R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2004, 01:59 PM   #991
Tech Master
 
spenzalii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD
Posts: 1,424
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to spenzalii
Default

hmmm....somebody had a pretty bad experience with shaft drive cars in general...go figure
__________________
This episode is brought to you by the letters M, T, X and the number 4....
spenzalii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 03:35 PM   #992
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default Re: Ofna LD3 2 Speed



I my LD3's hehehe
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 06:11 PM   #993
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default Re: LD3 Pro Wacky and Garbage

Quote:
Originally posted by Whoadie
Like I said. This car is a waste of money.. Low end car for me.. At first I was thinking it might be close to the TC3 so I decided to buy one. Come to think of it the TC3 was also garbage..

This is why I just decided to stick with my S705 and R40.

Engine and Suspension Tuning provides good results but hell with the LD3..

read some of my previous posts.............driver problem!!!!!

I'm not saying the Ld3 is great....but it certainly is not as bad as you refer......you have the same comments for the NTC3.......that "crap" car has done quite well for Barry Baker up to now.........How long have you been running RC????
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 07:12 PM   #994
Tech Adept
 
IDrinkNitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 161
Default LD3 Pro and threaded shaft question

Gentlemen,

I have obtained a sirio .12 with the black head and 3 needle carb. This motor has threaded shaft. I was putting the LD3 Pro flywheel, clutch shoes, etc. on tonight and from what I can see the shaft is way to long. Is it common to have to cut the shaft ? I am newbie but I am trying so bear with me please Please help.
IDrinkNitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 07:51 PM   #995
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 64
Default Re: Ofna LD3 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally posted by Whoadie
Hi,

Is the LD3 worth laying down in the track or is it just for the parking lot??

Thanks
If you have the car already, why would you even ask a question like that, only to reply to you own question a few posts later? I'm just trying to figure out what your motive was?
jay272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 08:05 PM   #996
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: LD3 Pro and threaded shaft question

Quote:
Originally posted by IDrinkNitro
Gentlemen,

I have obtained a sirio .12 with the black head and 3 needle carb. This motor has threaded shaft. I was putting the LD3 Pro flywheel, clutch shoes, etc. on tonight and from what I can see the shaft is way to long. Is it common to have to cut the shaft ? I am newbie but I am trying so bear with me please Please help.
you have a standard shaft version. You should get a "SG" shaft version which most of the tourers require.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 08:07 PM   #997
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: Re: Ofna LD3 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally posted by jay272
If you have the car already, why would you even ask a question like that, only to reply to you own question a few posts later? I'm just trying to figure out what your motive was?
some how, some people still dont understand.

It is the driver makes the car fast, not the car makes the driver fast.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 08:13 PM   #998
Tech Adept
 
IDrinkNitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 161
Default Re: Re: LD3 Pro and threaded shaft question

Quote:
Originally posted by Manticore
you have a standard shaft version. You should get a "SG" shaft version which most of the tourers require.
Thanks, my pro does not have "centax" clutch so technically I don't need a sg shaft version correct? I really do not want to just dump this brand new motor , so is it common/necessarry to have to cut the shaft on standard shaft in order for it to fit correctly? Do you think I should sell this motor and get sg shaft? Is it possible to switch the shaft? What should I do? Thanks in advance I really appreciate the help

Last edited by IDrinkNitro; 03-23-2004 at 08:20 PM.
IDrinkNitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 08:28 PM   #999
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

Centax = requires SG crank, no matter what
3 shoe = you can run threaded or SG.
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 09:18 PM   #1000
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 325
Default

yes you can cut it if its too long.

havy
havy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 09:21 PM   #1001
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

before you cut it, be sure there is a 2speed engine nut is available for the installation of the 2speed clutch part.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 09:34 PM   #1002
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default Re: Re: Ofna LD3 2 Speed

Quote:
Originally posted by jay272
If you have the car already, why would you even ask a question like that, only to reply to you own question a few posts later? I'm just trying to figure out what your motive was?
I had the same thoughts!!!!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2004, 09:36 PM   #1003
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default Re: Re: Re: LD3 Pro and threaded shaft question

Quote:
Originally posted by IDrinkNitro
Thanks, my pro does not have "centax" clutch so technically I don't need a sg shaft version correct? I really do not want to just dump this brand new motor , so is it common/necessarry to have to cut the shaft on standard shaft in order for it to fit correctly? Do you think I should sell this motor and get sg shaft? Is it possible to switch the shaft? What should I do? Thanks in advance I really appreciate the help
Take a digi pic of your engine shaft and clutch in pieces....should be able to figure out what you need. Manticore is right....don't cut anything until you have figured out that you have the correct engine nut!!!!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 07:13 AM   #1004
Tech Adept
 
IDrinkNitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 161
Default

I will take pics tonight. I beleive I have the correct nut, I have both nuts that come with the pro kit. Pics tonight, I appreciate the help gents.
IDrinkNitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 08:58 AM   #1005
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by au_Nightmare
Centax = requires SG crank, no matter what
Not quite. At least not for all cars. The R40 comes with a nut that allows people to use a threaded shaft engine with their included centax clutch. So it is possible in certain situations to use a centax with a threaded shaft.

But I agree whole heartedly that SG is the way to go if you haven't already bought an engine. Cause if you've already bought an engine, getting a new one or buying a new SG shaft can get expensive!
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ofna mbx comp with hyper 21 8 port and ofna true start box. smokinu R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 07-20-2008 12:37 PM
OFNA MBX Ultra Competition Buggy and OFNA Starter Box 4 Sale or TRADE!!! gunlocators R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 03-20-2007 10:01 PM
Ofna micro fail safe, jr z650m 650 servo, and rtr ofna radio set cappa R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 02-03-2005 11:35 PM
Ofna Ob4 rolling chasis, Ofna .12, Trinity pipe, K&n filter chongp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 06-29-2003 06:30 PM
Ofna Ob4 rolling chasis, Ofna .12, Trinity pipe, K&n filter chongp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-31-2002 03:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net