R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2003, 04:16 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default OS .12 tr came stuck in TDC

I orderd the short shaft version of the .12 tr on tower for my gt and finally got it and opened it up to find the the pisten was stuck in TDC. I could easily heat it up and bring the pisten down to BDC but I think damage could have already been done. With the pisten sitting at BDC for an extended period of time wouldnt the top of the sleave permadently expand, causing it to have less compression and a shorter life? Do you think this engine is damaged in any way? I debating wether or not to send it back to tower.


Im really PO'd at tower after this order they send me an engine that is stuck in TDC and a $90 reciever that has oil on the antenna and has obviously been used.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 04:49 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
speedydave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 377
Send a message via AIM to speedydave Send a message via Yahoo to speedydave
Default

I don't think the engine is Tower's problem, since I highly doubt they open each engine before sending it to the buyer. I'd at least give them a call, at least to ask them about the receiver.
speedydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 05:52 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default Re: OS .12 tr came stuck in TDC

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
I orderd the short shaft version of the .12 tr on tower for my gt and finally got it and opened it up to find the the pisten was stuck in TDC. I could easily heat it up and bring the pisten down to BDC but I think damage could have already been done. With the pisten sitting at BDC for an extended period of time wouldnt the top of the sleave permadently expand, causing it to have less compression and a shorter life? Do you think this engine is damaged in any way? I debating wether or not to send it back to tower.


Im really PO'd at tower after this order they send me an engine that is stuck in TDC and a $90 reciever that has oil on the antenna and has obviously been used.
hi AE...I would call them and explain.......I'd also return both..tell them you want return postage credit..make sure you send it certified,return reciept...
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 06:55 PM   #4
Que
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Korea
Posts: 153
Default

The OS engines come in a locked in a position near the top!
Que is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 10:38 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Que
The OS engines come in a locked in a position near the top!
Are you sure? Can anyone else confirm this? My cv-rx wasnt locked but I guess that could be because it was pullstart and I turned it over with the p/s. (I say "was" because I converted it to non p/s to use in my gt)
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 10:40 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default Re: Re: OS .12 tr came stuck in TDC

Quote:
Originally posted by fastharry
hi AE...I would call them and explain.......I'd also return both..tell them you want return postage credit..make sure you send it certified,return reciept...
Ill definitly send the reciever back, but Im not sure if theres anything wrong with the engine, what do you think?

Thanks for the help guys
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 10:45 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Aggdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 364
Default

Hey mine came like that. The piston was at the top when I opened up the box. But the compression and tightness of the piston and sleeve is still very tight. I can feel the edges of the piston as I turn the flywheel. When I was breaking it in, I had the hardest time using my starter box to turn the flywheel.
Aggdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 11:46 PM   #8
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

uhh

of coz the engine is like that
competitive engines come like that, it is perfectly normal

so far, all novarossi (& novarossi based) engines have been that way

don't worry, it is fine
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 12:10 AM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 22
Default

yeah, novarossi cx12 was tight as on TDC. I was scared to touch it on the starter box, but all was good, as per my post a few slots down indicates

gl with it
doff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 12:57 AM   #10
Que
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Korea
Posts: 153
Default

Your engine is fine just go ahead and break it in like normal and enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!
Que is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:03 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

My OS TR12 came like that also. Hard as heck to get it to turn over. Broke it in and it is good to go, reliable and fast.

Later
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:18 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

You guys mean it came stuck in TDC out of the box not that it was hard to turn over or you got it stuck in TDC, right?

My sirio didnt come in TDC so I had no idea that engines were supposed to come in TDC, I guess diffrent manufactures do things diffrently. Why would it come stuck in TDC though? Is it so you can get the flywheel and clutch nut or pilot shaft on?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:20 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

whoops double post
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 12:12 PM   #14
B
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
You guys mean it came stuck in TDC out of the box not that it was hard to turn over or you got it stuck in TDC, right?
that is correct
just go ahead and start the engine on a powerful starter box
B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 05:43 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
kt racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: va
Posts: 848
Send a message via AIM to kt racing
Default

My sirio came stuck at tdc and also my rossi S-3. So just run the motor. Your not going to hurt it. That just means that the motor was built right and you will have hella compression.
kt racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stuck pinion? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 13 11-10-2007 04:46 PM
Piston Stuck Cheeny23 Nitro Off-Road 8 10-24-2007 06:12 PM
OS TZ .12 Stuck at TDC theBUZZ Nitro On-Road 44 12-01-2006 06:47 PM
Stuck in Second gear Blaze1 Nitro On-Road 2 05-26-2004 09:16 AM
Okay, Now I'm Stuck finny Australian Racing 8 04-18-2004 07:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:41 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net