R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2002, 05:01 AM   #196
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Kansas racer,the swing rack bearings take a noticeable amount of play out of the steering asembly.....Mine has em',my freinds does not,and you can see the difference....As far as running,the weather in NJ is great,so no racing has been done......but you will see a static difference....I also put in the brake bearings while I was at it.....Don't make the mistake of using std bearings on the steering,the bearings are a tad thinner than std.....get the associated kit(s)............I also used RPM cups up front.......On the steering I used a RPM cup on the servo end and a Robinson on the saver side....That one(robinson) is a little thinner,but has a set screw so you can take up play(they work great)...BTW,if you get them,get the ones marked for HPI,they're short shank..........the reason i didn't use Robinson all around is I used the rpm yellow cups on the steering,along with yellow fuel line,ties,GS yellow RE gasket,and a yellow muffler joint.....what can I say,I like to make em' pretty(I'm such a fag sometimes)..........Also,get the Trinity low profile(thinner) CVD wheel nuts for associated CVD's...they're a much better fit,and they really lock down on the CVD's(more nylon on the axle)......
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 07:24 PM   #197
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Craig
KansasRacer: All I have done is the turnbuckles.I did get the solid Diff and lightweight clutch housing
Associated has launch these optional parts already ??? I hope they will have a better clutch (3 shoe, harder clutch spring) or even a centrax-type clutch !
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 09:31 PM   #198
Regional Moderator
 
kansasracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

FastHarry:

Thanks, I didn't know there was an associated kit for the braking section.

I ordered the bearings today, should have them next week...anyone using the graphite radio tray yet?
kansasracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 09:39 PM   #199
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Got it,haven't installed it......Like that it has a better mount for antenae,but no place for on off switch......also,it doesn't use posts to attach to chassis......i calleed associated,they told me real racers dont use the switches,and the tray is thick enough not to need post's.........I kindfly explained to them that if they were only going to market the car to racers,they'ed sell 50 of them.......What they're DOING is trying to sell a RACE CAR to the average guy...........Make sense to you???...Anyway,I'll install the tray tommorrow and post back.........I just bought my second Millenium pro,I've been busy putting Deans on everything........
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 10:16 PM   #200
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

i found a major problem about the fuel tank ! the pressure intake hole should be opened on the fuel tank cover instead ! now it make the fuel tank work like a washing machine when the engine is on !
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2002, 10:25 PM   #201
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ernestf
i found a major problem about the fuel tank ! the pressure intake hole should be opened on the fuel tank cover instead ! now it make the fuel tank work like a washing machine when the engine is on !
Thats good!!! It keeps your fuel CLEAN!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 12:41 AM   #202
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ernestf
i found a major problem about the fuel tank ! the pressure intake hole should be opened on the fuel tank cover instead ! now it make the fuel tank work like a washing machine when the engine is on !
no, it looks like a dish washer !
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 05:49 AM   #203
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: central ohio
Posts: 62
Default

Finally got some nice weather so my son and I decided to break in our motors(OS TR) Wow does this car coast.....I can't believe how free wheeling this car is. We never really got a chance to drive it other than up and down the street but so far I am impresssed.
blimey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 07:32 PM   #204
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 6,027
Default

A question for those using the non pullstart versions of the NTC3...

What make and model starter box are u using??? I need a suitable starter box ASAP.

Thanks.
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 08:00 PM   #205
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I made my box out of a hobbyco airplane starter motor, but looks don't bother me, my friend uses a 10258 ofna on his ntc3 it seems to work real good.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 08:31 PM   #206
Tech Champion
 
black-knight's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Out to lunch
Posts: 6,027
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
I made my box out of a hobbyco airplane starter motor, but looks don't bother me, my friend uses a 10258 ofna on his ntc3 it seems to work real good.
Thanks
__________________
Black-Knight - None shall pass!
www.nbhc.com.au - www.facebook.com/smaracing
black-knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 09:35 PM   #207
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

just to let you know,I have the graphite(woven,not the 8$ carbon one) radio tray installed....It's pretty sweet.......It allows you to use the GT ant mount or an opt one liek the GS metal......No place to puyt an on-off switch,but I kind of like it,it looks real clean......I'm usinga 1100 trinity nimh,so if I l,eave it on alittle longer,who cares?I have PCM failsafe anyway..........And the car feels just as twist resistant w/o the post...the tray is around 3mm thick,not like the HPI junk...........
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 09:35 PM   #208
Tech Addict
 
wolfeman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Big Dance, USA
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to wolfeman09 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfeman09
Default Starter Box...

I hear AE is coming out with one soon, TP?
wolfeman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2002, 11:30 PM   #209
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North America
Posts: 8
Default

I haven't gotten the NTC3 yet, but I am working on it! Tony, maybe you could help me with getting it all setup for Revelation when I do get one.
4cellovalrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2002, 07:39 AM   #210
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have pix of my car that I will post tomorrow....Graphite Radio tray, blue alum. shaft, new blade-type swaybar....it's cool!

Let me see...

Kansas Racer: Yes, I run the Mugen motor. Thing is REALLY fast...whew

4cell: I think I am going to a race this weekend in Lake Perris with it. Should be able to put down some good laps. Next week I'm in Dallas again for training with my job, and should be home Sunday. So, the following weekend it's game on!!! All done with the traveling (for my job, anyway) and it's time to get back to racing!!!
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net