R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2002, 05:24 PM   #226
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: central ohio
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Schuie Driver
fastharry - Got my issue last night and all I could do was drool When I read the line about 60mph into a sweeper I was immediately hooked. Guess I'll have one in my pit for this summers nitro sedan series.
If you are running with us at CORCAR I know of at least 6 NTC3s that are already running.Shoot we may have to have a "spec" class
blimey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2002, 05:50 PM   #227
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

blimey - You race at CORCAR in Columbus, OH? Who are you? I'm going to try and run a nitro TC3 as well this year.
Schuie Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2002, 06:05 PM   #228
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: central ohio
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Schuie Driver
blimey - You race at CORCAR in Columbus, OH? Who are you? I'm going to try and run a nitro TC3 as well this year.
Yep...I'm Hal J..my son Jordan and I have run with CORCAR for a few years now.
blimey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2002, 08:38 PM   #229
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I thought somewhere on the Ae site I read top speed was over 70 mph for the NTC3. Any how 60 or 70 is plenty fast!!!!!!!!
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2002, 09:15 PM   #230
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

I have heard a number of claims of very high top speeds with the associated cars. Now basically speed is related to gearing and the maximum rpm the engine can turn. Why is the NTC3 pulling such high speeds? Is it geared up to allow for this? Does anybody have experience with their NTC3 outperforming other cars in the top speed stakes? Also from your experiences how is the car handling compared to others?
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 03:57 PM   #231
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

The NTC3 diffs are 2.5 to 1 final drive and the shaft does'nt effect the final like belt and pulley ratios effects belt cars, thus you can get better or closer to perfect gearing for every track! Thats got alot to do with the top speeds, seems like most belt cars either have alittle to much gear or not quite enough. Still not racing but practicing some still with mugens and serpent and they are not running away from the NTC3 , most of the times they are playing catch up to the NTC3. All you guys need to quit worring wether the NTC3 will perform with these pro cars and buy the NTC3 learn it and you will be very happy with the performance! It is just as good if not better than the others in the right hands!! Most people who have been use to driving belt cars will not be able to buy a NTC3 kit throw it together and out run serpents all day with it, but with some new driving styles and learn what a shaftdrive car needs and wants, you can be a threat on any type of track.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 05:10 PM   #232
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tracy, Ca
Posts: 12
Default

The setup I was running on my MTX-2 was what our local fast guy was running, and he came across it after almost a year of running the car. My NTC3 is better with the box stock setup than my Mugen ever was, and it accelerates harder, and brakes better.
Kevin P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 06:32 PM   #233
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Most fast guys here with the Mugens are now getting the NTC3. So its got to be pretty good.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 07:02 PM   #234
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 6,027
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
Most fast guys here with the Mugens are now getting the NTC3. So its got to be pretty good.
If everyone gets NTC3's, we won't have as much fun!
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 08:03 PM   #235
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I can see setup info at tracks with the NTC3 will be pretty quiet! Hell I think I'll paint the springs a different color! I have a real good foam setup and mum's the word!
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 08:38 PM   #236
Regional Moderator
 
kansasracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

OK, to those who have graphite radio trays:

You HAVE to use a 5 cell stick for your receiver battery, don't you. I have a 5 cell hump and it doesn't fit without cutting those cross braces. Should I do it? (cut them) or am I weakening the radio plate if I do?
kansasracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 08:49 PM   #237
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default

Yeah it does kind of suck that everyone will have this car before the first race, would've been nice to have the better car for a while. I don't think you'll have to paint the springs, there are plenty of other variables for setups. It's the total package that wins.
OB42TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2002, 07:08 AM   #238
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Cutting the graphite radio tray shouldn't weaken it, but it will raise your center of gravity slightly (very slightly). Also, not sure or not, but using hump pack may not weight the car correctly (it's designed for a flat pack. I don't know if this is something to worry about...
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2002, 09:10 PM   #239
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 6,027
Default

hey there is one thing missing on the NTC3....a belt tensioner
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2002, 09:18 PM   #240
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

heh heh, well, if you REALLY feel you need to, you COULD install a shaft-tensioner....just run a small ball bearing off the side of the shaft...heh heh
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net