R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2002, 10:31 PM   #1846
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default Restrictor

Swen and Aeon Racer,
Many thanks for your feedbacks. If i take out my restrictor, approx. how much run time will it consume. I understand it will give more power and speed but it will shortened gas mileage. If I take it out, can I put it back again in case the track would require?
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 10:57 PM   #1847
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: west
Posts: 958
Default NTC3 gears

hi do you guys put grease on the gear or 100000wt oil on it?

what about sticky chain wax?
fuse01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 12:15 AM   #1848
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,346
Send a message via ICQ to Boomer Send a message via AIM to Boomer
Default Re: NTC3 gears

Quote:
Originally posted by fuse01
hi do you guys put grease on the gear or 100000wt oil on it?

what about sticky chain wax?
Not putting anything on mine. Well, a little light grease, but nothing big at all. Definitely nothing that sticky. . .
__________________
-
RC10L2.5W - RC12.4 - RCNTC3(bmi) - TC4 (modded) - B44.2 - plus rent-a-rides! :D
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 12:55 AM   #1849
Tech Adept
 
Aeon Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to Aeon Racer
Default

Which restrictor are you talking about fuzz? I'm assuming its some sort of carb restrictor, but I'm not certain.

fuse - I don't put anything on my 2-speed gears, the gaps between 32 pitch gears are plenty big enough to provide a smooth gear mess. As for my diffs, I just put the stealth diff lube onto them and they work just fine...
Aeon Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 11:01 AM   #1850
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default NEW PIPE!!!!

I saw this pipe on ebay and I want to know who is making it and what you motor guys think of it(Dennis that would be you mainly).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tc3pipe.jpg (20.3 KB, 164 views)
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 02:27 PM   #1851
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

Hm! That pipe looks like its alittle long. I have acouple one piece exhausts, that could be worth trying. I wonder if he sells just the header? Whats the addy or item # on ebay? I'm still playing with the center exhaust deals with decent success but I am still open for other exhaust systems for next season. The bladder pipe from Ae really sucks!!!!
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 04:33 PM   #1852
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

not sure exactly... I just did a search for nitro tc3 but if you add pipe it should come right up.

Jon
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 06:47 PM   #1853
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default Re: NEW PIPE!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Swen
I saw this pipe on ebay and I want to know who is making it and what you motor guys think of it(Dennis that would be you mainly).
check this site

http://www.radiocontrolzone.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=35782&perpage=25&pagenumbe r=74
erk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 06:48 PM   #1854
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
Default Re: Re: NEW PIPE!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by erk1
check this site

http://www.radiocontrolzone.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=35782&perpage=25&pagenumbe r=74
oops wrong one here it is

http://www.radiocontrolzone.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=35782&perpage=25&pagenumbe r=73
erk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 09:10 PM   #1855
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aeon Racer
Which restrictor are you talking about fuzz? I'm assuming its some sort of carb restrictor, but I'm not certain.

fuse - I don't put anything on my 2-speed gears, the gaps between 32 pitch gears are plenty big enough to provide a smooth gear mess. As for my diffs, I just put the stealth diff lube onto them and they work just fine...
Aeon,
Sorry for not being specific, I'm pertaining to the carb restrictor of my NTC3 .12 engine.
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 09:21 PM   #1856
Tech Adept
 
Aeon Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to Aeon Racer
Default

I didn't know they put a carb restrictor on the RTR, I guess you learn something new everyday. Anyhoo, depending on how much it restricts the engine, my guess is it'd take about a minute from your run time. I wouldn't be able to tell you if you could put it back on without problems. If you take a good look at it, I'm sure you could figure out how easy it would be to put back on, if you can put it back on at all.
Aeon Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 09:31 PM   #1857
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aeon Racer
I didn't know they put a carb restrictor on the RTR, I guess you learn something new everyday. Anyhoo, depending on how much it restricts the engine, my guess is it'd take about a minute from your run time. I wouldn't be able to tell you if you could put it back on without problems. If you take a good look at it, I'm sure you could figure out how easy it would be to put back on, if you can put it back on at all.
Ok thanks. I took it out already, I will test it this weekend. By the way, I could see your from Phoenix AZ, I was there last June 2001 and attended a conference. I stayed at the Palm Hotel, nice place.
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 10:26 PM   #1858
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default Tune pipe

I heard cutting a portion of the tune pipe tip (where the smoke comes out) will increase speed and power. Is this true?
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 06:06 AM   #1859
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

actually no it's cutting about a 1/4" from the header that bolts directly to the engine. Then it goes into the pipe. You don't want to cut any off of the part you are thinking(stinger) because that would make it an illegal(for ROAR) pipe.

Jon
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 02:11 PM   #1860
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default Re: NTC3 tuning - "help"

Quote:
Originally posted by thefuzzclub
I can't seem to run my NTC3 continously, the first tank is great no problem. But when I start to refill fuel while the engine is running, the car stalls, after which I will have a hard time getting the right tuning again. Isn't it when you got the correct tuning, you don't have to re-tune it every gas refill? As I heard, if the engine is tuned right, just refill gas and you can run your car simultanously even up to five tanks non-stop. By the way, my engine was broke in already. Need your inputs please.


do you have the new style tank yet?.....because if you don't,theres your problem
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net