R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2002, 04:02 PM   #1861
Tech Adept
 
Aeon Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to Aeon Racer
Default

Not necessarily, because I had the problem and I solved it when I still had the old tank. The new tank helps, I agree, but none the less that's not the only reason why he might be dying when refilling. Anyway, the RTR comes equipped with the new tank, so he definetely has one.
Aeon Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 02:17 AM   #1862
Tech Master
 
theRED5's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: near Athens,GA
Posts: 1,022
Default MTX3 & NTC3

I saw them run at our track, and dug my ntc3 back out to race 'em! They're not so fast!!

You also might try lengthening the pressure line off the tank.
__________________
I [I]AM [/I]the Driver !

Murnan Modified Motors

Mugen MRx4

Rocket Science Fuels

Auto Racing, Mountain climbing, and Bull fighting are the only true sports, all the rest are just games.
theRED5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 07:37 AM   #1863
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: west
Posts: 958
Default ntc3 centax

Hi, anyone using the kawahara centax clutch?

i just got it , fix it up but i rev and rev the car is not moving.. is there another type of clutch springs that i can use?

please advise
fuse01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 09:17 AM   #1864
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Sounds to me like you have the engagement spring to tight. Did you follow the instructions to the T and get the correct spacing ? Back the adjustment nut off 1/8th turn at a time until the clutch starts to engage. If after you try this and still no engagemet. take it back apart you have something else wrong.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 01:15 AM   #1865
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

can u help me pls.

-how many shims do i have to put on my os12tr shaft i.e. the clutch shims. it says on the manual i have to put 3 shims before i have to put the screw in.or do i have to put 4-6 shims?

-and also i bought 2 servos. futaba 9404 and ko propo 2173.which one am i suppose to use for my throttle and for my steering?

thnx ur help will be greatly appreciated . muah
erk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 01:54 AM   #1866
Tech Adept
 
Aeon Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to Aeon Racer
Default

erk1 - You would need 3 shims just like the manual says. I would use the the KO servo as your steering servo and the Futaba as the throttle (its faster).

fuse - For a centax, first and foremost (and most obviously) get it tuned right. Do what bbntc3 said, and if all else fails, rip it appart and rebuild it. Take your time and do everything as precisely as possible. The centax is a very precise intrument for you RC car; you can set it so your doesn't launch when revving @ 20,000RPM, but once you hit 20,100, your car launches off the line... I would highly recommend you invest in a ditigal caliper for precice adjustments of the clutch. You'll thank yourself for it.
Aeon Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 08:24 AM   #1867
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aeon Racer
erk1 - You would need 3 shims just like the manual says. I would use the the KO servo as your steering servo and the Futaba as the throttle (its faster).
thnx aeon racer
erk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 12:04 PM   #1868
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Aeon - you wouldn't use the faster servo as the steering servo? I use the fast servo for steering and slower (but still decently fast) servo for throttle. It only has to move a little tiny bit compared to the steering. . .
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 01:46 PM   #1869
Tech Adept
 
Aeon Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to Aeon Racer
Default

Boomer - Looks like I didn't structure my sentence correctly. Lemme refrase:

erk1 - You would need 3 shims just like the manual says. I would use the the KO servo as your steering servo (its faster) and the Futaba as the throttle.

The KO is a .09 servo, where as the Futaba I believe is a .11 or so. Both have about the same amount of torque.
Aeon Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 03:59 PM   #1870
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by Aeon Racer
The KO is a .09 servo, where as the Futaba I believe is a .11 or so. Both have about the same amount of torque.
futaba 9404 .11 sec/60 deg @ 6v speed;79.0 oz/in @ 6v torque
ko 2173 0.09s / 60 deg @6v speed;111.0 oz/in @ 6v torque
erk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 04:46 PM   #1871
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default

Okay, cool. Y'all just confoosed me! (it's not too difficult). . .

And since I only am using Airtronics and (if forced to) Hitec, I just don't know the other servos. . .
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 05:40 PM   #1872
Tech Fanatic
 
ilaybrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: bealeton VA
Posts: 955
Default

the centex must be adj from.35-.6 ofmm. you can try to weight the shoes with longer set screws and youse the spring of a mugen centex it worked for me
ilaybrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2002, 09:51 AM   #1873
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 41
Default

Anybody tried using solid axles frt and rear? There is another thread on this site where several people like it. Also, if you fully tighten the ball diff, do you get the same effect as the solid axle?
Twist 2 Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2002, 10:46 AM   #1874
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to showtime
Default Kawahara centax, alum tranny cases sale

I have these for sale if anyone is intersted. My car was stolen before I could get the parts on.
showtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2002, 10:47 AM   #1875
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to showtime
Default email add

email me at [email protected] for info. thx.
showtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net