R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2002, 09:04 PM   #151
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I bent one in two years racing a conversion, but twisted one out of each side both times I used the oneway! I f your worried about them get the mip shiny cvd you won;t break them. BB
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2002, 10:05 PM   #152
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Schuie Driver
Does anyone else find it odd that Associated chose to use aluminum CVD's on a nitro car? Seems to me that those things are going to be bent in a hurry considering the rate at which these cars can travel into walls Trying to decide between the Mugen Pro Spec and the Associated for the upcoming nitro season at our local track and boy it is not an easy decision
I use local-made (Jet hobby from HK) CVD in front for my TC3, and it last for more than 1 yr without any sign of broking/bending. Now I use Jet CVD in all four corners of my NTC3. They are a lot cheaper than the MIP replacement ! (HK$ 90 a pair of CVD vs HK$180 for just a pair of shafts from MIP !)
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 12:17 AM   #153
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beyond Circle Talk
Posts: 80
Default

.

Last edited by DanielSon; 05-31-2007 at 11:17 AM.
DanielSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 12:05 PM   #154
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,096
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Who needs a bigger stronger front oneway diff for your NTC3?

I have a Tech Racing TC3 front oneway for sale. I only used it once and I can't handle the extra steering.

This oneway is much bigger than the one from AE. Heavy Duty stuff.

it comes with the diff gear, hub bearings...basically just Plug and Play.

I'm selling it for $40 shipped. email if interested. [email protected]
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 08:54 PM   #155
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default

Did you snap the pivot ball itself or where the arm holds it? I would think you would have broken the arm first. If the pivot ball broke it was probably defective.
OB42TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 10:09 PM   #156
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beyond Circle Talk
Posts: 80
Default

.

Last edited by DanielSon; 05-31-2007 at 11:15 AM.
DanielSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 11:15 PM   #157
Tech Adept
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City Mo
Posts: 231
Send a message via AIM to Craig
Default

Is anyone else having problems with the steering.It seems as if the lower swing arms are too flexable or there is too much slop. Also the screw is too long and hits the drive cup. Maybe it needs bearings ?
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 11:38 PM   #158
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beyond Circle Talk
Posts: 80
Default

.

Last edited by DanielSon; 05-31-2007 at 11:14 AM.
DanielSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 05:57 AM   #159
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Order the swing rack and brake bearing kit from Tower(in stock at the moment,#'s in your associated cat)...I did,and using thise and RPM cups on the front had ZERO slop..............BTW,std. bearings won't fit....the swingrack uses a special thinner bearing on the bottom....also,make sure your bushings you have now are FULLY seated on the steering posts.....If not you'll have clearance problems(do the same with ythe bearings when you get them)
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 02:01 PM   #160
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beyond Circle Talk
Posts: 80
Default

.

Last edited by DanielSon; 05-31-2007 at 11:14 AM.
DanielSon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 02:19 PM   #161
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quick tip for the servo saver....

Use a spring off of the slipper assembly for an off road car. It's stronger and won't require you to tighten it all the way down....
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 04:52 PM   #162
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bay Area, Cali
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to SuperMugen
Default Front one-way

Does anybody know if the one-way unit from the TC3 will work in the NTC3? All the places that I've checked don't have the NTC3 one-way in stock, and I wanted to try one for this sunday's race.
SuperMugen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 05:08 PM   #163
Tech Adept
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City Mo
Posts: 231
Send a message via AIM to Craig
Default

Thanks guys I will get it fix shortly.Does anyone know if the 32mm foam tires fit? I just put the Lola body on and it needs them to look right.
Tony-how is the car working I havent seen much info about how it is doing? Have you got a chance to run it?
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 07:58 PM   #164
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default Re: Front one-way

Quote:
Originally posted by SuperMugen
Does anybody know if the one-way unit from the TC3 will work in the NTC3? All the places that I've checked don't have the NTC3 one-way in stock, and I wanted to try one for this sunday's race.
the oneway until of TC3 can fit in NTC3, however, the oneway outdrive is much longer in NTC3 ...
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2002, 08:00 PM   #165
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Craig
Thanks guys I will get it fix shortly.Does anyone know if the 32mm foam tires fit? I just put the Lola body on and it needs them to look right.
Tony-how is the car working I havent seen much info about how it is doing? Have you got a chance to run it?
can i have a look on how you fit lola body on ntc3 ? i am now running a PF CLK body with foam. so far, i use front 26mm and rear 30mm (with 1mm to 2mm shim in between the rear rims and drive hex). never try 32mm foam ...
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:24 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net