R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2003, 09:38 AM   #2011
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27
Default Thunder Tiger engine?

My brother has a thunder tiger TS4N but there are no parts in the netherlands, so now he wants to have a NTC3 but he want to use his own thunder tiger engine whit pull start. Is this possible.

Thanks
rimaracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 09:47 AM   #2012
Tech Regular
 
2Fast4U2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 460
Default

Deanspoors- i have run the 200 lola. You have to cut out alot.
I cut out around the tops of the front shock towers. if you don't, the body looks funny on car. Sits way to high. Heck it takes longer to cut it out then it does to paint it. But works good, more air and more downforce.
Look Very cool to.

Winter sucks - no gas racing. = no fun.
Electric is ok, but still can't compare.
2Fast4U2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 02:25 PM   #2013
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,107
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

I know this is not a advertizing forum, but just want to see if anyone want to get brand new NTC3 kits for cheap......I have 10 and you can get them for very low price....

See link below.....

http://www.radiocontrolzone.com/for...threadid=109822

Thanks
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 04:48 PM   #2014
Tech Master
 
theRED5's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: near Athens,GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

There are shops around, but you should try and check with them about Assoc. availability. The TC's are new to this race and they mainly race the "real" cars like Serpent and Mugen. (not my words)

I drive 235mm outlaw, too, and break it alot more than the NTC3...as a matter of fact, I've been driving my NTC3 since the start of last summer, race EVERY weekend, and have only broken 1 suspension arm...and it's not like I never hit anything...THE DIFF CASES ARE THE ONLY WEAK PART TO THIS CAR. Once you put "the Fix" or something like it, it's just as strong and just as fast.

Take last weekend, my STS powered NTC3 qualified 3rd behind 2 MTX3's, with new fronts I fell behind a little but by the time the tires came in, I was running right with the MTX3's....they ain't so bad!
__________________
I [I]AM [/I]the Driver !

Murnan Modified Motors

Mugen MRx4

Rocket Science Fuels

Auto Racing, Mountain climbing, and Bull fighting are the only true sports, all the rest are just games.
theRED5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 07:35 PM   #2015
Tech Regular
 
torchedlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sf, cali
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to torchedlh
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 2Fast4U2
Deanspoors- i have run the 200 lola. You have to cut out alot.
I cut out around the tops of the front shock towers. if you don't, the body looks funny on car. Sits way to high. Heck it takes longer to cut it out then it does to paint it. But works good, more air and more downforce.
Look Very cool to.

Winter sucks - no gas racing. = no fun.
Electric is ok, but still can't compare.
I learned a trick from fastharry to get around cutting holes for the shock towers. all you do is mountn the body with the body resting on the front shock towers. now, you get a mini torch lighter (ones that use butane fuel, the blue flame, ususually used for carmelizing desserts or something), and from an inch or so away, gently warm up the lexan and firmly press down around the shock towers. Do this enough until the body rests on the post collars.

BTW, you're going to want to do this BEFORE painting.
torchedlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 09:50 PM   #2016
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

torch- a brain lapse? and in your own arguement what will the failsafe do for you then? still nothing. I'm not saying that you shouldn't buy a failsafe but you do not want a TRS that can't pull the throttle servo to nuetral if it were to lose power. You should be able to have the car on, pull it to wide open throttle, shut off the switch and the TRS should pull it closed.

Jon
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 10:21 PM   #2017
Tech Adept
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City Mo
Posts: 231
Send a message via AIM to Craig
Default

If you have a metal gear servo,there isnt a spring strong enough to pull the servo back to center.I run airtronics servos and cant run a trs.I just make sure the pack is always charged,and make sure that all the wiring,connectors are secure.

Last edited by Craig; 01-02-2003 at 10:23 PM.
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 10:27 PM   #2018
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Damn that must be a strong TRS Swen. I have some Jr and Hitech digitals that will pull back to idle with the little TRS, but thats it.
Most runoffs have seen, were do to hard hits and losing bat. voltage. So what good is a add on failsafe then? Extra weight?
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 10:39 PM   #2019
Tech Regular
 
torchedlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sf, cali
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to torchedlh
Default

With a weak TRS and a failsafe, the failsafe kicks in when the rx battery gets low, Tx is turned off, or when the signal is bad. The ONLY scenario in which this setup won't work is if the power to the rx is COMPLETELY lost. This isn't a problem if you zip tie your connectoins and make sure not to pinch wires.
torchedlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 11:44 PM   #2020
Tech Master
 
theRED5's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: near Athens,GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

I use a hair band...one of those little nylon covered elastic bands like you sister wears in her hair...put it around the carb, and the ball where the linkage hooks up. I recently had the battery come out of my car, and it idled to a stop.
__________________
I [I]AM [/I]the Driver !

Murnan Modified Motors

Mugen MRx4

Rocket Science Fuels

Auto Racing, Mountain climbing, and Bull fighting are the only true sports, all the rest are just games.
theRED5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 12:27 AM   #2021
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Yea, I use the hairbands too! I just take one outta my hair when I break one, my hair is longer than my sisters ever was! LOL
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 06:54 AM   #2022
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

what if the servo board fried and the servo didn't work... wasn't stuck but just didn't work. I use a TRS from a xxxnt it's great because it comes with a mount for under the screw as well... I also use a hairband on the carb. I just don't like to rely on electronics with my favorite car. It costs too much not to spend a little time for insurance. And I use an Airtronics 94737 on the throttle.

Jon
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 07:10 AM   #2023
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

here is a pic of how I do it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ntc3.jpg (66.5 KB, 212 views)
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 01:38 PM   #2024
Tech Fanatic
 
NTC3NUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 988
Default

My TRS is set-up exactly the same way, using exactly the same parts. I also use that Airtronics servo. This set-up will completely close the throttle if power is cut. You have to use the hair band on the carb in case the throttle linkage comes off (ROAR rule I believe, right?). I haven't invested in a fail safe yet, but it's high on my list. Nice heatsink by the way!
NTC3NUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2003, 10:28 PM   #2025
Tech Master
 
theRED5's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: near Athens,GA
Posts: 1,022
Default

I just got the KFactory fuel tank...I don't know whether I'll get a chance to run it this weekend, but I'll give you my thoughts soon. Gotta pretty good deal, $30.00....

One thing I have noticed, is the fuel outlet is pointed to the outside so the fueline is under the header going to the tank....they should have pointed it the other way.
__________________
I [I]AM [/I]the Driver !

Murnan Modified Motors

Mugen MRx4

Rocket Science Fuels

Auto Racing, Mountain climbing, and Bull fighting are the only true sports, all the rest are just games.
theRED5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:41 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net