" button head screws. But there's alot of thread left, I'm thinking about dremeling off the excess threads on the screw.
BOLISARIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2003, 04:02 AM   #2718
Tech Regular
 
WVRACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SCOTT DEPOT WV
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to WVRACER
Cool header seal

well guys i put some tape on a new gs seal and didi the double spring and guess what? dry as a bone thanks a million


wvracer
WVRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2003, 05:11 AM   #2719
Tech Fanatic
 
NTC3NUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 988
Default

BOLISARIO,
You may have to purchase longer 4/40 screws. As for aluminum locknuts, take your pick. Everyone makes them in 4/40. I have used AE, Trinity, and GS to name a few. If you don't want to change your screws, and you don't have enough room for a strandard 4/40 locknut, try a mini 4/40 locknut. You can also get those from AE & Trinity.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg teamcar 008.jpg (61.2 KB, 210 views)
NTC3NUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2003, 07:30 PM   #2720
Tech Apprentice
 
Tweeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buena, NJ
Posts: 59
Default

i guess it did work then VW good. i hate to see a clean car get dirty from exhaust crud.
Tweeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2003, 07:52 PM   #2721
Tech Master
 
theRED5's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: near Athens,GA
Posts: 1,022
Default racecar850

I found that if you set you car up with the tool, the car is too wide. I screw the bottom pivot balls in as far as they'll go, the adjust the top pivot ball to get the camber I want, then when I put my 30mm tires on the car still passes tech.
__________________
I [I]AM [/I]the Driver !

Murnan Modified Motors

Mugen MRx4

Rocket Science Fuels

Auto Racing, Mountain climbing, and Bull fighting are the only true sports, all the rest are just games.
theRED5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2003, 09:01 PM   #2722
Tech Regular
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shellharbour NSW Australia
Posts: 348
Default

it doesnt matter how wide they are, its just how much they are offest
Brett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2003, 03:07 PM   #2723
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to simonfdr
Default

Whats the stock weight of a NTC3?
simonfdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2003, 08:20 PM   #2724
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to simonfdr
Default

My little setup
Attached Images
File Type: jpg table.jpg (165.2 KB, 183 views)
simonfdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2003, 08:58 PM   #2725
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default Re: racecar850

Quote:
Originally posted by theRED5
I found that if you set you car up with the tool, the car is too wide. I screw the bottom pivot balls in as far as they'll go, the adjust the top pivot ball to get the camber I want, then when I put my 30mm tires on the car still passes tech.
I think that depends on how much toe you have on the tires and how tight the 200 mm gauge is; ie they should allow for 3 degrees of toe which is several mms over. The 200 should be to the axle centerline. Using that method and mugen fast tires (30R 26 F) it comes up a little under 200 measuring to axle centerlines. Really just depends on whoever made the tech box.
OB42TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 06:08 AM   #2726
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

And you're supposed to use the bottom width setting tool without the top even connected so that it won't effect the settings.

Jon
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 11:45 AM   #2727
Tech Addict
 
racecar850's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 562
Send a message via MSN to racecar850 Send a message via Yahoo to racecar850 Send a message via Skype™ to racecar850
TRACK WIDTH ?????

Quote:
Originally posted by theRED5
I found that if you set you car up with the tool, the car is too wide. I screw the bottom pivot balls in as far as they'll go, the adjust the top pivot ball to get the camber I want, then when I put my 30mm tires on the car still passes tech.
i set mine up as per manual, 5mm (.200") track width gauge etc etc. I am using Fast Tires 30mm rears, and the car still comes in right at 200mm wide



.200" = 5.08mm
__________________
Mugen MTX-4 :tire:
T-MAXX 3.3 :deathstar
MacBook...got fed up with pc :confused:

DRIVING...An inconvenient way of getting from A to B
racecar850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 11:50 AM   #2728
Tech Addict
 
racecar850's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 562
Send a message via MSN to racecar850 Send a message via Yahoo to racecar850 Send a message via Skype™ to racecar850
BEARING CARRIERS

are you guys making sure that the carriers are on the correct side, carriers are set up for a left & right fitting

not trying to make any body look silly, but when i built my kit i put right carrier on left side etc etc....all sorts of mix up
__________________
Mugen MTX-4 :tire:
T-MAXX 3.3 :deathstar
MacBook...got fed up with pc :confused:

DRIVING...An inconvenient way of getting from A to B
racecar850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 10:48 PM   #2729
Tech Regular
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shellharbour NSW Australia
Posts: 348
Default

i will say it again it doesnt matter how wide the rims are, its the offset of the rims thats will put u over
Brett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 09:24 AM   #2730
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Sway Bar vs Front Blade

What difference is there between running the front sway bar and the front blade bar? I see that usually everyone has the front blade on their car, just curious as to what the benefits of this are over the sway bar.


Thanks
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net