R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2008, 05:06 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default NTC3 engine mount screws stripped-help!

I went upgrade the flywheel and engine brackets to bump start version on my ntc3 but I ended up stripping 3 of the 4 engine mount screws. the screw distractors I have aren't strong enough for the engine mount screws.

Can anybody help please? How do I get these screws out now? This hurts.
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 05:18 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

are you talking about the motor mount or the four on the bottom that hold it in place
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 05:56 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Seisick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 845
Default

dremel with cutting disc
just make sure dont cut too much
and then use philips driver to loose the screws
use proper allen wrench in standard size or inches
as used in the ntc3
__________________
HobbymaniA
GoT MuGeN?
Seisick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:10 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

What he said. Use a cut off wheel in a dremel tool to cut a slot in the screws then just pull them out with a screw driver.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:26 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Thanks I will try it. The screws I stripped were the 4 under the chassis.
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:29 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

can I use a powerdrill instead of a dremel? sorry I never used a dremel before. also -any particular cutter disc you guys recommend?
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:32 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

The fiberglass reinforced ones last a whole lot longer. The cheap un-reinforced ones that come with most dremel's will do the job and cut a more narrow slot, just be careful and wear glasses, they will blow apart.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:33 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Oh, and a drill just won't be fast enough.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:38 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i got one of these super high torque power drills that plugs into the wall. it saids it can do 12,000 rpm. will that work?
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:49 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

coworker has a dremel-doesn't look easy but will try.
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 11:36 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

wear protection for your eyes + face if you've never done this

those discs explode when hot and used at non perpendicular angles.

i got lucky my first time when it exploded - if those pieces hit me it wouldve been brutal.

cut the slots in a well ventilated area too, the metal cut out will be airborne for a while.
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 11:40 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have strong eyeballs-I dont need goggles!!!

sike-i got the screws out-put goggles on and dremel those son of a bit**es right out with ease-thanks for the great tip everybody
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stripped screws pinky2252s Nitro Off-Road 2 05-30-2008 01:30 PM
Stripped motor mount screws DriveToLive Nitro On-Road 5 11-26-2005 01:17 PM
stripped out screws onnetz Electric On-Road 9 02-18-2005 07:01 AM
Stripped screws ........ how do you take them off ? asw7576 Electric On-Road 11 10-31-2004 05:48 PM
Stripped Screws Horse Singapore R/C Racers 4 10-16-2002 08:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:34 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net